We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of Zoo Atlanta

Zoo Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.68*
and up
Atlanta CityPASS
Ranked #31 of 246 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Viewed as one of the finest zoological institutions in the U.S. and a proud accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), Zoo Atlanta has a mission to inspire value and preservation of wildlife through a unique mix of education and outdoor family experiences. From well-known native wildlife to critically endangered species on the brink of extinction, the Zoo offers memorable close encounters with more than 1,000 animals from around the world. Zoo highlights include giant pandas, including Ya Lun and Xi Lun, a set of twins born to Lun Lun on September 3, 2016; one of North America’s largest zoological populations of great apes; and a global center of excellence for the care and study of reptiles and amphibians. Scaly Slimy Spectacular: The Amphibian and Reptile Experience, featuring more than 70 species in a 111,000 square-foot complex, is the world’s first LEED Gold-certified reptile and amphibian exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Great zoo but many animals were not on exhibit. Not sure it was worth the money as a visitor. Kids enjoyed running around and there seemed to be things that piqued their interest.

Thank Cherrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear the kids enjoyed their stay. The construction of the Grand New View is in full swing but only four species are currently not visible to the public. Giraffe, zebra, ostrich and warthog will be on view in 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"reptile house"
in 136 reviews
"panda exhibit"
in 117 reviews
"giant pandas"
in 85 reviews
"train ride"
in 82 reviews
"red panda"
in 42 reviews
"animal exhibits"
in 38 reviews
"grant park"
in 62 reviews
"splash pad"
in 43 reviews
"on display"
in 45 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 35 reviews
"giraffes"
in 278 reviews
"carousel"
in 135 reviews
"enclosures"
in 138 reviews
"tiger"
in 158 reviews
"amphibians"
in 47 reviews
"playground"
in 126 reviews
"viewing"
in 100 reviews
Filter

204 - 208 of 3,256 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We have a zoo in our hometown and I was inclined at first to skip this one while on vacation, but I’m glad we visited. It is a very manageable size to do in a morning with some great, unique animals (pandas, gorillas, naked mole rats!) Be prepared for lots of congestion, the layout of the paths had lots of tight corners and squeezes- especially with a stroller.

Thank gcbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thank you so much for including Zoo Atlanta in your vacation plans. We are glad that you found the visit worthwhile. You should know that you happened to come during spring break, and that could be why there was congestion. Please do put us on your redo list next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We visited the zoo earlier today and loved it. It was a bit chilly and we were worried that most of the animals would not be out. Surprisingly most of them were out and fairly active. My favorite was by far the gorilla exhibit. My daughter loved the elephant barn and my son and husband were fond of the reptile and amphibians. It is laid out well enough to keep the crowds thinned at each exhibit so the littles can see.

Thank Momof2inAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thank you so much for visiting Zoo Atlanta and leaving a review. We are so glad that the little ones were able to get a good view of our exhibits. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our family loves zoos. So whenever a place we visit has a zoo, we are there. This zoo was very fun. The food service could be better, I guess I can't complain because you're not there for the food. Anyway, good exhibits and they had giant pandas. My daughter could look at them all day. Good outing for the family.

Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Hi Judi - we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the zoo. We are transitioning to a new food service provider, and there may be a hiccup along the way. We hope the next time you visit you will stop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

So yes we went during spring break week on a Tuesday at noon. Bought tickets in advance and headed out. What a disaster! Apparently everyone had the same idea, so parking lot was full we parked a block away, no big deal But we had a toddler and a 5 day old baby, on approach to the gate we expected to get in right away only to find the fast line was 2 blocks long. Zoo officials assured us this still was a faster lane than the people buying tickets but as we approached it didnt look that way. The amazing thing was they could have staffed 2 or more speedy lanes if they want but only had enough staff for one lane. Of course inside the zoo was literally a zoo of strollers crammed at every turn, So for relief we took our child to go to the carousel , or the train, only to find another unprepared area as the line was a block long and only one person manning the booth, makes no sense, so we just bought a ticket for the carousel and forgot about the train or anything else. The entire staff was overwhelmed by the crowd and only a few simple things could have made it better but it seemed like everyone was wandering around not knowing how or what to do. It just made the entire visit very unpleasant. We were from Michigan but son and daughter in law live in Atlanta. I would wait to go during a slow time or call the staff before going and ask about the crowds. Who ever is running the show at this zoo clearly is a rookie at management as again going around you could have come up with so many little ways to make things better. They can start with hiring more staff and giving them the authority to make decisions when things get crazy like they did today. They could have had tables by the ride tickets and just taken cash and handed out tickets by ea ride this alone would have made things so much better.

1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Zoo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing