We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Thanks to Rick and Kathy for making our stay a memorable one. We had such a great time staying with you and exploring the area! And Rick, your breakfast was the best we've ever had! We still talk about it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

On August 14,2011 my husband and I checked into the Jackson House Inn for a 4 night stay. The 3 acre grounds are immaculate with plenty of places to take a walk and just relax.The website shows all of the guest rooms and most of the common rooms, but it doesn't do it justice. You have to see it for yourself. We stayed in the Nicholas I 3rd floor suite. The view from our balcony was breath taking. As for ourselves, the stay was simply perfect. The breakfast each morning was something like you've never had before. Rick and Kathy are wonderful host. We actually got very attached to them during our short stay. Their hospitality and willingness to accommodate you in every way made our stay truly special. They love what they are doing and it definitely shows. If you are going to be in the Woodstock, VT. area this is the place for you.
The Croteau's

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTSLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I can't say enough about Kathy and Scott .They have the best qualities Inn Keepers can offer.They made us feel comfortable from the moment of our arrival.Scott's farm to table breakfast creations were a delicious delight each morning . I wish I could take him home with me .We were so happy to find this beautifully restored traditional Inn,where quality and service still matter.There may be lots of choices in Woodstock, but for us the Jackson House is it.

Room Tip: Great top floor suites facing the back , the private porch with a view of the stars and the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parklaneguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our time at the Jackson House inn this past weekend was very memorable. We have stayed at B&Bs throughout New England and this one is clearly a cut above the rest. The innkeepers, Kathy and Rick, are class acts, and exude the friendly calm demeanor one hopes to experience in a vacation spot. The decor is warm and inviting. Kathy and Rick's attention to detail, in the common areas, bedrooms, and in the restaurant, is outstanding. The breakfast, all made from locally produced ingredients, was served beautifully and tasted heavenly. Treat yourself to a truly luxurious inn experience in one of the nicest towns in Vermont!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Jackson House Inn for one night, and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we pulled up to the Inn, we were struck by how beautiful the building and grounds were, and especially the front porch which gracefully stretches from one end of the house to the other.
The Innkeepers, Kathy and Rick, are very nice, and showed us to our room. It was beautiful, with nice fresh linens and the bathroom was very large and had both a large jacuzzi tub and a walk-in shower. We have so often stayed in Inns that look wonderful from the outside, yet when you get to your room you wished you had stuck with a more standard hotel....Well, not at the Jackson House. There is the wonderful charm of a fine country property, and yet the modern appointments which are so important.
We were in for another treat when we sat down to breakfast in the morning. The dinning room is surrounded by windows on all sides, and you look out on the stunning grounds. Then Rick presented us with breakfast, which is almost impossible to describe. From the yogurt that was infused with Maple and toasted pumpkin seeds to the baked oatmeal that was incredibly light and fluffy and wonderfully scrumptious.
I highly recommend this Inn, and only hope they start serving dinner!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannekhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just got back from a wonderful weekend away in Woodstock, VT, and very much enjoyed our time there. My husband and I just wanted a short weekend away and our time staying at the Jackson House Inn was perfect for that. The owners of Jackson House are friendly and make you feel right at home. We spend some time exploring the grounds and enjoyed relaxing by the small pond in comfortable Adirondack chairs. We stayed in the Mary Todd Lincoln room, which was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable and the decor matched the 1890s style of the house. Breakfast in the morning was excellent - very fresh and made from all local farms. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We returned to Jackson House Inn for a second overnight stay and were again amazed by the ambience, cleanliness, hospitality, and Rick's creative breakfast cuisine. If this is not the nicest B&B experience in the northeast, then we don't know where you'd find it. Expect to be wow'd with a rare combination of exquisite taste, historic but updated surroundings including premium bedding, exotic hardwood floors, charming bedrooms and welcoming owners who open their house to the privileged few who find Jackson House Inn. The grounds are also impeccabbly groomed with a lovely stream fed pound in the rear behind the Alberta Spruce "maze."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggreenandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
5.3 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
3.5 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.1 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
667 reviews
3.5 km away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $264 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing