We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, warm and inviting escape to Vermont!”
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I are from Boston, and we stayed at the Jackson House Inn for a weekend of rest and relaxation this past November. We adored it! The owners, Kathy and Rick, were so warm and friendly...they greeted us and showed us around the inn. They have put an amazing amount of work into the place, and it shows. The grounds and the rooms are beautiful. We loved our room - we had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub! The breakfasts were to die for. Rick is an amazing chef and uses fresh and local ingredients. I have been to over 20 B&B's, and this by far was the best breakfast! Kathy served us coffee and tea every morning. We also loved the fact that they both knew the area well, and gave us great recommendations for dinner, shopping and beautiful Sunday drives so we could see the farms and mountains!

This was my husbands first stay at a bed and breakfast, and he couldn't have been happier. And just to make our stay extra sweet, Rick and Kathy knew it was my birthday weekend, so they surprised us with wine and birthday cupcakes in our room! We enjoyed the wine out on the front porch. It was lovely.

We would recommend the Jackson House Inn to anyone! We'll surely be back!

Thanks Rick and Kathy!

Natalie & Shaun

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We returned to the Jackson House Inn for an overnight stay this past weekend, and our time there was just as delightful as it was during our first visit. Rick and Kathy were attentive and welcoming, and the room was supremely comfortable. The breakfast alone was worth the trip....Rick is a marvel in the kitchen. We'll find excuses to return to the Jackson House Inn again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBaldridge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Jackson House Inn is a beautiful B&B with amazing service and a quiet location. Even though it’s less than 5 minutes to downtown Woodstock, VT, the Inn is on a quiet street with a huge backyard that must be gorgeous in the spring and summer.

The owners, Rick and Kathy, went out of their way to take care of us and give us exceptional service. They are friendly, warm, and efficient.

One of the best parts of the Inn is privacy, since you can sit at your own table for breakfast, instead of the usual single table for all of the guests. I loved this feature, since it’s hard to have an intimate conversation with your spouse when you’re sitting with a group of strangers. On the other hand, if you want company, it’s easy to talk to other guests.

The Inn itself is cozy and gorgeous inside and out. I loved the beautiful decorations in our room, and the dining room is full of windows that all provide great views of the beautiful yard. We took a walk on the grounds, and found a creek, trees, and even a pond!

Rick cooks a delicious breakfast, and my favorite was the pancakes he made on our last day. The pancakes had a light and fluffy texture, and the syrup was wonderful too. The only problem was that I’m not used to eating so much, and it’s hard to stop eating Rick’s food!

I would recommend the Jackson House Inn to anyone traveling to Woodstock, VT, Quechee, VT, Hanover, NH, or nearby towns.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Inn are quiet with a great view of the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

First class in every way. Innkeepers Rick and Kathy were friendly and welcoming, the rooms and public spaces were warm, comfortable, inviting and perfectly kept, and the breakfasts were excellent. Maybe, if you're lucky, you'll have the Almond Pear Toast for breakfast - it was yummy !! We had a terrific time in Woodstock, Rick and Kathy gave us excellent guidance on things to do and see. This is one of my favorite B&B's from all my worldwide travel. I would highly recommend The Jackson House Inn.

Room Tip: The views to back of the property are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kld1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Having once lived in New England for many years, I am quite familiar with the area and accommodations available to tourists. Rick and Kathy have created a classy comfortable inn where I have chosen to stay several times in the past year. Yes, I am compelled to return to experience Rick's delectable breakfast creations and the welcoming atmosphere provided by Kathy's warmth. Kathy and Rick's attention to their guests far exceeds the service I have experienced anywhere in my travels. The Inn's Woodstock location allows visitors to take advantage of many seasonal offerings including skiing at Killington and other nearby mountains. I am imagining sitting near the fireplace sipping a glass of wine after a day of skiing, sleeping in lush beds, and tasting another of Rick's amazing breakfasts. Regardless of the type of stay one is seeking - meeting interesting guests (which I have), or privacy, Rick and Kathy provide for individual needs and are most thoughtful. For travelers who seek impeccable rooms, comfort, wonderful breakfasts, and attentive innkeepers this is the place to stay. Now I am looking forward to a snowy winter, skiing in Vermont, and the Jackson House Inn! New England travelers, skiers - don't miss this place!!!

Room Tip: Review the website or e-mail or call Kathy to find out more about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnewengland78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were impressed by the Inn's upgrading since we visited several years ago. While a little on the pricey side, everything is done first calss with great attention to detail. The new owners are very friendly and seemed sincerly concerned about the quality of our stay. It is a very relaxing atmsophere. The view from the breakfast dining room through the big picture window into teh garden is very nice. Breakfast was outstanding. We will return on our next visit to Woodstock.

Room Tip: Newer section of Inn has larger rooms, but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were exceptionally comfortable in this elegant yet cozy B & B in lovely Woodstock, Vermont. Rick and Kathy were both welcoming and helpful in our two-night stay and without even asking printed out internet directions and map for our return to Boston’s Logan airport. Rick’s amazing one-of-a-kind breakfast creations with an apple/maple syrup theme were both delicious and healthy. He must have been a gourmet chef in a previous life. Wished we could have stayed longer just to see his next day’s creation. Our suite was very private, spit-spot clean, beautifully and tastefully furnished, roomy, and quiet. The grounds held an interesting maze of evergreens trees and a fast moving stream in the far back. Especially loved the artfully placed pots and bright hanging baskets displaying all the colors of fall. Thanks for sharing, Rick and Kathy. Hope to be back someday

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
3.5 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
2.8 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Deer Brook Inn
Deer Brook Inn
#2 of 15 in Woodstock
609 reviews
2.1 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
673 reviews
3.5 km away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $271 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing