We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
381
406
150
54
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
406
150
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town comfortable rooms historic building inner courtyard castle walls swimming pool fantastic location good size plaza chica overlooking the square old palace reception staff nice pool overnight parking return again bit worn glass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

We stayed here with friends who particularly wanted to visit Zafra, but the hotel really is worth the trip. Our room was extremely comfortable within the original defensive tower, a truly unique location. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Sheilacabalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, Recepción at Parador de Zafra, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Dear madam,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay at the Parador de Zafra.
One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer quality, personalised guest services.
Receiving positive feedback such as yours gives us great satisfaction and I kindly ask for your permission to share it with all our team.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels and restaurants. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any other information.
We will be delighted to see you again soon!
Yours sincerely,
Isabel Prada. Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018

We stayed in this hotel on the first night of a five-night Parador package -115 euros per night including breakfast for two. It is excellent value. This hotel, a 15th century castle in the centre of town, is the best of Zafra... the town itself, even the old part, is nothing spectacular but the Parador hotel is exceptional. Our room, more a suite, was on the second floor overlooking the magnificent courtyard. The furniture and fittings are of another era and totally in keeping with the age and style of the hotel. It is simply magnificent. Our breakfast was plentiful and our scrambled eggs cooked to order were absolutely delicious. There is an old world, 15th century, touch about the hotel but of course it has all modern amenities. A great night, just a pity there isn't more to the town itself.

Room Tip: Our room was 304 and I can strongly recommend it.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, Reception at Parador de Zafra, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

Dear Sirs,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your time in giving us your opinion about your stay at the Parador de Zafra. One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer a quality service and personalized attention to our customers. Receive positive comments like yours is a great satisfaction for us, so, if you allow it, I will extend it to all our team. We hope to receive you again in any of our hotels and restaurants and do not hesitate to contact us for any other information you may need. We will be happy to see you again soon!
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

This is a classic castle-to-hotel conversion by the Spanish Paradores group. In this case, it's somewhat claustrophobic as most of its windows are original (small), reducing the amount of natural light. OK, castles were like that, but in this case a magnificent central courtyard has been covered over by a huge tarpaulin, presumably to handle storm water. It doesn't do the hotel's ambience any favours.
Nevertheless, our room was as huge as a castle suite should be. It had two large balconies. The ceiling seemed impossibly far away. Stairs featured large landings and reading chairs with plenty of original tiles, wood and framed pictures.
Unfortunately both Breakfast and Dinner were disappointingly dull. The menu was predictable and prepared and served without flair. The staff treated us well...but without the friendly energy we've become used to in Spain.
Yes, it's worth a visit - but not a long one. In our view, the experience was poor value for money and not up to normal Paradore standards.

Room Tip: Avoid the tower room, number 303. It's very gloomy due to its one small window.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1511pandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, Reception at Parador de Zafra, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Dear Sirs,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay at the Parador de Zafra.
It is important for us to learn from your experience so we can improve the quality of our services for guests.
On behalf of the team at the Parador as well as on my own behalf, I would like to apologise for the disruption that you experienced during your stay and we deeply regret the inconvenience that this caused you.
The management team have taken note of your comments and, as a result, we are planning to implement new measures that will allow us to offer you a better experience with Paradores.
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to inform us of the events that occurred during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any other information.
Yours sincererly,
Isabel Prada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Well located in the old section of this pleasant city.
Parking facilities right in front of the hotel.

If nice, it is however not the best of the Paradores we visited in Extremadura, as compared to Cáceres, Mérida and Trujillo or Carmona in Andalucia. Looks as if it did not get much investment (old furniture).

If we are not wrong, no international TV-Chanels.

At diner, although there were only a few guests on this evening at mid-March, we were slightly disappointed to see that our meat was lukewarm. The friendly waitress rightly said rwe should have sent it back to the kitchen... We would suggest that the plates should be heated to avoid such problems.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coufran6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, Recepción at Parador de Zafra, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018


Dear Sir,
It is important for us to learn from your experience so we can improve the quality of our services for guests.
On behalf of the team at the Parador as well as on my own behalf, I would like to apologise for the disruption that you experienced during your stay and we deeply regret the inconvenience that this caused you.
The management team have taken note of your comments and, as a result, we are planning to implement new measures that will allow us to offer you a better experience with Paradores.
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to inform us of the events that occurred during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any other information.
Yours sincerely,
Isabel Prada. Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Parador La Zafra was previously the residence of the Dukes of Feria (ie one of Spain’s great families) and the outside of this castle with its nine battlement towers accurately reflects its importance during the fighting period in which it was built.
Although it has an outside ‘seasonal swimming pool’ (but form our point of view it was far too cold to try!) one can still enjoy the surrounding gardens inside this palace/castle, which, similar to other Paradors, Zafra has some extremely comfortable rooms that (because of the extensive use of oaken paneling and heavy doors and window shutters) are not only quiet, but also dark at night - which is very useful for light sleepers!
The rooms are very comfortable, cater for all needs. Again, similar to other Paradors, the food is excellent and always provides a wide selection of local dishes prepared in traditional manner.
In addition to being able to enjoy a quiet relaxing time (in the garden, in your room or seated on comfortable chairs in the courtyard) when visiting this castle you MUST take advantage of their offer to go up to the top of the castle and walk around the battlements which provide a panoramic view of the City as well as being a photographers dream at sunset or sunrise.
This Parador is definitely not one to be missed and is a favourite of ours.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stingray44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, Front Office Manager at Parador de Zafra, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thanks so much for sharing your stay in our Parador.
Receiving positive feedback such as yours gives us great satisfaction and I kindly ask for your permission to share it with all our team.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels and restaurants.
We will be delighted to see you again soon!
Yours sincerely,
Virginia Cámara, Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews