We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Primera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Booked this holiday at the last moment using resorthopppa. I was travelling by my self and paid £121 for a weeks bed and breakfast.
First impressions were good. The guy at reception was very pleasant. My room was a double (no surcharge) good size, clean, balcony had the sea view I'd requested. Bed was comfortable and the shower always provided unlimited hot water. Location was great 30 secs from the prominade. Good thick curtains kept out the light which is helpful when the sun rises at 5am !
TV in my room didn't work but I diidn't even bother to report it at reception. I hadn't been expecting one and I don't go on my holidays to watch tv any way.
Breakfast was buffet style and quite adequate .
All in all I thought it was fantastic value and if I go back to Malta I'd use it again.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor which I think were a bit quieter than ones nearer the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    85
    73
    70
    86
See reviews for
48
162
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cullercots
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Why do people exagerate! This hotel is value for money. Perfect location, banks ATM restaurants, bus station,supermarket, shops, bars, you name it, it is in the vicinity of this daily cleansed friendly hotel. You want 5 star then pay for it! For the price you cannot go wrong. I as a solo traveller was pleasantly surprised after reading some ot the malicious reports after returning having spent two weeks there. Cannot comment on the food was room only, loads of places to eat.

Room Tip: sea views are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank chrisCullercots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Was a little worried by some of the reviews on here but now wonder if they stayed in the same hotel as me.

The Primera is situated one street back from the main square with all its restaurants and bars, only 2 mins walk from the sea. The hotel is well maintained and comfortable. Our room was average size with a small balcony overlooking the street and a fair size bathroom with shower. It was spotless and serviced every day.

Breakfast was simple but more than adequate with a small hot selection but plenty of cold meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, fruit etc.

On the roof is a sun terrace with a very small pool and views out to sea. In the basement is a larger indoor pool which the two times I used I had to myself.

The staff were all very polite and helpfull. Going out of their way to help me with a problem by allowing me to use thier phone.

The only negative I could say is that while the location is great for the bars etc, it does mean that there is some noise from traffic and people so might not be right for those only wanting peace and quiet but it doesn't go on very late.

For the price we paid it was great value and very good for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: A higher floor would have less noise. Avoid internal rooms as they have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We arrived at the Primera Hotel in Bugibba Malta with a more than a little trepidation after reading some of the reviews on the internet.
However we were pleasantly surprised on arrival by the general cleanliness and appearance of the hotel.
Our room was spacious,well equipped and spotlessly clean,new beds had just been installed that morning,the room had everything we needed for our stay.
The room was serviced and cleaned every day,plenty of fresh towels and toilet consumables were available and the bedding was changed 3 days into our 7 day stay.

The breakfast though not as extensive as some hotels was very acceptable and plentiful and the staff members were all pleasant,polite,very helpful and spoke very good english.

Please remember this is a budget,no frills hotel and as such we thought was great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear suffer a little from noise from the two bars in close proximity,choose or ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Handler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Small and cosy Hotel. Not a 5* hotel but a very good 3!
The outdoor pool was closed for the winter season but indoor heated pool proved to be a great alternative, pity there was no sun.
Staff was very friendly and super efficient, food was excelent.
Rooms are small but cosy, various chanels on TV to choose from. Clean bathrooms and clean laundry!
Hotel situated very centrally.
Value for Money - 10 points!

Room Tip: If your not after 5 Star hotels, go for this 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Do not listen to mindless bad reviews about this hotel. Stayed there 19th to 26th april 2012 in room 304 with sea view from balcony looking down into the street with abundent bars, shops and restaurants this is the place to be. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily (good standard). Staff at reception exceptionally pleasant especially Dominic who was full of smiles and very helpful. Pool on the roof was not in operation as we presume it was too early in the season. Hotel is cheap and excellent value for money .We will not be considering another hotel when we return to Malta as this was more than fine by us.

Room Tip: Room 304 3rd floor opposite lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heppy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rishon letsion
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.
1. The pictures shown in hotel's web - are false.
2. Almost no maintenance.
3. The pool is green from dirt.
4. The rooms are barely functional.
etc. etc.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.5 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.5 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
0.8 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primera Hotel

Property: Primera Hotel
Address: Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Primera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel St Pauls Bay
Primera Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing