We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i actually liked it”
Review of Zoo Atlanta

Zoo Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.04*
and up
Zoo Atlanta Admission
Ranked #17 of 289 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This extraordinary zoo, one of the oldest in the U.S., underwent a multi-million dollar renovation in the 1980s and is still expanding. Its landscaping replicates the natural habitats of the numerous animals, some of which are endangered species. Four panda bears from China delight the crowds, and groups of gorillas separated by moats do their own share of entertaining.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“i actually liked it”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The zoo was small has previous users have stated. I went on a cold day so ALOT of the animals werent available for viewing and ALL of the attractions were closed including the kids area. However I loved that the animals that we did see were up close. You could very clearly see the tigers playing together. It was fine sizewise for me but you definitely can't make a day of it. We even got to see an elephant paint a picture!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gina20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    973
    372
    85
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a zoo”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Zoo Atlanta is a lovely zoo that can be easily seen in a few hours. Located in the Grant Park (fun for picnics), the zoo's family membership deal is a real value (otherwise the cost for individual tickets seems a bit pricey to me). My family has been coming here since my children were babies and at 15 and 18 they still enjoy it! The bird show is one of their favorite shows. The zoo does a lot in terms of education and they offer fun progrms throughout the year (Halloween's Boo at the Zoo etc.). We usually do not eat there but prefer to picnic or go to nearby Six Feet Under overlooking historic Oakland Cemetary.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaEdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It had animals”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

It is an ok zoo. Nothing amazing. We only went because we had a citypass package ticket deal and it was a use or lose situation. I would equate it with the quality of zoo I saw in Nassau. The National Zoo in DC is far better and is free!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh yeah!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A wonderful place to visit with kids, family or couples.

Helpful?
Thank Dawgs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Small Zoo, Above Average Exhibits”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have enjoyed visiting Zoo Atlanta since I was a young boy, and it has played a large role in my upbringing. While Zoo Atlanta has certainly come a long way since it was named one of the "worst zoos in America" by Parade magazine in 1984, I would like to see it expand its boundaries and upgrade some of its exhibits. When the Ford African Rainforest opened in the late 1980s, it was a top-notch exhibit (basically what Congo Gorilla Forest at the Bronx Zoo is today). Now, it is beginning to look a bit rough around the edges. I would suggest the following:
1. renovation of the Willie B. Gorilla Conservation Center
2. more complete landscaping of the gorilla exhibit, with the same tropical-looking plants that are present along the walkways.
3. more climbing structures or no more hotwire on the trees in the exhibit, as it is unnecessary
Overall, most of the exhibits have adequate space, but the lack of space and enrichment in the new Bush Dog, Binturong, and Fossa exhibits worries me.
In summary, Zoo Atlanta is a fabulous institution that strives to educate visitors about the conservation of many endangered species, and with its orangutan, gorilla, and giant panda exhibits, it is sure to attract many visitors in the coming decades.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Callen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoo Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing