We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn with classic character and modern amenities”
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Jackson House Inn for one night, and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we pulled up to the Inn, we were struck by how beautiful the building and grounds were, and especially the front porch which gracefully stretches from one end of the house to the other.
The Innkeepers, Kathy and Rick, are very nice, and showed us to our room. It was beautiful, with nice fresh linens and the bathroom was very large and had both a large jacuzzi tub and a walk-in shower. We have so often stayed in Inns that look wonderful from the outside, yet when you get to your room you wished you had stuck with a more standard hotel....Well, not at the Jackson House. There is the wonderful charm of a fine country property, and yet the modern appointments which are so important.
We were in for another treat when we sat down to breakfast in the morning. The dinning room is surrounded by windows on all sides, and you look out on the stunning grounds. Then Rick presented us with breakfast, which is almost impossible to describe. From the yogurt that was infused with Maple and toasted pumpkin seeds to the baked oatmeal that was incredibly light and fluffy and wonderfully scrumptious.
I highly recommend this Inn, and only hope they start serving dinner!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannekhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just got back from a wonderful weekend away in Woodstock, VT, and very much enjoyed our time there. My husband and I just wanted a short weekend away and our time staying at the Jackson House Inn was perfect for that. The owners of Jackson House are friendly and make you feel right at home. We spend some time exploring the grounds and enjoyed relaxing by the small pond in comfortable Adirondack chairs. We stayed in the Mary Todd Lincoln room, which was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable and the decor matched the 1890s style of the house. Breakfast in the morning was excellent - very fresh and made from all local farms. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We returned to Jackson House Inn for a second overnight stay and were again amazed by the ambience, cleanliness, hospitality, and Rick's creative breakfast cuisine. If this is not the nicest B&B experience in the northeast, then we don't know where you'd find it. Expect to be wow'd with a rare combination of exquisite taste, historic but updated surroundings including premium bedding, exotic hardwood floors, charming bedrooms and welcoming owners who open their house to the privileged few who find Jackson House Inn. The grounds are also impeccabbly groomed with a lovely stream fed pound in the rear behind the Alberta Spruce "maze."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggreenandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed at this lovely Inn July 14-17. Beautiful rooms, and beautiful looking Inn with perfect lanscaped grounds. The Inn also has a beautiful great long front porch for you to sit on and enjoy a good book, or enjoy a glass of wine. I cannot say how nice Kathy and Rick are as InnKeepers. You can readily tell how they truely enjoy what they are doing. We had B'fest each morning at the Inn, which was beautifully prepared by Rick with ingredients purchased from local area farms. The Inn has a perfect location within 1.4 miles from the center of Woodstock. We came up here for a romantic weekend, and we were not disappointed by this Inn, and we have stayed at many over the years. We would defintely rate this one in the top 3. A+ to the Innkeepers, the beautiful inn, and the beautiful landscaped grounds. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We just got back from the Jackson House Inn. Our trip was perfect in every way. Kathy and Rick made us feel right at home. We were just married, and they surprised us with a wonderful bottle of wine to enjoy on the front porch!

The rooms, common areas, and grounds are elegant and meticulously cared for. Do not hesitate to stay at this wonderful inn.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atiksanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Jackson House Inn was our second stop in our month long tour of America. By the end of our trip, even after visiting cities like New York and Boston, our stay in Vermont was by far the most memorable. We stayed in one of the suites on the third floor and it was much to our delight. My favorite part was waking up to a warm cup of coffee, graciously provided by Kathy, and taking in the amazing view from our deck outside the room. As for the hosts themselves, Rick and Kathy went above and beyond. My husband speaks very little english, so they actually learned a few words to be able to communicate with him. I loved the time that we spent together talking by the impressive fireplace in the restaurant.

The location of the inn was perfect. Only about a mile away from the center of the village, it was very easy to access but we could also enjoy the peace and serenity of the inn without the noise of Woodstock.

The Jackson House Inn is truly a wonderful place and if we ever return to the United States, this inn will most certainly be on our list!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henryfr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I wish I could communicate the high expectations and standards I have for vacation getaways. My husband and I rely on Trip Advisor for choosing hotels and restaurants. Thanks to other reviewers we chose the Jackson House Inn for a last minute weekend away for the 4th of July. I almost picked the Woodstock Inn because it was the easy way out but instead we opted for this B & B. My husband dreaded the thought that we were going to pull up to a New England inn and find the antique character to actually be a musty, old lodging. How wrong he was. The Jackson House Inn is immaculate and so homey and comfortable. We did stop into the Woodstock Inn and found it to have a rather stuffy hotel atmosphere. It looked nice but it was not what we wanted for a Vermont weekend.

From the moment we walked in until the time we left Kathy and Rick were the most gracious, kind hosts. We booked a suite but like others we toured open rooms and found them all to be outstanding and beautiful. The grounds are perfect too. The inn is a mile and a half west of downtown which is a great location. It was close enough for an easy drive but far enough away to sit on the porch to read and chat in peace.

Another thing I must mention in this review is a restaurant that they sent us to Saturday night. It is in Reading so it won't come up on a search under Woodstock. It is called Keeper's Cafe on Route 106 and it is a MUST to go to for dinner. The charm and menu are classic Vermont. Like the inn it is family run and so unique and special.

Before we left we promised ourselves that we will be back. If you are planning on visiting Woodstock make The Jackson House Inn you place to stay. You will love it too.

Room Tip: You can check out all rooms online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjane0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
3.5 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
2.8 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Deer Brook Inn
Deer Brook Inn
#2 of 15 in Woodstock
610 reviews
2.1 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
673 reviews
3.5 km away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $272 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing