We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value for money but leaves much to desire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #151 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Room was spacious and clean and the outside garden and lawn was well maintained and pretty. However, the hotel is very noisy and public spaces need up keep and cleaning. The corridor carpets were dirty and looked unclean. Wi-fi didnt work well inside the room on the second floor. Breakfast was adequate and the live waffle station was a good addition.

Room Tip: If you want hotel wi-fi for free then choose a roon on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shishirkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

At a pinch. I choose this hotel for proximity to the Georgia Dome. First impression was very good, but redecorating the reception area doesn't disguise the quality of the rooms. I wish to point out that service here is excellent. The room I had was rundown, carpets were fraid and the bathroom was dirty on all edges and architraves. Typical fast room cleaning. Toiletries are good. TV was tiny, in 2016? Good fridge and micro in room. Noisy air-conditioning, hotels should say if it's in room or central. Elevator was noisy, even from my room. Breakfast better than average continental. Coffee was terribly weak, but then it's weak almost everywhere in the US, no idea why. Would I stayed here again? No sure.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank RaezoR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

First. Our check in experience was awful. The person who booked our room had come in and filled out paperwork in advance to get us a room and ensure we could check in. We arrived in Atlanta at about 11pm. Randey and Chris checked us in. there were issues with the check in and we Chris and Randey were audibly speaking negatively about the person who was trying to clear up the issues. The person was clearly frustrated because our credit card information was misplaced by employees.

Beyond the lobby, the hotel looks like a different building. This hotel is absolutely disgusting. It is scary and had us looking around our shoulders at every turn. The elevators are dirty, the carpets are stained beyond belief, the showers and bathrooms have mold and insects, and the rooms and floors all smell like marijuana. We had to switch rooms because our first room was essentially a sauna. It felt like it was 90 degrees even having the air conditioning on "High Cold" coming into the room. We checked under the beds in our first room and saw trash underneath the beds. Our second room was something out of a horror movie. The carpets had unidentifiable stains and it was dark and very obviously not cleaned.
We felt so uncomfortable with both of the rooms that we were forced to share beds with two other guests that we were traveling with, in their room. We brought blankets from home in order to not have to sleep on the sheets/comforters provided just in case the reviews we saw were as bad as they seemed!
(SPOILER ALERT: They are, stay as far away as you possibly can. Sleep in your car, anything but this place)
The overall feel of the hotel was dirty and dark. You couldn't pay me any amount of money to stay here again. Don't let the "decent" lobby fool you. STAY AWAY!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This hotel is terrible.
It was such a disappointment, the outside looks great until you get to the hallway.
The elevator was dingy and the bathrooms were tiny.
The hotel looked like an upgraded Motel 6.
It should be a motel and no a hotel.
Homeless folks asking for change as soon as you walk out, it was terrible.
I would not wish this hotel on anyone.
Runnnnnnn, do not stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kadijah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I was moving cross country so I decided to get a cheap hotel in Atlanta since I would be arriving late at night. This place was a disaster. The room smelled bad, the fire alarm was dangling from the ceiling, there was hair in the shower, gum stains in the carpet, outlets by the bed were painted over so couldn't even charge anything, and when I pulled up the sheets three spiders ran across the bed. The location is also pretty rough, homeless people were walking through the parking lot late at night, didn't feel safe with all my stuff still in the car.

I moved rooms and the 2nd one wasn't too bad although the shower once again had quite a bit of hair in it. Save yourself and spend a little extra to get a real hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank woodstockcubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Room was ok. Wifi was not. Front desk clerk, Ebony, was very helpful in making sure we got the best room for our family. Nice to have the included breakfast. Also great location if you planning to go sightseeing downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vernon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This hotel accomplished what i wanted it do, that is to provide accomodation at night...apart from that ..the outside looks very nice, the lobby and public areas as well but this belies the truth once you get on that elevator...everything is dated 1995 decor, dark old carpets with a smokey scent and the walls are somewhat thin, so you can hear and can be heard. The gym consists of a treadmill and one other machine and the wifi works best in the lobby, if youre in a far away room ..no wifi. There was coffee and tea; iron and iron board functioning tv with lots of channels, a fridge and microwave, bathroom amenities etc in the room. its central location in atlanta was perfect..there was free parking, attentive and helpful staff from the cleaners to the front staff (southern hospitality was omnipresent). The continental breakfast while not to my liking was adequate. There was cinammon buns, waffles, yoghurts, cereals and toast but get there early to get something, or do like me grab a coffee and a cinammon bun and get some ihop or something. I would try something different next time in Atlanta but if youre on a budget and not very nitpicky ... Castleberry will suffice.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kievrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Inn at the Peachtrees
#99 of 174 in Atlanta
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 186 Northside Dr SW, Atlanta, GA 30313-1327 (Formerly Castleberry Inn & Suites - GA Dome)
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $144 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleberry Inn & Suites - Ga Dome Hotel Atlanta
Castleberry Inn And Suites - Ga Dome
Castleberry Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing