We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN”
Review of Primera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Primera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
rishon letsion
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.
1. The pictures shown in hotel's web - are false.
2. Almost no maintenance.
3. The pool is green from dirt.
4. The rooms are barely functional.
etc. etc.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    88
    80
    72
    87
See reviews for
51
168
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Do not judge this hotel on the bad reviews i have just came back after spending a week here over easter. faciltities basic but hotel clean and staff friendly they cant do enough just ask. People dont seem to talk about indoor pool but there is one just not easy to find, just go to minus one in lift and turn left. Plenty of restaraunts and pubs in area,would recommend Villamare in square all the locals ate there for easter sunday dinner so cant be that bad , salmon well worth the money. For the 190 pound for a week for a room with side sea view you cant beat it if i wanted more i would pay more and stay somewhere else but dont see the point as for me the hotel is just a base to explore from but will be going back to malta and would stay here again. Only down side to holiday was the usual problem in the more touristy parts of the cockney mafia trying to sell you tours and see hotels one even produced a scottish wife from a car saying just come with us for one of your own just go here do that needless to say they where chased off these people can be off putting and i know they are doing a job but you would get more response by saying less and being less pushy.

Overall holiday great, hotel good and prices for eating out very cheap in comparising other with destinations i have been to recently i.e. corfu

please note i am not a trip advisor regular just joined due to unfair comments made about hotel these people want 5 star accomodation for 1 star prices you pay for what you get.

Room Tip: side sea view rooms worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sswhyte74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My parents have just come home from a two week stay at this hotel. The said its the worst holiday they have ever had, and the worst place they have ever been to.
The rooms where cold and not maintained properley. The sink in the bathroom was falling off the wall. The light switches had wires coming out and where not fixed to the wall and the wardrobe was rotten and falling apart. In addition to this the bedding was dirty and old. The food was cold and over cooked with no taste, no entertainment or table decoration even though it was christmas.My parents went else where away from the hotel to eat. People complained but the hotel staff did not care and people staying refused to pay there bills and some left early.

Room Tip: Unclean un maintained rooms and cold overcooked food. Unfriendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clairemac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I have just come back yesterday from this hotel, and never going back to this. The receptionist hardly spoke any English. The hotel didn't have any information regarding its facilities, the bedroom i stayed in had very saggy and old mattresses, there is no air conditioning only a fan on the ceiling the TV only had one channel, the food was disgusting, it was not cooked properly. One day at breakfast i asked for a couple of fried eggs, and the waitress replied "The cooker don't do them". There was no fresh fruit ever either in the restaurant or the room that we stayed in, there is no kettle in the rooms and the swimming pool wasn't working so we couldn't use the facilities. And the worst of all my wife on the third day of our staying woke up in the morning completely swollen with rashes all over her body. I had to take her to the doctor in which he said she has been bitten by some form of insect which is i believe is everything to do with the mattress she slept on. I don't recommend anyone to use this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Henrique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel. It looked ok for a last minute honeymoon. When we arrived it looked ok at first but when we got to the room the bed was broke and it stunk. We wanted to go to the pool, it was on the roof and it was really dirty. The water was dark green. If you are looking some were to relax and do Nothing this is the place to go. Average age on the island 50 plus.

This hotel needs up dated big time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnyfinndawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Only stayed in Malta for 4 days which was 4 days too many. A dreadful scruffy island with no character whatsoever. Is there no paint in Malta because nobody looks after their properties. Filthy looking apartments everywhere. Got a very cheap deal on the primera hotel so can't complain that it was basic. Beds were suprisingly comfortable and clean towels every day so got what we paid for.
Malta !! Never again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haynes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I booked three rooms with balconies, only one room the double had one, the other two single rooms looked like prison cells, very little natural light. The shower over the baths did not have anywhere to place it so you had to shower holding it and seeing as my father was 75 he didnt find it easy, and the air conditioning didnt work at first. After complaints to reception I was handed the phone to talk to the manager who couldn't comphrend that we didn't get what we paid for and were not very happy.. His solution was for the guests to stay in those rooms from Saturday to Tuesday when he would move the into other rooms when they became available. He also couldn't understand that his offer of free breakfasts was not satisfactory, if we wanted breakfast we would have booked it in the first place. In the end we had an evening meal that night in the hotel and we really shouldnt have. He also offered to supply fans which I had to collect from the night porter and carry to the rooms which we on different floors It was only the following morning I found one did not have a plug on it!!. According to the blurb there was supposed to be televisions and telephones in the rooms - wrong but who needs tv anyway and nearly everyone had mobiles. The safe which was in my fathers room was one of those which you program your own comibination - well you would if it was working properly, my father was given the overide key and when I went to check on him I picked the safe up and took it into my room - how secure is that.

My father and my friend were given new rooms on Tuesday, even if we had to move the bags

On the plus side the rooms were tidied every day and fresh towel supplied, although the rooms are a bit dated and having to use a hairdryer who plug is in the wardrobe was a bit bizarre.

We stayed in Bugibba last year in a hotel just 1 minutes walk from Primera, The Relax Hotel, again on a budget and was really impressed with what we had but there was no where really suitable for just sitting and having a beer. We passed the Primera every day and liked the area outside the hotel for sitting which is why we picked this hotel over the Relax - big mistake and will not do it again.

We love Malta and will be coming back next year but not too this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozie645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.5 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.5 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.0 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
2.9 km away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primera Hotel

Property: Primera Hotel
Address: Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Primera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel St Pauls Bay
Primera Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing