We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech
Ranked #103 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel three times in the past. this visit we were charged $10 per night to park in an unprotected lot on premises.
The rooms were not clean, they were made up but far from clean.
We had problem with the toilet and it took two calls to get it corrected.
The small cafe downstairs is ran by two people with absolutely no idea of operating it and are just down and out rude.
They do not leave but two coffees in the room, but only one cup and when you go downstairs they do not keep coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

THis hotel is completely remodeled and a great stay in Atlanta. I was upgraded to a suite and the room was awesome - even had a balcony. If you can, request to not be in a room with a wall that shares the elevator lobby on each floor - I would imagine those rooms are rather noisy from all the traffic. IF you order dinner at the bar downstairs the wings are surprisingly good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This courtyard has a nice lobby area with a new "touchboard" and the bistro meal arrangement, which means food items available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The downside to the bistro is the menu is very limited and rather spendy considering what you get. The internet in the room was fast and the large HDTV was good. There is a shuttle available on-demand to take guests to local places, but not the airport. If you drive here, self-parking is $15 per night. One annoyance is the A/C unit only works when the thermostat detects motion in the room. Which means at night while you sleep, the A/C shuts off and the room warms up. On one day during my stay housekeeping took the used towels I had left on the floor of the bathroom and actually hung & folded them back onto the towel rack, wrinkled and all!! Apart fro this disturbing shortcut in cleaning, I had no problems at this property.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

On Sep 20 - reached the facility via car late evening. First observation -- you will need to pay for the parking -- $15 per night. Lobby seems pleasant. As you enter, there is breakfast and lounge area on the right. Business center desks straight ahead and the front desks on the left. After settling in the room, I had to request their maintenance staff multiple times to come to the room – to figure out why TV does not work. Literally it would not turn on. About 30 mins after the initial request, the staff came and checked and determined that the power cord had some issue and fixed it. As I needed to get up early next day, put a request in-person to the front desk person for wake-up call at 6:00 AM. Next morning, I never got the call and due to it, I woke up one late. It messed up the entire day schedule.

The housing keeping staff – must not do proper job as there were hairs from prior guest(s) on the pillow. It was very unpleasant. It makes you wonder whether they changed pillowcases fully or what. The room had two double beds and it is possible that the prior guest may have used one bed and on that basis, the housekeeping staff may not have changed the linens and pillowcases on both.

There is free wi-fi in the room. Unfortunately the Internet bandwidth pipe must be very small as it is useless to use it during the evening and night hours.

I paid close to $156 + tax per night. Had stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_pate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Upon arriving at the hotel, I was promptly greeted at the front desk. I was able to check in a little bit early without requesting an early check-in. The receptionist was extremely friendly, giving information about the hotel and times when the cafe was open. The lobby was clean and inviting. I went to my room and it was also very clean, the decor was classy. My room overlooked the pool, which wasn't too bad.

The biggest downside would probably be the cost of parking, but I didn't have a car, so it didn't bother me at all. It is a great location for access to Georgia Tech, which was the purpose of my visit. Another downside would be that I requested a king size bed and got 2 queens instead. This was fine for me though, I'm pretty not-picky on beds, as long as I have at least 1 to sleep on :)

The breakfast was good and reasonably priced. I'd prefer a free breakfast, but $7 for a breakfast sandwich, fresh fruit, and a bottle of OJ was good for me. The food was fresh and the staff working the cafe were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a nice, pleaant better than average motel near Georgia Tech. Friend, helpful staff, especially van driver who took us to a restaurant we requested, several miles away, and to the Georgia Tech conference Center where several of us had a conference.

Only drawback was the breakfast. It was not free, but that was not the worst part. The people staffing the breakfast bar were very slow. I'm not sure what the problem was but we were in somewhat of a hurry. There were only 3 people waiting to buy food but it took almost 15 minutes.

Overall evaluation is very positive. Friendly, helpful people and the van driver is available to all guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Special thanks to Tim and all the staff there for being ever so helpful.
Great breakfasts until 9.30am. The free shuttle in the 2.5kms radius was a great bonus!!
We will be back and soon!!!
The one issue we did face was due to the planned change of locks on doors on our floor, which did pose a small problem of going back and forth for a fresh set of keys on the last eve, but all else was just fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown/Peachtree at 17th
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech

Address: 1132 Techwood Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30318-7814
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $176 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a comfortable and convenient stay at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech. Boasting an unbeatable location in Midtown Atlanta, our hotel makes it easy for future and former students to explore Georgia Institute of Technology, while business travelers have access to several corporate offices including The Coca-Cola Company. After a busy day of work or play, find relaxation in our spacious rooms, where you can unwind atop our cozy beds dressed with crisp linens and custom comforters. Fuel up for the day ahead with breakfast sandwiches and Starbucks® coffee at The Bistro, our on-site restaurant also serving dinner entrées and evening cocktails. No matter where you are on our hotel's property, you'll always stay connected through our complimentary Wi-Fi. Stop by our 24-hour fitness center to keep active and healthy during your stay. Whatever brings you to town, step up your stay at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott
Atlanta Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing