We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
48
91
82
58
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
91
82
58
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacks bar plain pasta pizza restaurant the general manager pool view hotel late at night weekend break reading reviews cleaned every other day tea and coffee making facilities ex pats things have changed apple bar hotel is great bad reviews are flat screen plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room was at street level in residential road ,cars passing constantly and dogs barking 24 hours ,came for a rest but had trouble sleeping ,the only time it was quiet was after midnight and the breakfast was crap ,if you coming on holiday for a break and a rest avoid it like the plague, disgruntled holiday maker .

Room Tip: Keep of the ground floor and avoid the furthest building
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 894Karlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Malta is noisy, it is clear, but it's not the fault of the hotel. Noisy guests we can deal with, but again, it is not the hotel's fault, merely something to be responded to.

We hope you choose something more suited to you next time.

Breakfast choice is substantial... it was a pity if amongst all the cornucopia of things you could not find something to appease you.

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and helpful..
We booked a twin room for 2 but got 3 bedrooms and could have slept 5.
The room was cleaned every other day, with fresh towels and beding .
The Hotel is basic,clean could do with a kettle and cups though.
We didnt eat there so cant comment on the food.
As a base it was in a great location and served its purpose

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

"Well played" Tracey, that's the spirit. Come and enjoy yourself again. We are looking forward to seeing you!

Kindest regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week end of September .arrived early and was welcomed by very friendly reception staff was given wrist bands for all inclusive and directed to pool bar and restaurant for lunch .was a problem with our room being damaged by previous guest so allocated another room room 1510 . spacious room for 2 people clean recently decorated new furniture the mattress on the beds were old or sub standard you could feel all the springs very uncomfortable.(Mrs not impressed)we mentioned this to reception and within the hour new mattress delivered and in place(happy wife )bathroom clean but could do with retilling and rusty window is unsightly TV fitted to wall at an odd angle .the little things that make a difference.view from balcony on to side street not too good (not hotels fault) and a random man comes out on roof right next to balcony to let his dog take a s**t .maybe a screen of some type would help.
Pool and surrounding areas nice and clean plenty of sunbeds.
Lady at the bar always on her phone makes you feel like you are anoying her every time you want a drink.
Restaurant..
staff very grumpy.do not make you feel comfortable(maybe a bit of retraining after a long season)
Breakfast good.lunch and dinner not so good presented well but not always hot .food not used at lunch rebranded for dinner and food not used at dinner rebranded for tomorrow lunch.
Would I stay again ,probably not .with a few tweaks will be a good 2/3 star hotel with 5star front line staff
Value for money..not for all inclusive but on a B&B basis I would have to say yes
Lots of maintainance going on in the background by very courteous staff I'm sure it's all going in the right direction ,and I think some of the bad reviews are not so honest only concentrating on the bad and not the good

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dickwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am glad that the staff of the hotel were praised, though we shall advise the subcontracted staff about what you say. (Bars and restaurant)

We wish you well for the future,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We booked less than 72 hours for 4 nights with a company called hreservations.com. We actually thought we were booking directly with the hotel. We paid extra for free cancellation despite later finding out this wasn’t possible in this time period. We searched for a double room and the first option was a twin room single occupancy. In our rush we reserved as this was not clear immediately. We were charged extra to add another person. The room was difficult to find, convoluted route going down 2 flights, crossing a courtyard and up 4 flights in another. There were lifts (small).
The air conditioner didn’t work. It was 28 degrees. They were unsympathetic and gave us a portable unit that was like trying to sleep with a truck in the room. Breakfast was disappointing, hot food was tepid. Very little fruit and pastries were hard and dry. We spent as little time as possible here. Midweek was quiet but on the Friday night lots of youngsters were staying & partying loudly all night. Apparently this is the case most weekends. The location isn’t bad, close to waterfront and bus station. The Polish girl who gave tourist advice was very helpful but found other staff abrupt and uninterested. It’s reasonably clean. Room cleaning service is alternate days. I wouldn’t stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DeirdreC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sounds like much of this review is in reference to the agent you booked through, not the hotel itself. Sorry about that, but in your haste to be negative, you missed the fact that you just have to follow the blue lines to the room... not so difficult.

Fruit was available, bananas, water melon, fruit cocktail, melon, oranges... the pastries are called pastizzi and they are a Maltese dish. Perhaps you didn't like them, that was it.

We hope you gain a better picture of your next holiday and enjoy it more.

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Stay away from this hotel,the bedrooms need refurbishing,must be 30 years since last upgraded, noisy,doors banging at all hours of the night,no hot water one day, no lift one day ,ants on the balcony, had to chase after towels twice no information in room regards tv or telephone.
The WiFi was very good and the breakfast was ok although the staff in the restaurant were unfriendly as if everything was too much trouble.
A young blonde lady from Poland on the reception was excellent,very helpful and friendly. she was the best of all the staff.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jgowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you for your praise of Renata, who appreciates your comments very much.
The hotel is beng refurbished and soon all the rooms will have the same furniture which has been specially made for us.

Other factors you mention are also just about to be remedied.
Thank you for your assistance in raising awareness of these matters.

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews