We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and personal touch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and personal touch!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed two nights at Almunia Del Valle and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel has the most wonderful location and the views are stunning. However the road leading up to the hotel is very narrow and steep; but that's the price you pay for the secluded location.

We were welcomened by Maria and immediately felt right at home. She gave us a good tour of the common areas and explained everthing. All the personnel at the hotel were very helpful throughout our stay.

The rooms were PERFECT and so clean, and we slept like babies in the quiet surroundings...

The breakfast was also very delicious and the variety and selection very impressive.

The only downside to our stay was the dinner, which we had on our first night. It simply wasn't up to the standard of the hotel and did not match the price (35 EUR pr. person). It was mainly vegetarian (which is fine, if the vegetables are prepared correctly), but this was not the case at all, unfortunately.

Eitherwise, La Almunia del Valle would have been given 5 stars :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckenzie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    46
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
267
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

La Almunia del Valle is a great place to stay. The hotel is very scenic, on the mountainside with great views of the valley. It's 15 minutes from Granada and 30 minutes from the Sierra Nevada ski resort, so the location is perfect. The rooms are great and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinners in the restaurant are very good. Also other great restaurants nearby - we ate at Casa Fernando (get the Ajo Blanco Soup). In Granada, Puerta del Carmen has great food and is a very trendy place to hang out. I highly recommend it and we went back more than once. D'Oliva is also a lot of fun - Francisco serves great wine and cooks an amazing meal on his camp stove using simple ingredients, while explaining the story of each item. Definitely a place to go for food lovers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_J_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at La Almunia del Valle on a trip to Spain in November 2011. This hotel is nothing short of great. Our hostess was superb, and gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner in town.

We ate 2 breakfasts (both of which they made earlier for us due to itinerary issues) and one dinner. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. We do not speak Spanish and the chef/server at dinner did not speak English but she was exceptional! She made us an amazing dinner and we enjoyed every bite!

Our accommodations were really special as well. The room was huge compared to any other rooms we have had in Europe. And the amenities were top notch.

The location is beautiful. My only caution is that you use the directions provided with your reservation confirmation. if we hadn't we never would have found it!

In short, if you are going to Granada, stay here. The distance to La Alhambra and the city is not far and it is worth the easy drive!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed for two nights in this fantastic hotel. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast on the roof terrace was amazing. Patricia and Manuel (the owners) are extremely helpful.

There are some really nice walks from here along the river, and it's also really quick to drive into central Granada.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The most stunning view in all of Andalusia. Patricia and Manuel are perfect hosts. The hotel is decorated with much taste and charm.

Room Tip: Any room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed here end of October. Had read reviews prior to stay and agree with all the praise. We loved the quiet setting, our room was beautiful everything had been thought of. Private patio with comfortable chairs overlooking the valley with the sound of sheep bells around. Meals on botrh evenings were superb, Patricia and Carmen produced delicious food. All the staff were charming and helpful. Really hope to come back here and will recommend it to anyone going anywhere along S.coast of Spain, Granada or Sierra Nevada National Park.

Room Tip: All rooms good ones with small private patio areas best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeN.Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-niklaas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Very nice hotel. We stayed 3 nights in La Almunia del Valle during our trip through Andalusia. Warm welcome, very nice diners on terrace with a beautiful view, confortable room with terrace, nice garden with swimming pool and lots of fruit trees. Easy acces to Granada. To recommand to everyone !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
3.6 km away
Hotel Granada Palace
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
12.7 km away
El Lodge
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.5 km away
Santa Isabel la Real
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.2 km away
Huerta del Laurel
Huerta del Laurel
#4 of 9 in Monachil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
12.9 km away
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Property: La Almunia del Valle
Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing