We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
47
86
54
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
86
54
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool minute walk from the centre underground tunnel sister hotel reception staff are room was large clean towels every day spent a week here most mornings flat screen tv cleaned daily amazing hotel bath shower an update relaxing break bugibba square plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 224 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Booked on a last minute whim, disappointed in part due to our lack of pre-planning and not knowing Malta and the area well but also the reviews here give a better perspective than we experienced.

Pros:
-Rooms spacious
-Beds comfy
-Short walk to bus stops that can take you anywhere
-Access to roof pool (though no shade available) and pool at the Topaz

Cons:
-Hotel is VERY noisy - woken frequently by other guests and street noise
-Balcony faced a wall - which although it was stated 'city view' we expected more than this. The balcony at no time got the sun. To the left this also faced onto several other buildings with balconies - meaning we chose not to use the balcony.
-plug power dropped off twice during our stay
- air conditioning although works in the day, at night the fan still runs however the ability to cool the air seems to stop!
-unnecessary to pay a 50Euro deposit at the start of your stay when you have already paid full cost of hotel on arrival. It wasnt even that they inspected the room before we left - just returned our cash on checkout....

-the cleaner came in every day and did a fantastic job, however provided new towels daily, which given most hotels now - either change every other day or give you the option of placing your towels in the bath if you want them changed - thus limiting the environmental impact of repeated laundering, this seemed over the top to us!

We have previously stayed in some basic hotels in various countries and although this hotel is average it is the location itself that for us spoilt our stay.
I think it depends on what sort of holiday you are after but this hotel is in a grotty, rundown area, and after the 10 minute walk to Bugibba we found this is not much better, unless you like 'Brits Abroad' style holidays I would recommend staying somewhere else in Malta or Gozo!
We have learnt that we will not be making any last minute holiday decision without the need to do a lot more research!

Room tip: Stay somewhere else in Malta
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nic_p7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrianaMalta, Manager at Oriana at the Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you nic_p7 for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and will use them to help ensure an improved service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

Oriana at the Topaz is very nice hotel its located 10min from bay and the enploey are very nice and frendy and they have a nice swiming pool at the top at the hotel so you can relax and enjoy white your familiy or frends

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Žan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrianaMalta, Manager at Oriana at the Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you Zan H for your review. We look forward to having you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

We visited with friends for a week.
What a disappointment. The power dropped out every night and as my husband requires a CPAP machine to sleep this is very disturbing.
The hotel advertises air conditioning doesn’t stipulate that it is seasonal only, as it was very warm at the time we were there, this was not ideal a fan was supplied after we asked the staff for 2 days and we were told repeatedly that they would turn it on.
Cold water pressure was almost non existent, requested twice to have it looked at, no change, hotel staff stating the hotel has that issue on the 5 floor
Toilet is hand pumped and flushed when it wants too.
WI FI. Drops out constantly.
I didn’t feel very secure as there is only a push button lock in room door. No extra chain or lock system in place.
Cleaning/ housekeeping staff kept rooms very clean and tidy, however difficult to communicate with them as they didn’t speak English.
Room had a large balcony with a table and 2 chairs which was nice to sit outside where it was cooler.
I wouldn’t bother staying here again. Very disappointing.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank matronbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrianaMalta, Manager at Oriana at the Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

hello matronbb, Thank you for your review, and we are very sorry to read you were not happy. Unfortunately, the power in the floors drops not because the system is unsafe or faulty but rather because it is too safe. We have however had an engineer re-check it following your review. Since your review Wifi has been upgraded, and maintenance stays longer hours as this is usual practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018

We spent a week here earlier in april and couldn't have asked for a better hotel in terms of general comfort and customer service.

The room was large and comfortable (apart from the pillows), all very modern and very well looked after. The staff and cleaners looked after us like gods, the room was cleaned spotless every single day, the reception staff were especially friendly, they even went and found us a fan when the room was too warm for our tastes (Aircon was only turned on during spring).

The hotel has a pool on the roof but you're better off heading next door to the Topaz hotel, of course, this is all included in the deal, there's even an underground passage through to the other hotel.

Breakfast, again, is served next door at the Topaz hotel, they have an amazing choice available including the usual continental breakfast along side a traditional full English. Well worth the cost.

As advertised, this hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the centre of town so perfectly located, great for a good night's sleep but also great if you want to go out for a few drinks/food.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoBeachForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrianaMalta, Manager at Oriana at the Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you NoBeachForMe for the review. The pillows have since been replaced with new down feather ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

Hotel is ok, Demand for deposit was a bit surprising. Hotel has good localization. Rooms were spacious & tidy. Staff was helpful. Some facilities especially in bathroom need upgrade. V good price vs value.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
Thank MarcX77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrianaMalta, Manager at Oriana at the Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you MarcX77, The deposit is the same like in most of the European hotels. It not a deposit its a credit card guarantee and is considered a normal practice in hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews