We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value stop off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Barstow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Barstow
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value stop off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Ramada Inn in Barstow on our way to the Grand Canyon and Las Vegas. Excellent value for money, in good location and reasonably quiet. The train noise which we thought would be a concern stopped during the night. The car park is light and large, the breakfast basic but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaBarstow, General Manager at Ramada Barstow, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay wilth us and thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again soon. Thank You, June Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    173
    107
    71
    60
See reviews for
163
129
43
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is probably the best cost/quality ratio hotel in Barstow. It is in a busy area, a less than 5 minute walk to the best Del Taco in the world (read reviews if you don't believe me), a movie theater, and a bunch of restaurants. It also has a large well lit lot, nice staff, and it looks generally well maintained. The negatives here are this:

The hotel is showing its wear on the inside. I have a feeling it was really nice in the 1980's/early 90's. Then again that seems to be par the course for Ramada Inns. The tables/armoir are pretty banged up and the TV is an older tube model (late 90's). Good reception and picture just don't go expecting a plasma or LED model.

The bed is very comfortable and the pillows are nice and cushy yet still firm.

Tip, my girlfriend and I were in room 233 (standard king bed guest room). This room and one other on this floor are the only rooms (and this includes suites) in the hotel that come with a huge balcony with table, chairs, and lounger! Make sure to ask for this room.

This is the second time I have stayed here and will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the second floor rooms with a balcony. One of the rooms is #233.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PnSfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHILE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stay one nigth in this hotel , its good , clean rooms,the breakfast its good , but the train noise to pass every nigtn its not good.

Room Tip: "Rooms whit train noise in the naigth"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAULTAIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaBarstow, General Manager at Ramada Barstow, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, next time ask for the quiteside and you will not here the train noise. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, June Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Checked the higher rated places including #3 at this time which was motel style at the same price. Chose Ramada instead. Normally we stay at LQs so were curious. Decent price relative to Barstow options, surprised it has a guest BBQ (we would have brought steaks!), average expected free breakfast, nice room. TV out of date with no Direct TV (no guide), has HBO but other channels are limited. Avoid room #139 which is, apparently, a WiFi black hole. The night we checked in we had terrible connectivity, went to the desk, they called the provider who had trouble getting in themselves!!! They reset the 6 access points. Thanks Corey for doing this!!! Things improved slightly. Next morning desk clerk told us room 139 is problematic for internet. Other than the back-level TV and poor internet, this place was very nice. GREAT KING BED!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaBarstow, General Manager at Ramada Barstow, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
We are very happy that you deceided you give us a try, at the Ramada Inn in Barstow, CA. And are looking forward to seeing you again. It's getting to be BBQ weather, And it is only room 139 that has a bad internet connection. Thank You, June Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here whilst driving to SF from Albuquerque. Good stopover. Decent hotel with good continental breakast. There's a Sizzler restaurant next door and plenty of other eateries around and theres a great little bar in the hotel across the street thats worth a visit.( I Think it was in the Econolodge?) Had a good nights sleep.
There were quite a few down and outs in the carpark at night begging for change so be aware of this. Like anywhere else, just be careful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zigazag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaBarstow, General Manager at Ramada Barstow, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to make a review. We hope to see you again soon. June Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Good place to stay, it felt safe and secure there. And the price was better than the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaBarstow, General Manager at Ramada Barstow, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review for our hotel. The entire staff really appreciate it. Thank you again, June Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were greeted warmly by the clerk and all of the staff we came in contact with were very kind and friendly. We checked in early due to being on the road since very early that morning and the clerk was very accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable.
The lobby and entrance were a little worn, but still fairly clean. Wi-fi worked fine. We ate at the Sizzler restaurant next to the hotel and were satisfied with our meal. The price was good for what was offered on the buffet and we got a %10 discount with our room key. The advertising was a little misleading, because the steak and shrimp were not on the buffet, but I
am sure you could have ordered them seperately. The salad and soup were good and so were the fried taco shells/meat. There is a train track right next to the motel and although they didn't sound whistles/horns, they were still somewhat noisy. Over all, we were very satisfied with this hotel and would definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.4 km away
California Inn
California Inn
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
8.5 km away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Barstow

Property: Ramada Barstow
Address: 1511 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - Barstow Hotel Barstow
Barstow Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing