We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David P

Abysmal customer care

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 27, 2024
I had booked many months in advance for a business trip. Upon arrival at 11pm local time after a transatlantic flight I was told that they had overbooked the hotel and that there was no room for me or for my colleague. The receptionist acted like we should be extremely grateful that they had found us another hotel rather than leaving us to spend the night on the streets. She ordered us a taxi after we asked her to do so (why didn’t she volunteer to do so in the first place?) which never arrived. So we ended up having to order an Uber. At midnight we arrived at our replacement hotel that was nowhere near as convenient. If that’s the level of service I should expect then I’m never staying at an IHG hotel again.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Hawthorne, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Jun 3, 2024
Hi there, davidpD4152CA!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We deeply regret the circumstances that caused you to relocate to another property. This is an extremely rare situation that was unavoidable in this. Please do not allow this outlier to completely sour your view of IHG as this was wholly isolated to our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
C$202
  • Curio
  • Booking.com
    C$203
  • Expedia.com
    C$202
0.4 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Crown Suite Bedroom
C$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$195
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$146
  • Expedia.com
    C$195
0.1 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$122
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$123
  • Algotels
    C$101
  • travelup.com
    C$168
0.4 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Aerial View
C$274
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$273
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$201
  • Hotels.com
    C$274
0.1 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
C$142
  • Tru
    C$142
  • Expedia.com
    C$142
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$142
17.3 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
C$264
C$252
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$252
  • Hotels.com
    C$252
  • travelup.com
    C$258
1.3 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$142
  • Expedia.com
    C$142
  • HIExpress.com
    C$131
  • Hotels.com
    C$142
0.3 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Lobby
C$185
  • Curio
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$152
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
3.0 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    C$209
  • Algotels
    C$185
  • Expedia.com
    C$209
0.7 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    C$175
  • Algotels
    C$173
  • Expedia.com
    C$175
0.4 km from Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Atlanta
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
327
100
30
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
327
100
30
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk americas mart within walking distance valet parking beautiful hotel marta train would definitely stay here again wonderful stay centennial park world of coca cola upon check cvs hooters aquarium uber concert stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 496 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2024

Beautiful eclectic hotel in the heart of Atlanta. Not much for scenic views. Be ready for the downtown big city experience. Hard rock restaurant right across the street. Don’t plan on parking your car yourself. Valet parking available only.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trvlanywhere2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Hawthorne, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2024

Thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2024

Hotel is nice, staff are friendly and helpful, valet made us come to them in the rain but not a 5 star so here we are, comfortable bed and nice roomy shower. Hotel bar/restaurant was great. Food was decent and the drinks were on point. Nikki was an amazing host and made us feel welcome after a long day of traveling.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Hawthorne, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us! We appreciate both positive and constructive comments to ensure we deliver the best possible experience to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2024

I am taking the time to send this review about Thomas Jenkins at the front desk of the Hotel Indigo in Atlanta Downtown. We have stayed many times & Thomas makes us feel like family as soon as we walk through the doors. He is so accomodating and goes above & beyond to make sure our stay is 5-star! Thomas Jenkins is a true asset to Hotel Indigo and can honestly say, when in Atlanta, we won't be staying anywhere else!

Room tip: Use the valet service.........Sterling & Shaquille are fabulous and really take care of your vehicle. They couldn't be nicer young men.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Hawthorne, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We agree that Thomas is outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2024

The staff at this hotel are the worst people I've seen in Atlanta so far. Outside on their property there are frequently people in need of medical attention and psychiatric attention dying laying down and the employee stationed outside doesnt call paramedics. They also allow very aggressive dangerous drug addicts to harass people on their property. I watched a man push a harmless fragile old man with a cane down could have killed him because he got too close to him , and the staff were right there didn't call police . The hotel itself is depressing and feels like an office or government building -the most unwarm place I've seen in Atlanta so far. The staff are cold with no emotional intelligence. The beds and blankets were of horrible quality and the food might as well be from the trailer park. I would never let my kids around the type of staff that work at this hotel from the top on down to the lower level employees. It is not a hotel appropriate for singles, for business travellers, for families , or any other category of people except pimps and hookers. Robert Cole does nothing but publicity stunts to fight the obvious and *treatable* poverty and drug abuse right outside the front window. No I'm not talking about downtown Atlanta as a whole I have more than a few places I like and return to...I'm talking about the staff and ownership.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 0Haus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 22, 2024 via mobile

We were locked out in the cold for 10 mins. It was very cold outside and we had to bang on a door to get let inside this hotel - ridiculous!!! Their excuse - the lobby would be full of homeless people if the doors were unlocked and they could not turn the revolving door on because it would make the lobby too cold. Wow!! We’ve stayed at the Westin next door and had a wonderful stay. For the extra $50-100 I’d stay at the Westin. Needless to say we won’t be back to this place…after standing in the cold we didn’t expect rude behavior from the valet and front desk staff. This is some unprofessional operation in my opinion.

Room tip: Stay at the Westin next door!!!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Hawthorne, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2024

Hello, Aaron M!

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are sorry to hear our security procedures caused you an inconvenience during your stay. We have reviewed your comments with our team as part of our regular process evaluations to reduce any unnecessary pain points. We take the safety of our guests very seriously.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews