We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
532
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rick's breakfasts mary todd lincoln two courses welsh rarebit frette linens attention to detail breakfast creations each morning local ingredients my husband and i bacon and eggs front porch floor to ceiling his passion balcony overlooking grounds are gorgeous dining room
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 542 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Kathy and Rick are ideally suited as innkeepers. They're outgoing and friendly. They think of all the little things that make guests feel comfortable. Rick creates the most amazing breakfasts, the best of any B&B we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many throughout the US and Europe. It was a joy to listen to his description of how he created each dish, almost always with organically grown, local ingredients. The inn itself is as modern as they come, while still maintaining the ambience of the stately old home it once was. The grounds are a joy to wander around. We wished that the front porch wasn't quite as close to the highway as it is, but that's a minor inconvenience. And if that bothers you, you can always move to the back of the building and enjoy the quiet and beauty of the large back yard with its gardens and stately trees. Kathy and Rick happened to be dealing with the unexpected death of one of his parents (and this just two weeks after the death of one her her parents) just before our stay began and they seemed more concerned about making sure that our stay would continue comfortably and conveniently than with caring for their own personal needs. You will be very, very happy in choosing Jackson House Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEM727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a beautiful place! The house is perfectly decorated inside and out! The rooms are homey and inviting. We felt so welcomed the minute we stepped inside! Rick was a great host (Kathy was out of town) and he whipped up the most stunningly delicious breakfast we have ever had. He made a point of shopping locally for the freshest organic ingredients...from a heavenly yogurt and fruit dish to a hearty egg and veggie main dish. We will go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmcs599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having visited previously we knew what to expect, but were curious to see if Rick and Kathy could live up to their incredibly high standards and deliver again. This time we brought friends who have travelled all over the world and have been in some of the finest, most expensive resorts and hotels in the world. They were impressed by the absolutely spotless condition of the rooms and inn, and amazed at the breakfast creations rendered by Rick. This place is worth every penny and not to be missed if you are travelling through Vermont.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggreenandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Jackson House Inn is a must do again site. The grounds are huge with a freshwater pond, a mini pine tree maze, and flowering gardens. The common areas of the house are spacious and well kept. The bar has a huge television for sports fans. Our room was a suite that had double doors that opened to the expansive yard. The bed had luxurious linens with a deep pillow top. The tub in the room was a Bain Ultra with hydro-therapy massage and chroma therapy. The tub is meant for two people. Wonderful accommodations.
Let's talk about breakfast. OMG! The food was fresh, inventive, and so delicious. The sauces were unique. The servings were generous and yet, not wasteful. The attention to detail is superb. Breakfast was served on a sunny spacious room with clear views of the gardens and mountains. You would want to eat breakfast there everyday.
Everything was FABULOUS!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get one of the suites with the tub.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a three day stay at the inn and wish we had three more days. The rooms were perfectly adorable and the gardens expansive and beautiful. The staff was beyond attentive... They bent over backwards to help us when we had some business needs (printing, office supplies)... In a town full of inn's, I'll be right back here again if ever in these parts.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a35mmlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews