We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$400
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$536
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$179
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$182
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$681
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
200
331
240
92
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
331
240
92
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolthe busresidential areanights half boardgrilled tomatocontinental breakfastthree stargames roombuggiba squarerabbitstar hotelmin walkstandard roomair conhotel barsea frontsandy beaches
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 903 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

First the good points: spotlessly clean hotel in a very central location. Rooms bright and airy, staff very friendly and hotel bar nice comfortable place to have a drink before dinner. The food was very good, prime cuts of meat and always a fresh salad bar at dinner. The puddings were better than average half board desserts. Mattress protectors were on the beds and there were two pillows per bed, so no stiff neck in the morning! Balcony was large and furniture comfortable. Linen changed regularly.

Things we felt the hotel could improve on:
Mattresses were very firm, too firm for us.
The shower was one of the worst we have experienced. Water pressure was great, but the shower head wasn’t the correct one for the holder on the wall, which resulted in the water spraying the opposite wall as it virtually came out horizontally.
On our last evening we decided to go for an afternoon drink at the hotel, only to be told the hotel bar didn’t open until 5pm. With the pool bar not yet open for the season, this means hotel guests are unable to use bar facilities during the day. We ended up visiting the supermarket for beers/wine and drank them on our balcony.
Once we ordered 2 ports in the bar. They were served in a tall glass and basically looked like dregs of leftover cola. At €2.10 per measure, I wasn’t actually sure we were given a full measure.
The sun beds and pool bar furniture are very dated and needed replacing.

All in all we really liked this hotel, but don’t think we will return, as we are unlikely to visit Malta again.
For those considering a holiday to Malta and looking for a reasonably priced good, better than an average 3 star hotel, then the Sunflower is a great option.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank magsmurph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Magsmurph_88,

We would like to thank you for your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is truly valuable for us as it helps us to improve our product and services and hence your comments will be discussed further with the rest of our management team in the view of improving our services.

We are glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again to the Sunflower Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

This Hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. food was nice. The rooms are quite basic but you get want you pay for. The main bus station is about 10 minute walk from the hotel where you can get a bus to anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane_217Prescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Diane_217Prescot,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor about our hotel.

We are grateful for your feedback and we are also glad that overall you had a positive experience with the product and the services we offer.

We thank you for staying at the Sunflower Hotel and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We stayed at the Sunflower for 7 nights, when we arrived we were upgraded to the superior room at no extra cost, room was very clean, was serviced everyday without exception and all, yes all the staff were very accomodating to our every need.
We were on b&b and the selection of buffet style breakfast was more than adequate for anyone, with cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast items and fruit juices and tea or coffee, all unlimited.
We didcstay in the hotel one evening for dinner ascwe thought we would give it a try andwe were really suprised at the choice of food on offer, 2 meat and a fish choice with vegetables for mains, starters were also good with choice of soup , then onto desserts which also had a choice with cheese and biscuits and frsh fruits, all of which were unlimited.
The night staff were amazing and with the bar being 24 hr the hotel was never really noisy or any trouble anywhere in the hotel.
The indoor pool is on the small side but adequate and the rooftop pool is very good and would be great in the summer with the poolside bar.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 2psclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear 2psclean,

Thank you for your kind review and for the maximum rate you gave us on TripAdvisor.

We are please to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Sunflower Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Just returned from 7 night stay.I am absolutely amazed at some of the reviews.I think some people want Ritz service for travel lodge prices.Yes the hotel is dated and in need of an upgrade.That said ,the hotel is clean,all of the staff are helpful and friendly.Rooms serviced daily,clean towels when you want them.Yes only 1 English Channel on the tv is that a bad thing when your on holiday.Breakfast is plentiful,cereals,full English,continental.fruit and unlimited drinks.Dinner unlimited help yourself,always 2 meat and 1 fish dishes,potatoes,veg,soup to start,dessert selection,fruits and selection of cheeses.We did not hear any noise from workers or get disturbed by staff wanting to clean.All in all for a 3 star hotel this is fantastic value for money and we will definitely be returning

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pstretton52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor readers. We are pleased that you had a pleasant time at our hotel. Comments like your encourage us to keep providing the best possible service and hospitality to our guests.

On behalf of all the management and staff, we thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again at Sunflower Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We stayed over Christmas and the Hotel for was excellent value, it's a perfectly good little hotel. The room was nice (a couple of minor issues but you really don't want to let that spoil your trip). The food was perfectly acceptable. The staff were amazing, friendly and efficient. The rooftop pool would be an amazing spot in the summer. It's set back a couple of streets from the tourist street with all it's bars and restaurants but it's an easy walk and as a result it's nice and quiet around the hotel. The area immediately around it is residential, quiet and not at all sketchy as some have suggested. It's an honest three star hotel and you get exactly what you should. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartynForshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Skudbucket,

Thank you for reviewing Sunflower Hotel on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read your review about our hotel and services. We are glad that you found our hotel to your satisfaction and we very much appreciate your comments as they encourage us to keep giving our best efforts for our guests' convenience.

Whilst we thank you again for your review we also hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you at Sunflower Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews