We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,418)
Filter reviews
1,418 results
Traveller rating
998
253
103
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
998
253
103
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tavern wing outdoor pool fitness center new england resort fee steam room afternoon tea and cookies huge fireplace spa services in town full service simon pearce roaring fire king room games room beautiful property covered bridge
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 1,418 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017

The Woodstock Inn reflects the Norman Rockwell image of a traditional New England inn. The main foyer includes a large fireplace with comfortable chairs and couches around the warm fire. There is a pleasant bar and lounge also on the main floor. The rooms are clean and comfortable though I did find the hallway noise a bit disconcerting at night. The staff are help and nice. Parking is somewhat limited but manageable.

The Inn is situated in downtown Woodstock with all the local stores within walking distance. Those who are skiing at Suicide Six will find the area a short, 5-10 minute drive away.

All in all, a pleasant stay especially for those who are looking to get away from the hectic city life.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing the wonderful review… Woodstock is often called the most beautiful small town in America, and definitely does bring Norman Rockwell to mind! Did you know he spent much of his time in Vermont and there is a terrific Norman Rockwell Museum nearby?

We are delighted that you enjoyed the area so much and invite you to return for more, in any season This area boasts so many unusual opportunities and activities that one visit is definitely not enough, and our reservations team and concierges are well versed and always happy to share suggestions and make arrangements to make every trip to Woodstock unique and unforgettable!

We’re looking forward to your next visit as much as you are!

Best wishes,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We can't say enough fantastic things about this place. We stumbled upon this place after having a terrible start to our wedding anniversary trip. We started the trip staying at a B&B in Chester, VT that turned out to be a nightmare. We decided to leave a day early and stay at the Woodstock Inn. Boy did they make up for it! We ended up staying an extra night! The Inn is gorgeous and is nestled in the green mountains. It is so clean, so beautifully decorated. The customer service is absolutely top notch. From remembering your name, to what you are celebrating, to helping you with your bags and recommending things to do. Wow. I mean everyone too. From the servers to the concierges, to the bus boys and bar tenders. Top Notch!! They upgraded us for free to a tavern room which was beautiful. We had dinner at all the restaurants. There is no need to leave this resort to eat in town. Every meal was great. Sure, it is expensive, but you can see why. The quality is outstanding. The grounds are lovely. Adirondike chairs, cruiser bikes-its beautiful. There is an awesome game room for kids and a great bar for adults. Breakfast was top notch and a huge spread. I enjoyed eggs benedict every day! Lovely large porches with rocking chairs. We got massages at the spa. Also amazing. The spa is super nice. My only suggestion would be to replace couches and order new robes. Also, remind guests not to talk loudly in communal relaxation space. I should have complained but I just ignored it. There were two ladies that were talking and gossiping very loudly while others were trying to relax. Overall a top notch experience. So much so that we are returning tomorrow for our baby moon and we cannot wait!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank you for joining us in Woodstock last summer and sharing your impressions! We don’t often see reviews written more than six months after the visit, and it seems like your enthusiasm hasn’t dropped off a bit in all that time. I guess that’s the greatest testimonial we could ask for!

I’m sorry to hear your visit to nearby (and beautiful!) Chester was not a success, but equally glad you stumbled into Woodstock and we were able to contribute to redeeming the vacation! Of course the cruiser bikes and Adirondack chairs aren’t in such high demand this time of year, but Woodstock is still gorgeous any time, and we hope you won't wait for another big anniversary to visit again!

Thank you again, on behalf of everyone at our resort. We hope to see you soon.

With appreciation,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

A pleasant 4 hour drive from NYC and you arrive at a scene out of a Rockwell painting! The beautiful snow covered surroundings just added even more excitement to the start of our long weekend getaway! It only got better upon check in. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the decor just enhanced the experience. We got to our rooms and were struck by the ambience and feel of an authentic Vermont country Inn. The room was well appointed, well lit, clean, and had a very comfortable bed. Once settled in we began to explore and quickly realized that 4 days may not be enough time!. It was not too cold during the days we were there- about 20°- 25° during the day & about 10°colder at night, but warmed by the cozy fireplace. The entirety of a Vermont experience is available in the surrounding areas as well as the Inn. My 8 month old granddaughter had a great time & thoroughly enjoyed herself- especially on the horsedrawn sleigh ride. (She was very well protected from the elements) We are anxious to go back - perhaps late Spring, especially likely in the Fall, and yes again next winter. If you go during the Winter, I strongly suggest a room with a fireplace...and a glass of wine! Enough to 'enliven' your stay!

Room Tip: The rooms we saw being cleaned all look fairly similar. Was told the few Suites offered are gorgeous, may give it a try.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ambopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Thank you so much for making the trip up from New York City and sharing your wonderful reflections. We’re delighted that you enjoyed a few days in “the prettiest small town in America,” a host of terrific outdoor activities, the casual elegance of our resort, and of course a warm welcome from everyone on our team!

Perhaps our greatest pleasures come from combining luxurious service with genuine hospitality, and the long-lasting and rewarding relationships we build with our guests over many years or even generations!

We look forward to hosting another visit and creating more unforgettable family memories soon. Spring and autumn are both great times to visit, as of course are summer and winter. There really is no bad time to visit Woodstock, and each season holds some very different delights. Please do call our reservations team for help in planning your next visit; we are always happy to offer suggestions and arrangements to make every visit unique and memorable for you and your family!

Again, thank you for joining us and sharing your very kind words!

Warm regards,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We have stayed at The Woodstock Inn twice in the last year while vacationing in Vermont. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The inn is elegant and homey at the same time. There are ample places throughout the hotel to relax, read a book, etc. There are several restaurants to try; my fiance loved the burger he had for dinner. The staff was all welcoming and helpful. We wanted to hike before heading out of town, and we were told we could leave our car parked at the inn until we headed out of town, even though we had checked out. We can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you so much for visiting, and sharing the aspects f your stay that made you want to come back again… and again!

I’m happy to learn you enjoyed the casual elegance of our hotel; some of our terrific outdoor activities; great dining experiences in The Red Rooster and Richardson's Tavern; and most of all, “welcoming and helpful” people throughout your stay!

Winter is without a doubt a beautiful time in Woodstock, and I hope you’ll also visit during the rest of the year. We’re happy to share something for every taste, all year long: whether a visit to our organic Kelly Way Gardens, an afternoon at The Spa, or a hands-on experience at New England Falconry; hiking biking, and fly fishing; or Nordic and alpine skiing during the winter!

Please do give us a call soon… we’re looking forward to helping craft your next visit!

Thanks again,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We loved (mostly) loved staying here on President's Day week. Started off with great concierge service even before the trip. Place was lovely, lots to do and lots planned for children that made it so appealing. Town was fantastic and amenties (Nordic Club, Athletic Center, Skiing and farm-to-table food) great all at a pretty reasonable price. The downside was the bed. Though it looked comfortable, my husband and I had the worst sleep of our lives on this overly cushy bed - we just could not get comfortable. On top of that the sheets were so over starched that every time someone turned in bed it was incredibly loud! We would come back in a heartbeat (summer looks appealing) but cannot return to poor sleep quality. Wish it were a different situation.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PamNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for joining us during this very busy (and very fun!) Presidents’ Week. It sounds like you and your family enjoyed loads of activities and the warm, festive atmosphere of the vacation week!

Thank you also for sharing your concern about your bed not being comfortable, and I apologize that it affected your enjoyment. All our beds (Stearns & Foster) and linens (Anichini) are new within the past year.

While and we very seldom hear complaints about either we definitely understand that each of us has our own tastes. I certainly understand how important a good night’s sleep is to a vacation, and we’re always happy to do whatever we can to make you comfortable.

I hope you will consider visiting us again, and suggest that you call or reservations team to reserve your room, if you let them know about your previous experience and your preferences, I am sure we can customize your room to make your sleep-time as wonderful as your awake-time!

Very truly yours,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews