We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is great value for money. The room was really nice, plenty of space, and the hotel staff very pleasant at all times. Hotel not full of British, it had many different nationalities staying- it's a continental type hotel - as advertised. The restaurant is cafe/bar type, the food very good. Not far from Bugibba town, and close to the cinema if the weather was bad. Two lifts in the hotel - try to get a room on one of the top floors, better view that way. Be aware that Malta is very windy this time of year - bring some warm clothes for the evening. Would I come back - yes, the hotel's great value for money, and we had a great time using this as our base.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Marianne911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    294
    208
    68
    28
See reviews for
108
403
61
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The staff were great, very helpful and polite. Good choice at the restaurant for both the breakfast and dinner. We've stayed on a B&B basis and used one of their deals for dinner (pre-paid at the reception which saves you even more money :) Food was really nice with buffet b'fast and dinner.
The room was clean and with good facilities, no a/c but the fan kept us nice and cool. Every room has a balcony which is a bonus.
The roof top pool was very nice as well with great views.
The hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the sea - unfortunitelly though, the beach in Qawra is rocky so can't really enjoy the sea that much.
Overall, a great place to stay if you're on budget.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kasta9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Sunflower Hotel for a week in April 2011 (sorry for reviewing it with such a delay!) around Easter time. I was 5 months pregnant and we wanted to enjoy our last childless holiday, hence the unusual time of the year. I read some reviews before I booked it (directly through a booking website, it was really inexpensive, a double en-suite room with breakfast buffet). It is located in a quite little corner, you need to walk for about 10mins to get to the main square with buses, travel agencies, post office, supermarkets, shops, etc, but you can find small cafes and restaurants closer to the hotel.

We spent most days out sightseeing (we managed to see nearly everything in Malta, as I couldn't sunbathe too much and the water was too cold yet for swimming), but we stayed in for a few evenings and the room was big enough to give us both space to unwind with a good book or watching the telly.

The hotel was clean, the room spacious, with a balcony with a table and chairs (not a great view, but you could buy some local delicacies and enjoy a relaxed evening dining al fresco for the fraction of the price in restaurants!). The bathroom was clean, but I've seen cleaner in my life (maybe it's just me, but I'm very demanding in terms of bathroom cleanliness...). The buffet breakfast didn't offer a lot of variety, but the food was topped up until the last guest arrived and some foods were absolutely delicious, eg mini-croissants eaten with thick and rich hot chocolate, mmmm! You could order some dishes if they weren't available, such as scrambled eggs or hard-boiled eggs etc and pay extra (very cheap).

The staff at the bar were very nice and helpful, they were selling me milk by glasses as I couldn't drink alcohol and they lent my husband a wine glass and bottle opener on three nights (they could be nice once but kept that way until the end! :) and didn't mind that he was consuming his own wine in the room. We also borrowed plates and cutlery for our dinners on the balcony and the restaurant staff was very helpful as well.

There were a few different persons at the reception desk and most of them were nice, professional, knowledgeable and helpful, maybe apart from one elderly man (but we had the impression he could be the owner, so we didn't complain, but there was nothing really to report, just a bit ignorant).

I used the heated indoor pool once, but it was quite small (as usual), yet very clean and not too cold. There was a roof terrace for sunbathing but it was too windy in the afternoon when we tried it (but it looked OK).

On the whole, I would recommend this place to people who are not going to spend most time in the hotel, just treat is as a place to sleep and eat breakfast. If you like to sip drinks by the pool and flaunt your legs or boobs in front of the other hotel guests, I suppose it's not the place you're looking for. Good value for money (and I've heard from people during trips in Malta that all 3 star hotels in Malta are more or less the same standard, a bit dated but pleasant, so why you should pay too much?).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzyandfunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is really great. The entire hotel staff was wonderful. The restaurant at a high level. A delicious dinner, wonderful breakfast. Cleaned every day in peace, spotless towels. Very close are grocery stores (open to godz.19), to the beach 5 minutes walk, the way we pass the souvenir shops, pharmacy, post office. From Bugibba to walk 10 minutes we Quawra, promenade by the sea. Beautiful views. Nearby is a bus - train (buses depart in various parts of Malta). The famous yellow old Maltese buses without air conditioning, with uncomfortable seats:) but this climate it is! We recommend ...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrzegorzRumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

not in one of the most picturesque areas but the location is still very close to everything you need for a great holiday, buses, beach, bars/restaurants etc.
The hotel is spotlessly clean but the food although adequate was a bit on the boring /basic side. Rooms were very large, clean and comfortable all in all good for what was paid.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Agnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Sorry we have just returned from a weeks holiday in Malta and had the misfortune to stay at the Sunflower Hotel.
The meals are terrible, very basic evening meals and always cold over boiled veg. The ones you buy in supermarkets, frozen mixed veg. They are boiled to death and must have been there an hour before the evening time slot.
The room was very run down with old falling to bits furniture, all tattie. The room wasn't cleaned every day or towels changed on request. The tea and coffee suppies were never replenished unless you went down and asked.
The wi fi is very slow and constntly breaking down although you are still being chared. Very expensive.
Outside your view is of an old field that is now a dump site, plus the local youths use it to take their drugs. There are dozens of cats roaming, which make a racket day and night.
The management are unfriendly, with the excepion of a couple of reception staff.
I would not want another day in this Hotel
Totally put me off from returning to Malta.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kimberley_st_agnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We are staying at sunflower and the staff are very helpful and polite the hotel is very clean throughout choice of beef rabbit or salad for tea plenty of nice food good location slow 15 minute walk to buggiba bus station 12 euros for weekly pass anywhere in the island would definitely recommend it we like it some people just moan and should be greatful you pay for what you get and we paid 180 for 7 nights half board we well impressed

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.6 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,574 reviews
0.7 km away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
720 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bugibba
472 reviews
5.7 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,333 reviews
0.7 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing