We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location, great breakfast, BAD beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #39 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for a combination of business and leisure - location is wonderful and makes it very easy to walk to quite a few attractions. We could even see into the Aquarium's Tropical Fish exhibit from our room window! The rooms were nice, clean and the property is upscale. My kids loved having both an indoor and outdoor pool to use and we were all big fans of the cooked to order breakfast. However, the beds are AWFUL!! My past experiences with Hilton property beds have always been wonderful so I can't imagine why they switched to these "adjusting firmness" mattresses. At the softest/least firm setting, I felt like I was sleeping on my dining room table (I can't imagine what the "firm" setting must be like)! My only other complaint was that I could hear the TV from my next door neighbors fairly easily and I think that whoever stays in the penthouse takes flute lessons as I was awakened several times by energetic flute music coming through the heating/AC vent (we were on the 12th floor just below them), this was obviously less than stellar. Overall, it's a good property and a decent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great location (across the street from the aquarium) with very good customer service. "Typical" HGI benefits (frig in the room, free cooked-to-order bfast for gold HH members) were all done well and staff were very pleasant and attentive. The hotel has its own restaurant but is also connected to Legal Sea Food which is very convenient. I MUCH prefer this place over the Omni Center, although it is not inexpensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Finishing up a great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Atlanta, conveniently located close to the Georgia Aquarium, Centennial Olympic Park, Georgia Dome, World Congress Center... The hotel is very clean - like new - the rooms are comfortable and spacious - great city views from huge windows! I was greeted warmly and the front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. Also impressive was the hot breakfast buffet, complimentary with my stay (not sure it always is - maybe because I'm a Hilton Honors frequent traveler). Two pools - indoor and outdoor - good fitness center - just a great property. Self-parking fee of $20 was a little steep ($26 for valet), but this is Atlanta after all, and the Embassy Suites (a block away) charges $28 for valet parking, so it's comparable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The bed adjuster did not work and I let the front desk know but nothing was done. We had an excellent view and a jacuzzi in the room but the room was extremely small. Valet sucked awful! The tint on my driver's side window was ruined and they kept pushing buttons in the car some of which changed my transmission drive from automatic to manual. I will do whatever it takes to never stay there again, if I can help it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent New Years Eve here and had a great time. The room was clean and the service was good. We picked this location so we could walk to the Georgia Dome for the football game and then after the game walked down for the Peach Drop. Great location and great value for the

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was a great hotel. It is right in the mix of everything downtown. The check in was effortless, rooms very clean and spacious. The price was affordable and that says a lot when you are in a large urban city. This will be our hotel of choice when we are in the area!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALAWS1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeilaCampisi, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear ALAWS1527:

First of all, Happy Anniversary! I am so glad to hear that you chose to spend your special occasion with us. We pride ourself on delivering stellar service and exceptional value. Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is clean and spacious, the rooms are light and airy and the service is good. The pool, although above a busy street seemed perfectly secluded and a total sun-trap.

It really is central, with the aquarium, the Coca-cola factory and lots of shops close at hand.

The little shop in the foyer is great, we didn't eat in the restaurants as the food was not to our taste - however we did have an excelent breakfast in the hotel restaurant.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Handy to have parking in the same building.

I would definately recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better, unless you want to use the pool - then ask for a room on that floor as as bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeilaCampisi, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Fiona N.

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you come for a visit you should definitely take advantage of some of the amazing cuisine that can be found in our neighborhood, the Luckie Marietta District.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#45 of 172 in Atlanta
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Address: 275 Baker St NW, Atlanta, GA 30313-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $164 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior design with stunning aquatic murals in the hotel's guest room corridors. Enjoy our many services and features such as complimentary weekday USA Today, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, Pavilion Pantry sundry and convenience mart, complimentary business center, in-room dining, valet service, ADA accommodations, safety deposit boxes, in-room safes, self and valet parking.Heated indoor and outdoor pool, game room, laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing