We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect New England Romantic Getaway”
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We came for a three-day weekend to celebrate our 20th Anniversary, and could not have been more pleased with our experience. Rick and Kathy recently became the new owners and they have taken tremendous care with refurbishing and adding their own homey yet elegant touch to the property. We stayed in a large room in the newer wing, so we enjoyed comfortable modern amenities, like the jacuzzi, glass shower, and gas fireplace, while feeling very much a part of the historic inn. Rick's creative gourmet breakfasts were a real treat, enjoyed at the picture windows looking out on the lovely property (deer visited one morning). The cozy bar is a great addition to the lovely old living rooms, where you can sip afternoon tea or an evening cocktail. The restaurant is not open for dinner (though may be at some future date), but Kathy and Rick made great recommendations for the many excellent restaurants in the Woodstock and Quechee areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonCouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Jackson Inn is absolutely lovely and offers a feeling of cozy, elegant comfort throughout the Inn. The library/living room is the perfect to space to read, lounge, sip tea or wine, and enjoy entertaining conversations with other guests = from just about anywhere in the world. After a day of exploring Woodstock and the surrounding areas, there was nothing like sinking into those gloriously lush beds. I must admit, I want that bedding in my home! The bar was an unexpected amenity! Picture sitting in front of the floor to ceiling stone fireplace sipping a glass of wine. Talk about relaxing! The grounds are gorgeous - plenty of space to walk, lounge and read, or sun near the pond. Rick serves a memorable breakfast. He loves to experiment - much to the delight of guests who enjoy every bite. Kathy and Rick know how to make their guests feel welcome, comfortable, and part of the Vermont experience. As a lover of New England, I will return to the Jackson House Inn many times. With ski areas nearby, I might just get back on my skis again. I know that Kathy and Rick will make sure that I am cozy and comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnewengland78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The Jackson House Inn embodies every bit of the Vermont spirit we were looking for during our vacation. The new owners, Kathy and Rick, make their love for the area apparent, and add an additional element of sophistication to the Inn. They really have transformed it into a must-stay destination. We planned our trip around the Dartmouth-Harvard football game, and found that the Jackson House Inn is an excellent location from which to access Hanover. We would recommend the Jackson House Inn to anyone visiting Dartmouth, as the location was convenient, the inn keepers warm and hospitable, and the Inn itself just exquisite. The Jackson House Inn was the perfect complement to our football and foliage get-away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballfan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This lovely old Inn recently taken over by Kathy and Rick is one of the most welcoming and relaxing places we have ever stayed. They have completely refubished the property since taking over with great results. The rooms and bathrooms are full of character with all modern expectations met, and the beds very comfortable and large!
Kathy and Rick really make you feel at home, as soon as we arrived we enjoyed a glass of wine sitting on the front porch in a rocking chair, real New England Style. We extended our stay here as we were so comfortable and their was so much to see and do within the area, and Woodstock is lovely. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My colleagues and I rented out the entire inn for a private event for three days. Everything was simply wonderful. Each of the rooms had its own charm, and the mattresses, linens, and pillows are splendidly luxe. Breakfast each morning was absolutely fantastic, and the bar is as well stocked as my own at home. The best part of the stay was Rick and Kathy's hospitality--we felt instantly at home at the inn, and they spoiled us with quiet attention for our entire event.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecureforeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed here the first weekend it was open to the public under new owners, Kathy and Rick. They had clearly been working for several months to get the property in a condition they could be proud of. Everything looked just right on our arrival and the rooms were comfortable, clean and well styled - in spite of all this, Rick and Kathy seemed almost apologetic that more hadn't been done. As I've run and owned hotels in the past, I could understand the feeling, but it wasn't justified as everything was exactly as it should be and in good condition.

Our group had access to the entire property and held several meetings in the restaurant while Rick quietly refreshed coffee for us and plied us with fresh desserts (unprompted I might add).

Rick and Kathy are genuine in their approach and run the property with passion for service.

I would also add that in addition to the excellent, fresh, local food (something that I expected given the location) they have an impressive bar and wine cellar (something relatively unexpected).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My wife and I were traveling through Vermont with friends on our way to Canada. We decided to stay at the Jackson House Inn. We were so pleased that we made that decision. The Inn Keepers Kathy and Rick could not have been more accommodating. The restaurant at the Inn is closed but Rick and Kathy made excellent suggestions on where to eat and even made the reservations for us. One of the reason for our trip had been that I was celebrating a special birthday. On one afternoon when we came back from sightseeing there was a note on our door from Kathy and Rick to come to the bar room for some champagne. I was surprised at the thoughtfulness of this gesture.The rooms at the Jackson House are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Todd Lincoln Room. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed two nights and were greeted each morning with an outstanding breakfast which is made by Rick using locally grown products. My wife and I have discussed another trip to Vermont and we would no doubt return to the Jackson House Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tolls91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
447 reviews
5.3 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
3.5 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
3.5 km away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
536 reviews
2.1 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $263 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing