We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Battle Road Trail
from US$56.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
67
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hartwell tavern visitor center great place to walk multimedia presentation information boards paul revere costumed guides revolutionary war the national park service historical markers american history pleasant walk capture site lexington green boston area across the street new england
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 89 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Easy parking along the route allows for several shorter walks along the trail. Placards along the way are very informative. My one suggestion would be that homes be clearly marked as to whether they can be entered or not. Several private residences were well marked, but a couple buildings were not and one in particular looked lived in as I stood on their porch!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

If your not up to date with your history I would tell you to go to the Lexington Vistor Center first. They put on a wonderful presentation on what happened in this area. There are lots of areas to park a car and walk around. The Olde Bridge area is also a great place to walk around.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank cathymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

Watch the 20-30 minute multi media presentation FIRST! It's really well done and will give you a much better appreciation of what you are walking along as you go. Great stops along the way to take in the history. The trail is several miles and worth the walk but if it's hit you can drive and there are parking lots at all the major sites.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank MarkK783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Go to National park visitor center to get a map of all the sights along the road. Be sure to go to Hartwell Tavern.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2017

Walking down this road, I felt like I could feel the tension and the echos of the battle fought in Concord. I was taken back to Howard Fast's APRIL MORNING novel, and I could picture where the lead character hid behind the rocks stacked along this route. It was a fascinating experience, and there are a lot of period houses along the way. Also, there are signs (some from the 1760s-1780s) telling how far you are from Boston. They also have contemporary signs explaining the historical significance of different areas along the trail.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Amber0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews