We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The reception was very welcoming and friendly and I was upgraded to a suite. The suite was spacious, impeccable, very clean, modern, and well prepared. Floor is covered with thick carpet and is the one thing in the room that may be improved with wooden floor which is cleaner and healthier. Hotel personnel is very helpful and nice. Breakfast and lunches are of good quality and reasonably priced for the hotel category. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alexos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Alexos,
We are very happy that you enjoyed the spacious and modern decor of our rooms and look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for our 20th wedding anniversary and it was perfect, the entire hotel is gorgeous and the staff was genuine. I was also able to take a bubble bath and watch cartoons at the same time . I highly recommend the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank erinmR1040AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear erinmR1040AN,
Thank you for allowing us to share your special occasion! We are always so thrilled to hear such feedback and we look forward to welcoming again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Maybe on an absolutely scale, this is still a nice hotel. However, bearing the MO brand, this is the worst MO hotel I've stayed at.

Things started going wrong when we decided to go down to the bar to grab the drink on first day. Our waiter seemed to be in a rush and there weren't even that many people at the bar. He did not refill water glasses or snacks, and when our drinks were finished, it took me 10min to wave him down and he darted off before I could finish ordering bar snacks. This is also the case when we decided to eat dinner at the Cafe on the second night. We ordered appetizers and drinks, and right when I was about to move on to the entrees, he walked away. I had to tell him to WAIT so we can finish ordering. I mean this kind of service is terrible terrible even at a normal hotel/restaurant, not to mention at a Mandarin Oriental. In terms of food quality, it was also kind bad. PEI Mussel were not fresh, and there's not enough broth. Shout-out to the Red Snapper, it was completely unseasoned and severely overcooked.

The second morning, I decided to get in room service for breakfast. I ordered two continental breakfasts, both with coffee. When the food came, it was only one continental, and no coffee at all. When they brought back the corrected breakfast orders, one set was still missing fruits. At that point it was just laughable and I gave up.

It's a shame that this MO is such a mess. Let's hope it can improve in 2017?

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear L H,
Thank you for providing your feedback. It is of great concern to us when any of our valued guests are not provided with impeccable service. We regret that your experience was not aligned with the high standards we set for ourselves here at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta. Kindly reach out to us at your very earliest convenience and ask for the Executive Office. We look forward to fully addressing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My husband and I stayed here New Years Eve for a post baby moon. The team here could not have been more accommodating. I 500% recommend asking for Carlos when you book. To have him take care of ALL your details. He is the best!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank C1994GEjamesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear C1994GEjamesd,
We are delighted that Carlos contributed so greatly to your enjoying an amazing stay with us! Thank you for this colleague acknowledgment and please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

In a search for your enclave hotel in Atlanta, in proximity to all things Buckhead, the Mandarin is spot on. They strive to tick all the boxes for luxury and unexpected services. This is small scale hotel on the lower floors of a luxury residential building. Impressive arrival courtyard, with smooth valet services. Walk to several restaurants or the Mandarin Tesla service can be engaged in a radius of the hotel.

Tiny restaurant and bar are the limited lobby amenities. Mandarin Spa. We sensed a feeling of being a resident of a high rise building, vs a hotel guest - a trend in many cities. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request a high floor and bathroom with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear barbadiantraveler,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta! We want you to feel at home and look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful luxury hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The hotel COULD be extra special, but it just misses the mark. Lobby is decorated with modern art, and is quite nice, but it's a bit sterile. The bathroom was large and very tastefully done with cream and black tile. Bed comfy, room spacious. We had dinner in the bar and sat for 30 minutes with empty water and cocktail glasses. We just wanted to see how long it would be before anyone attended to us.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jujubean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear jujubean4,
We are pleased that you found the rooms spacious and comfortable, but apologize for any delay you may have experienced at the bar. Please know that our staff is committed to being conscientious and providing top notch service to our guests at all times. We will certainly look into your matter as we want to ensure that no guest is kept waiting unnecessarily. Allow me to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you and we hope you will come again so that your final impression will be an excellent one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

This was my first stay at a Mandarin Oriental hotel and I was very impressed. This hotel was very very luxury. I stayed in a regular Mandarin king bed room with my girlfriend for a full weekend and the room was very very large. Larger than any other simple king bedroom that any other 5 star hotel has. The bathroom was perfect, with the bath tub situated across from the shower it was a very nice bathroom. The only issue i would say is the breakfast was very costly even for room service breakfast. Our bill was nearly $110 without a tip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Caleb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear Caleb W,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be luxurious! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 174 in Atlanta
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
The St. Regis Atlanta
The St. Regis Atlanta
#9 of 174 in Atlanta
943 reviews
Buckhead
The Whitley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Atlanta Buckhead
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

Address: 3376 Peachtree Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $476 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an iconic building designed by celebrated American architect Robert A.M. Stern, Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta soars 42 stories above the Atlanta skyline and offers sophisticated, residential elegance in its 127 spacious rooms and suites. The intimate hotel features a blissful 15,000-square foot spa, indoor lap pool, fitness center, extensive meeting and event space, The Cafe & Bar for exquisite dining and Taipan, serving specialty cocktails. The sought-after Buckhead location is steps away from the region's top dining, chic designer boutiques and cultural attractions. The hotel is 35 minutes from Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and 10 minutes from the DeKalb-Peachtree Airport, which accommodates private aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing