We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Port Denia meets Butlins” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Denia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Denia
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Denia
Benfleet,Essex.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Port Denia meets Butlins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I take my 86 year old mother in law on a weeks holiday every year but as we had a very poor break in April 2011 in the Hotel Mangalan with Saga we thought that a second trip was in order.
We decided to take another Saga holiday in December 2011 and return to the Port Denia which we all enjoyed so much three years ago. This time we saw a big change as the hotel was full apparently oversubscribed with not only the usual Spanish seniors but a new breed of Romany type young Spaniards with many unruly children. The hotel simply was not equipped to cope with this number of people and the result was that we did not get a Saga holiday but more of what another client described as pure “Butlins”. The dining room was like a railway concourse with tables jammed together so close with people pushing through with plates of food and drink that it made it impossible to enjoy a peaceful meal there; we opted to walk back and forth to the annexe and even there we had problems. One evening we could not get a table for three and we asked a waiter if we could use a table for eight in the annexe; he said no problem. We had our starters and main course and were just starting on our dessert when another waiter came up and asked us if we would finish our meal at a smaller table to accommodate a party of Spanish who wanted to all be seated together. We declined but had to endure the consumption of that course with the Spanish standing behind us chattering noisily. On the evening of the Gala dinner in the annexe as soon as our sweets were finished and the cava poured we were asked by the Saga rep that as the restaurant was over busy could we drink up and vacate – some way to finish a Gala evening .The over capacity lead to crockery shortages, particularly saucers and many items being stacked for use not fully cleaned by the dish washer, hygiene compromised to satisfy the demand. On the food question the chefs did very well but the Spanish clients delighted in pushing in front of waiting Brits at every opportunity to get the best of the food as it was replenished. The downstairs Saga lounge has become an all clients and the tea coffee facility is now for all on the all inclusive tariff ( all the younger Spanish were). The upstairs lounge at times was used by the younger Spaniards with their footballs, others coming in for refreshment straight from the pool with towels around them and the mandatory swim hat rule was ignored. At other times the animation lady with the younger kids seemed to delight in chasing them around making them scream and shout.
The organisation at Airport arrivals was frenetic with just two Saga rep’s swamped by clients and although we only went on one of the tours organisation went off course. No one was informed that there were two coaches, which at pick up time many of the people on our coach were on the wrong one. Then we were two short a and another lady went out to find the missing people the 96 year old out on her own was returned after 15 minutes and another lady after 25. We set off back almost half an hour late.
As a final problem we had “no frills” Monarch. We had a touchdown and immediate take off again on the outbound leg , and this was followed by the return problems. We arrived at Alicante airport where we were confronted with nearly an hour waiting in line. When we neared the check in desk the Saga rep told us “good news, your flight is on time, so it was off for a coffee near our scheduled departure gate. The boarding time passed with no information on the departure board. When the departure time passed we were told by another passenger that at the gate 6 euro vouchers were being handed out with a letter of explanation advising that pick ups would be made aware of the delay. We eventually took off just over four hours late and when we were collected by our taxi man he advised us that the Gatwick online arrival info did not advise of any delay until he was close to the airport – so much for no frills.
These shortcomings have been passed to Saga whose only concern seems to be their feedback form data – box ticking and not actual customer experiences

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank pjbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    271
    157
    39
    21
See reviews for
257
203
34
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
penzance
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday, hotel was clean, bright and the staff were very friendlly and efficient. It was my birthday whilst i was there, and they placed a bottle of bubbly in the hotel room- nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bevPenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakewell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just back from a nice holiday in this hotel. Nice bedroom overlooking the pools and a south-east sea view. Hotel provided very good programme of activities and evening entertainment - every day. Staff were very good. Guests were probably 75% British and 25% Spanish. All the guests were friendly but would have preferred to see more German/ French/Belgian/Dutch/Swiss etc..

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools have a balcony and the best views. Sun on balcony until 1 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maurice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Arrived at Port Denia Hotel on Sat.12Nov,2011 and by Monday was violently sick, spent two days in bed, managed to be up one day, sickness and diahorrea for two more days, no help from Saga Rep. many people all ill, but they had been telephoned and warned of the situation, we were not and had travelled for two days from Scotland to get there. Then my husband also took the diahorrea. A complete disaster!! First time with Saga and considering the price they charged for two weeks really it was an absolute disgrace. A" SAGA "alright, never again.
Lastly, the food was either undercooked, or overcooked, not very inviting to look at.
evelynduthie@hotmail.com

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, quieter hopefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank explorers402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denia hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

All was well until we were leaving and asked the lad on reception to open the electric gates to the car park where we had parked.All 3 of us loaded up the car then the gates closed on us.I had to scale an 8ft wall to get out

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I returned this morning from a week here, where my last visit was in January, 2000. Some good changes were obvious in its fabric and furnishings, and in the constancy in the warmth and cordiality of the staff in the areas of catering, bar service, housekeeping and reception. The food is above average for a facility bulk cooking and serving 100-150 diners at each buffet meal.
Repairs to the TV, and to the heating system were accomplished immediately and competently. It is located about 3/4 mile away from the centre of town -- to where there is good bus service -- but there is a lovely close-by modern boat marina to meander through, near a lengthy waterfront walkway looking out to sea, with many adjacent restaurants .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Havefunwilltravel816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Our first SAGA holiday. Lovely hotel opposite the new Marina with esplanade walks and restaurants. Indoor heated pool in conservatory as well as beautiful outdoor pool. It was warm enough to sunbathe. Service excellent. Food varied and good. Inclusive excursions and entertainment in two bars every evening. Really enjoyed ourselves. Oceans of hot showers and clean towels in bathroom. Quiet on 4th floor. Single beds a little firm for me, but after free drinks and cocktails who cares! An excellent 3 star hotel with homely feel.

Room Tip: Rooms without balcony are larger, but we found our room with balcony and pool view south facing perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bi0nicAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denia hotels
0.2 km away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#11 of 33 in Denia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.7 km away
Les Rotes Hotel
Les Rotes Hotel
#1 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.5 km away
Palau Verd Hotel
Palau Verd Hotel
#5 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel El Raset
Hotel El Raset
#6 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.3 km away
Daniya Denia
Daniya Denia
#22 of 33 in Denia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.3 km away
La Posada del Mar
La Posada del Mar
#3 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Denia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Denia

Property: Port Denia
Address: Carretera Denia-Javea 48, 03700 Denia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Denia 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 50 meters from the La Marineta Beach and only 300 meters from the Marina. There is a bus stop 50 meters from the hotel to facilitate your travel to the downtown (about 1 km. From the hotel). The proximity of the Montgo mountain allows you to go hiking and you can visit the Cape of San Antonio, only 2 or 3 km from the hotel. You will also find several golf courses near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Port Denia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Denia Hotel Denia
Port Hotel Denia
Denia Port Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing