We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“road trip NYC to Toronto”
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Had a gr8 couple of days at Jackson house What can I say that has not already been said! a great place to stop, food fantastic. Rick was the perfect host Kathy was out of town on family buisness. We wish them both every success in the future would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Kathy and Rick are ideally suited as innkeepers. They're outgoing and friendly. They think of all the little things that make guests feel comfortable. Rick creates the most amazing breakfasts, the best of any B&B we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many throughout the US and Europe. It was a joy to listen to his description of how he created each dish, almost always with organically grown, local ingredients. The inn itself is as modern as they come, while still maintaining the ambience of the stately old home it once was. The grounds are a joy to wander around. We wished that the front porch wasn't quite as close to the highway as it is, but that's a minor inconvenience. And if that bothers you, you can always move to the back of the building and enjoy the quiet and beauty of the large back yard with its gardens and stately trees. Kathy and Rick happened to be dealing with the unexpected death of one of his parents (and this just two weeks after the death of one her her parents) just before our stay began and they seemed more concerned about making sure that our stay would continue comfortably and conveniently than with caring for their own personal needs. You will be very, very happy in choosing Jackson House Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEM727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

What a beautiful place! The house is perfectly decorated inside and out! The rooms are homey and inviting. We felt so welcomed the minute we stepped inside! Rick was a great host (Kathy was out of town) and he whipped up the most stunningly delicious breakfast we have ever had. He made a point of shopping locally for the freshest organic ingredients...from a heavenly yogurt and fruit dish to a hearty egg and veggie main dish. We will go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmcs599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Having visited previously we knew what to expect, but were curious to see if Rick and Kathy could live up to their incredibly high standards and deliver again. This time we brought friends who have travelled all over the world and have been in some of the finest, most expensive resorts and hotels in the world. They were impressed by the absolutely spotless condition of the rooms and inn, and amazed at the breakfast creations rendered by Rick. This place is worth every penny and not to be missed if you are travelling through Vermont.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggreenandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Jackson House Inn is a must do again site. The grounds are huge with a freshwater pond, a mini pine tree maze, and flowering gardens. The common areas of the house are spacious and well kept. The bar has a huge television for sports fans. Our room was a suite that had double doors that opened to the expansive yard. The bed had luxurious linens with a deep pillow top. The tub in the room was a Bain Ultra with hydro-therapy massage and chroma therapy. The tub is meant for two people. Wonderful accommodations.
Let's talk about breakfast. OMG! The food was fresh, inventive, and so delicious. The sauces were unique. The servings were generous and yet, not wasteful. The attention to detail is superb. Breakfast was served on a sunny spacious room with clear views of the gardens and mountains. You would want to eat breakfast there everyday.
Everything was FABULOUS!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get one of the suites with the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a three day stay at the inn and wish we had three more days. The rooms were perfectly adorable and the gardens expansive and beautiful. The staff was beyond attentive... They bent over backwards to help us when we had some business needs (printing, office supplies)... In a town full of inn's, I'll be right back here again if ever in these parts.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a35mmlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have never written a review, but feel compelled after an unforgettable stay at the Jackson House Inn last weekend. My husband and I stopped in Woodstock on our way north for a wedding and were so happy that we did! Kathy and Rick truly make every moment of your stay as luxurious and personal as possible. The Inn feels like the family home in Vermont that you never knew you had, and could return back to again and again. The Inn is spotless, with beautifully pressed Frette linens throughout. We slept with the door to our balcony open and enjoyed the pure and cool Vermont air. Kathy took special care to deliver coffee service to our door in the morning so that we could take our time getting going, a rare treat for parents of a toddler! The highlight was an expertly prepared breakfast by Rick, original dishes the likes of which my husband and I never experienced in our 7 years in New York. The food isn't fussy, just fresh, local ingredients that Rick lovingly prepares. I will dream about the cup of hot coffee and challah pain perdu that started our meal until we can get back again. Be sure to take a walk through their exquisite gardens, soak in the sunshine, poppies and the sound of the frogs by the pond. It's the perfect destination for a wedding, reunion, or just an evening, although we could have stayed much longer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
5.3 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
3.5 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.1 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
667 reviews
3.5 km away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $265 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing