We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Exceeded my Expectations”
Review of Relax Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Relax Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Far Exceeded my Expectations”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We just returned from a 5 night trip to Malta, spent at the Relax Inn in Bugibba. While not a luxury property by any stretch, this is a quality hotel, and the keep things simple, but do those things well.

Pro's:
Rooms are clean, and the housekeepers were great, always cleaned the rooms really well.
Food was fresh, and dinners on the 5 nights varied and included all the basics.
Location was great, quite central to Bugibba, 10 minutes or so walk from the bus station.
The roof-top deck was surprisingly nice, though the weather didn't allow for us to use it.
There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel, which is a nice little bonus.

Con's:
Rooms are super basic, but do have small flat screen TVs, and balconies.
Breakfast food is simple, but good - pretty standard European continental fare - breads & rolls, cheese & meats, yogurts, cereals - just fine for a light breakfast.
Drinks, not even soft-drinks are provided during dinner without paying

Most of the travelers, at least in the off season, seem to be retirees - but this could also be a good thing if you're looking for a quiet place to stay and relax!

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the sea looked like they had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Traveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    177
    113
    49
    39
See reviews for
62
253
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

What a Fantastic Place i was moved from the Topaz to the Relax Inn and was a little worried at first, But i Was the lucky one i was checked in by Chris the night man with a relaxed friendly manner and stright away i felt relaxed
my room was on the fith floor and was big and bright with a nice street view [i like people watching] they have tv Kettles a safe and Ind Air con, rooms was cleaned evrey day along with Towels, the Hotel as a Very Relaxed feel and All The Staff cant do enough for you Sharon & Gary are great anything you want they will help i was all inclucive the food was good Break fast is good if you want a full breakfast this is cooked freshly for you at lunch time it has a varied menu of Bar Snacks which is freshly prepared and the evening meal is a varied menu there is no Pool it is a splash pool was not open whilst i was there but the roof top sun terrace was Good the bar is quite on a night but loads in the area, and the best thing is all inclusive guests dont get watered down drinks as in many other places when you are AI the Hotel is in a great Location 2 mins from the main squrae off Buggiba with loads of bars and places to eat and the tourist street is about 5 Mins walk away with loads more bars the bus station is about a 10 min walk away but quite enough to get a good nights sleep.
If you are looking for a good quality Hotel with Fantasticly Freindly Staff then this is the place
The number of Guests that go time and time agian speaks for itself i am going back in June and cant wait Thanks again Sharon Gary and All The Staff for a Great Holiday it does what it says on the tin It is A Home from Home feeling i travel a lot on my own and its so nice to be treated as a person and and not a Number it Really Made my Holiday

Room Tip: The Fith Floor Rooms Have Sea Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeedsPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

having just returned from my latest stay at The Relax Inn [3rd visit in 13 months]
i must compliment the owners and staff on excellent service received once again and always with a smile [from lovely staff]
clean towels daily daily maid room service a full and varied menu daily with excellent food!
this hotel is so home from home and i for one has i know many others long for the return as we leave for Luqa!
Situated in the heart of Bugibba with bars/restaurants in abundance in the square and surrounding area five minutes from the Bugibba bus station with connections to the whole island and Gozo
any advice required please ask the reception staff who will always be happy to help
Once again i thank the Gauci Family and all the staff at the Relax Inn i wish you all the very best for the 2012 Season

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lance17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We'd never holidayed in Malta before, and we had a mid-March five-day window for which cheapish Easyjet flights were available. Tripadvisor led us to the Relax Inn. While it was on some booking sites, we booked direct and paid on arrival - very trusting. The clientele seems to be mainly British, (and mainly older). For the price, it was excellent. Most of the nice things have already been said by others, so I'll just note that there is free wifi accessible from every room - how much better than many other hotels, which either don't offer wifi, or charge the earth for it.

The food was good value, for the price. (We were half board). We didn't pay the extra for full English breakfast, but there was a wide choice of cereals, yoghurt, bread (and toast), ham and cheese for the continental breakfasts. Evening meals were a choice of starters brought to you at lightning speed (pasta or soup), then counter service of either a meat or a fish dish. I had Grouper one day! Then a choice of desserts.

We would happily go back if we return to Malta. The only minor negative was the (lack of) choice of TV channels. There were umpteen local and Italian TV channels, but only Sky News or CNN in English.

As stated in another review, there is a bus service direct from the airport to Bugibba. It's the 'X3', but don't expect X to mean 'express'. While it may be limited-stop, its route zig-zags via Valetta outskirts and Rabat, taking about 1hr 20 mins.The bus station in Bugibba is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, with other stops being nearer. (Most buses seem to take a clockwise route around the Bugibba / Qawra peninsula. Services to Valetta (via two routes) and frequent, taking about an hour.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed for one week March 16th to 23rd,once again this small friendly hotel came up to mark as with my previous reviews.Room cleaned and new towels every day, food plain but tasty and good portions.Gary done a great job and seemed to be working every day.We are already planning a return visit in September

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed five days here in Feb 2012, Towels changed every day, rooms a good size, was a bed and continental breakfast deal, Breakfast very good value. Reception staff very helpful, only downside is they allow smoking in the rooms and the smell of stale cigarettes lingers. Also saw staff smoking in baggage room next to the laundry.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have a good view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefatcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just returned from a week in the Relax inn in Bugibba. Sharon and Gary were as usual very helpful. I have no complaints with this hotel. It is a bit dated but you get what you pat for in this life. Value for money- definately.Rooms cleaned every day,Fresh towels aso and the food was good

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank davethebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.6 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
84 reviews
0.5 km away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
158 reviews
5.2 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,336 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Hotel

Property: Relax Inn Hotel
Address: Halel Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relax Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relax Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Hotel Bugibba
Relax Inn Malta
Relax Inn Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing