We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,544)
Filter reviews
1,544 results
Traveller rating
294
575
362
171
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
575
362
171
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alexis meylaq self catering guest relations manager heritage trail roman road mini mart bus stop xemxija bay the penthouse one bedroom apartment quiet holiday reception staff bus service winter break hired a car visit malta fresh towels
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,544 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2018

This hotel is basic and I don't mind going basic, but the pictures on the website of the rooms are nothing like the rooms in real life. Very shabby and desperately need updating. Pool area was nice but at least half of the sun beds were broken and were uncomfortable. The hotel restaurant was only open for breakfast, the Irish bar wasn't open, nor the indoor pool ( being refurbished). Pool lounge bar was open for food and drinks, but it lacked any kind of atmosphere and the food was terrible. Whilst the hotel staff were nice, I would find somewhere else to stay!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 616marge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your visit for the reasons you have mentioned. We would have been more than happy to address any challenges that you encountered during your stay with us should we had been given the opportunity to meet with you and address such points accordingly.

We had to close the indoor pool for a few days since we had a leakage. Apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have also taken your constructive feedback to our management and we will work on this moving forward.

In case that you will be returning to Porto Azzurro, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Room Tip: Opening the balcony door switches off the air con
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

This hotel is good as a base for sightseeing. It would be amazing for sunbathing if it had more comfortable sun loungers. Pool area could also do with a deep cleanse as it's looking a bit grubby. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Josh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel and for taking the time to share your experience..

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and that your holiday stay was to your expectations.

We thank you for staying with us and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange your booking requests prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We booked a week long family holiday. The pool was good, my kids loved it! The food did not taste great, but it was cheap and filled us up until lunch. The hotel room itself was great. The other facilities were ok. It will suit a family who wants to sit around the pool all day only.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank JasonJames86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JasonJames86,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel and for taking the time to share your experience..

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and the room and facilities were to your liking.

We hope to see you soon and hope you have a wonderful rest of the year. Please let me know if I can be of personal assistance to you when you book your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Just returned after two week stay . Firstly I must say that the reception and breakfast staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you. What a pleasure to be served by helpful friendly staff.
The self catering room was roomy and had both air conditioning and ceiling fans and safe in wardrobe .A tv in each bedroom and living room remotes obtained from reception. A small balcony which can seem daunting to some so close to the railings on higher floors. Excellent views of the sea and surrounding area.
Maid service clean sheets and towels every 4th day. Although clean towels etc can be obtained from reception if required.

The pool has sunbeds , many of which have broken adjusters and merely lay flay. Several umbrellas and a pool bar. The water has a tendency to collect dead flies and bit from trees around the pool although cleaned by staff on regular basis.

The pool gets very crowded especially at weekends especially with Maltese families , it was suggested by some that locals can purchase entry to visit at weekends although never proven.

Breakfast is a mixture of hot and cold self service, heavily watered down apple and orange juice. Tea and coffee in very small cups. I must say that the scrambled egg leaves a lot to be desired, it appeared by be possibly powdered egg badly mixed sometimes sticking to my teeth?

Local restaurant nearby in walking distance and a convenience shop just down hill around corner reasonable price if the on site mini market does not have what you need.

Overall a pleasant stay and I would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Charles,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great review.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our facilities, the room you occupied were to your liking and
you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the entire Porto Azzurro Team.

We very much appreciate your constructive comments in regards to your breakfast and the pool experience and I have shared it all with the relevant department heads.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are so excited that you plan to return. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to be of personal assistance to you during the time of your next booking. It is good to mention that the next time when you book directly with us you will not only enjoy the direct booking benefits but you will also get a special discount as our returning guest.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews