We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Penthouse

Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Moorish Castle at night Views from the front terrace at dusk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Moorish Castle at night
Views from the front terrace at dusk
Back Terrace with views of the town and mountians
The sitting room
Kitchen
Building Facade
Foyer
The main bedroom
Views of the castle and town
El Chorro Lakes
El Chorro Lakes at dusk
The whitewashed town of Alora
El Chorro - the climbers' paradise
El Chorro's gorge
Fishing in El Chorro
Alora Town Square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alora, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ANNETTE05...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star accommodation”
Reviewed August 2, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

If you'd like a taste of the real Spain in excellent accommodation look no further than this penthouse. Everything you require is provided plus the owners live nearby which can be a real bonus should assistance be required, they also deserve 5 stars without a doubt.

This was our second visit, first by ourselves then as a group of four adults which makes the penthouse extremely good value. We did not bother with a car because Alora centre is on the doorstep with a punctual train service or reasonable taxi hire.
All in all great apartment, great views and great hosts
A & B in Romsey UK

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbet9
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A holiday you will want to repeat”
Reviewed May 22, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

A wonderful immaculate apartment with stunning views of Alora, a typical Andalucian pueblo. The owners Helen and Steve are attentive, helpful, and available when needed. A very generous welcome pack is there on your arrival. The apartment has all you need for a stress- free holiday. Alora is a short train journey to Malaga, and 20 minutes by car to the El Chorro Gorge, with its concrete catwalk. Alora has its own municipal swimming pool and a short drive away is the town of Casarabonella, with a beautiful open- air pool. There are plenty of places to eat out but the apartment has a lovely dining room from which to enjoy the wonderful sunsets over Alora

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2011
Praises and positive reviews written by our holidaymakers in our Guests Books and our webpage make our work so fulfilling but Jean, our valued guest, booked 3 times in less than 10 months' time. We are so humbled by her repeat business and we make sure that she and her family are satisfied in every visit they make. Thank you for your confidence in us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farquhar7...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect property + Perfect hosts = One awesome holiday.”
Reviewed May 17, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Right from initial enquiry, through to checking out of the Penthouse, Helen and Steve showed unrivalled passion and professionalism.
The attention to detail in the property is second to none...every imaginable step has been taken to ensure a comfortable stay.
The property is furnished to a very high standard, includes all mod cons and is spotlessly clean.
The views from the terraces will, I promise you, leave you breathless.

Alora itself is REAL Spain. No trappings of tourism here, just natural, unspoiled beauty in every direction. Superb Tapas bars, even fine dining. If the British Pub abroad is your thing...look elsewhere!
If, however, a taste of true Spanish life is your desire, please...look no further. Neither Helen, Steve, or indeed Alora herself, will disappoint.

Use Alora as a base to go to the mountains. The lakes. Even the coast. And do not miss Malaga...a gorgeous city in her own right...not just an airport!

Lastly...if you are lucky enough to visit Alora, drop in to see Gary at Casa De Correos Restaurant and say Hi.
Tell him that Tony and Ella sent you....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 May 2011
Part of our job satisfaction is knowing that our holidaymakers are enjoying themselves and when they express so in a few parting words, our Guests Book, through email messages or a review posted in our webpage then it affirms that we must be doing something right. Having said that, we do not rest on our laurels but are inspired to find ways improve further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln UK
Reviewed May 16, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 May 2011
Our town Alora, being a typical Andalusian white washed village, has narrow and winding roads. During the olden days only donkeys and horses passed these medieval village roads. The penthouse is located in the historic part of town and so to access the garage you should have a small car and brave enough to negotiate the streets. Some of our holidaymakers (those not brave enough to drive these roads) are glad enough to park their cars in the free municapal car park which is only 10 minutes walk away (or 300 metres away). The narrow street has its blessings since you do not have passing traffic and therefore the area is very quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing