We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing dinner watching the planes land”

Downwind Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #548 of 4,310 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Greek
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Enjoying firecracker shrimp and their Greek spaghetti and Laurens having the salad and grille salmon.Food is always good,fresh and tasty.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 48ricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Where else can you eat and drink right by the airport runway at a regional airport?

Service, food and ambience are good
Full bar.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank nmb626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018

The Downwind Restaurant is located at the DeKalb Peachtree Airport - 2nd busiest
in the southeast. Great ambience - you can eat outside, on a covered deck or inside.
The staff is very friendly - you have a great view of the runways. This is a busy airport.
I had eaten here previously. They have been around for over 25 years. They open at
11 am for lunch, then change to dinner specials at 4:30 pm. This is an experience !!!
The food is outstanding - nothing typical about this. The ownership is involved here on a daily basis. Friday night they offer live music, they also have a game night.
I had a unsweet tea, as an appetizer I ordered the fried pickles, for my entrée I had
the burger with swiss cheese on it with cole slaw. The pickles were just right with a
dipping sauce, the burger was great - cooked just right, thick and juicy, they are also
known for the fresh seafood entrees. Whether a local or a patron of the airport - this is the place to have a great meal at an reasonable price. The airport also offer a play ground for children to use. I have taken clients here many times - it is a big hit - keep up the great work !!! Hopefully they will be around another 25 years.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Downwind is a special place. It serves those who work at PDK airport and lots of locals as well. I think Friday night is live music night but there might be more. The food is varied in terms of cuisine. The salads are good; the sandwiches excellent. I haven't tried "entrees" per se but imagine they are good. The seating options are the best feature. You can sit inside (which is where the music and bar are and which is quite large), on a covered deck/patio area, or in an open deck/patio section. The last two sections allow wonderful views of the runways. Evenings are the best as the runway lights come up as the sun goes down. I'm a fan.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JOEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Always a great place to take the kids.

One of the best burgers in town.

Great little playground for the kids to play. Food is always good with good service.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank bolufsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Downwind Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing