We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad to leave.”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Clara and Joan's Inn is a rare and special place which is much greater than the sum of its parts: The building is historic, comfortable and interesting. The furnishings and decor are appropriately period and eclectic without being self-concious. The shared areas are comfortable and inviting. The rooms are comfortable and restful. The food is marvelous. Most of all, the hosts are genuine, warm and welcoming. My wife and I were sad to have to leave and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slagathar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Clara and Joan have created a truly special experience at this small but perfectly formed hotel in delightful Begur, and are engaging and caring hosts. The sympathetic restoration of this historic building is a joy to reside in, and the personal touches ensure you feel right at home; from the warm welcome the moment you arrive, the intimate chill-out area with well-stocked honesty bar and the casual yet chic dining-area. It may well be somewhat noisier in the peak season, but it was peaceful and calming at this time of year - apart that is from the incessant tolling of the church bells, sometimes twice on each hour and every 15 minutes 24/7. Some will find this nostalgic but if you are a light (ish) sleeper then bring ear plugs if your room faces the main square. Breakfast was tasty and well-prepared, with very good coffee, but a little more variety day to day would have been welcome. We wuold definitely stay here again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The terraces are great, but do face the church so beware the bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Recently traveled with a friend where we booked two rooms (this was our first stay). Our overall experience was outstanding, from the time we walked in to the time we left. The hotel is very clean and well appointed, and the owners (Clara and Joan) make you feel as if you are visiting a home of a friendly relative. They arranged for several events which made our visit memorable. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner on both days and found the food and setting to be excellent. I plan on returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kohalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We thought the Aiguaclara hotel was fantastic and would definitely go there again. The bedroom was beautiful and the rest of the hotel, including our host, very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious too. Top marks! Sarah & Michael

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahb1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have been staying on and off at the Aiguaclara Hotel for quite a few years. Staying there is like returning home to find your good friends Clara and Joan waiting for you. A great place to recharge your batteries. Nothing is too much trouble , everything is more than excellant. we are looking forward to our return.

They are correct 'All You Need Is Love'

Peter and Julianne xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are special and individual. They are all lovely with everything you need for a fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is gorgeous! The rooms are really pretty and rustic, the decoration is charming and the public areas are really comfortable. There is not much that I can add that other reviewers have not already said. This hotel offers relaxation in a fantastic location as Begur is lovely. The hotel is well located, has nice bedrooms with lots of space and nice views of the town, public areas with DVD, music, honesty bars and beach towels etc, a great restaurant (book beforehand if you want to eat there in the evening) fantastic breakfast (the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten!) and lovely hosts.

We ate in the restaurant for 2 nights that we were there and the atmosphere and food on both evenings was great.

It's a shame that parking is extra (and not actually on site) but this caused us no problems as it's just a few minutes walk from the front door.

The only minor issue we had was that our room was next to the entrance hall. This meant that it was probably louder and had a less private feel than other rooms on other floors. I'd suggest that you should try booking another room if possible. However, this would not stop us returning to Aiguaclara Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Charming everything - all everyone has said. Begur is so different from other Costa Brava towns. So glad I found the Hotel on Tripadvisor, which encouraged me to check out the town too. Only caveat would be no soap bar (bottle of liquid, but a bit flowery for my husband...)' shampoo, conditioner, or body lotion provided, which I guess I incorrectly assumed would be there. We were just out from Barcelona for the night and did not bring any of these items and wished we had. Other than that, loved our room (Begur Jr Suite #9 - well worth upgrade), the walk up to the Castle, the town, everything! Had a great dinner at Can Nasi and lunch to die for at Sa Caleta. Duck salad with foie, nuts, truffle oil, wild berries, pomegranite seeds, ... and calamari...

Room Tip: Mr Suite well worth small upgrade price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torta_basilica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.8 km away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
604 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
715 reviews
18.0 km away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
841 reviews
0.2 km away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: $125 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing