We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveller rating
257
376
314
140
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
376
314
140
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papa luna animation sunbeds sea castle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Staff and room were good. 4 star (just about) Pool area looked a bit small for the amount of rooms, but I am no expert. Food was poor, some guests had to queue, to breakfast and half board. We skipped one half board and took the €13 each way taxi ride into the nice town centre, found a good restaurant on TA. All in all, probably if we go there again, we will pick a hotel nearer the castle.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We came from Barcelona which was very busy to this quaint, beautiful spot. The front desk lady M Rodriguez was amazing. We had a fabulous room with a view. Awesome breakfast buffet. Town was quiet this time of year with lots of places closed but the beach is pristine and beautiful and we loved it

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane3722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Spend here 4 nights and had a beautiful refurbished room with seaview. Staff is very friendly. Extensive breakfast with daily another egg preparation. Had once the Paella Valencia (with snails) on the buffet for lunch- really delicious. Good selection of wines- low priced. Majority of spanish guests ( which might be a bit loud in the restaurant) So, try to avoid spanish diner hours after 21h and you'll be fine.And yes, animation is loud...but hey, you're on holiday.Plenty of parking spaces( in & outside) well kept and clean beach right in front( sunbeds at only 4€ a day).

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Evy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Evy, me alegra comprobar que disfrutaron de su estancia. Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

We booked a room here for one night.

We arrived around 18.30. After check in we walked to the beach, then headed back for a dip in the pool, only to be told that the pool closes at 20h.

We paid extra for a room with sea view. Until midnight you will enjoy the loud entertainment going on around the pool area below. I guess the rooms without a sea view are a lot quieter.

We included half board in the booking. The food was below standards and expect to pay extra for drinks, even for plain water.

Parking is available in the garage for around 15 euro per night.

The rooms and especially the bathrooms are dated, but comfortable. There was good wifi.

The location is good. Right at the beachfront.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

To be Objective:
The location of the hotel is very good as it is sea front, so for those who wants to enjoy the beach it's really very comfort. As well there is a perfect sea front avenue for walk. The walking distance till the historic center of Peñiscola is about 5 km - a little far if you're not a tough walker and almost not possible to walk with kids, especially both ways. However, there is a public transportation and the hotel offers a touristic train excursion with 7€ per adult and 4,50 per child. If you are arriving by a car so hotel has paid parking -12,50€ a day, or you can park free in the "fields".
We got rom on the 6th floor, really spacious, with a big terrace, big bathroom, partly sea view. Room is really good, comfort beds, bath with jacuzzi functions.
The restaurant is ok, staff is working fast, food is not repetitive, not too many choices but you always find what to eat. Kitchen job is perfect, waiting staff also ok. Once we didn't get the table as the waitress moved us away from table for six, however there was not table for 4 available. Ridiculous...
Reception staff as well very helpful, perfect kids club, their work is organized very well, kids are enjoying time in there. As well very positive moment - long mini club working hours. Mini disco also good.
The worst thing - animation. Honestly, during 6 nights stay we didn't see them. Just once, when a girl from animation team collected people on the beach to play football and disappeared by herself. By program of animation that hotel is providing - there are just weird things and almost all outside the hotel.
The animation team puts the category of the hotel down.
Honestly, for the price this hotel is very good. We enjoyed our stay. We are ready to repeat it next Semana Santa.

P.S.
Peñiscola itself is very beautiful village. Be aware of the wind it appears in there in the afternoon.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ocatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017
Google Translation

Me alegra leer, que disfrutaron muchísimo de su estancia en el hotel.
Tal y como indica, nos vemos en Semana Santa, el año que viene. Un fuerte abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews