We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$151
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Miray Hotel(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Babadan Hotel & Apartments(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avlu 4 Apartments(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avlu 1 Apartments(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$324
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$367
US$357
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$506/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,875)
Filter reviews
1,875 results
Traveller rating
1,349
359
102
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,349
359
102
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment teambar staffturkeyturkish bathburning coffeemanager deniznext yeargreat holidayfamily suitewasp problemwater polocrazy frogkids clubkiller poolicmeler townmeal timesfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 1,875 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our first time in Turkey and had a fab time; we would love to come back very soon. We were there from 26th June to 8th July. I'll start with the PROs:- Hotel is in an outstandingly beautiful location. Suites are spacious, clean with good air con in both lounge and bedroom areas. The provision of dressing gowns was a nice touch and our towels were changed daily. Our room was cleaned every day so this has definitely improved from previous reviews, bed was made daily and our sheets were changed every other day. Hotel was quiet for most of our stay (about half full for at least the first week). There are no noises or disturbances at night and yes the beds are hard but I got used to them fairly quickly. The staff are all very friendly, most spoke good English. The Turkish Bath is highly recommended! Yes it's more expensive in the hotel, but the individual attention you get is well worth it.
NOTE ABOUT DINING: JULIAN FOREST IS NOW 100% BUFFET. This change happened while we were there, but it didn't affect our enjoyment of the food. In fact we feel it gave us more choice and hopefully the chefs will have greater scope to provide more local dishes. Turnaround at mealtimes is quicker as a result so I can understand this decision, plus you can eat whatever combination of food you like from the buffet. Omelettes are made fresh every morning at your request. Yummy! The buffet is also replenished at regular intervals, so it is not standing for long.
OK now the CONS:- I feel the hotel have made very little effort to alleviate the wasp problem, and it is a problem which is affecting some customers' enjoyment of their meals. However, as others have said, they are only a problem at breakfast and evening dinner and are usually gone by 8:45pm. They are not an issue at lunch. They are only around the restaurant at these times and they don't attack people, just your food! Could this be solved by a mosquito net / curtain around the restaurant that can be drawn at meal times?
The entertainment team:- I got on really well with them and made some excellent holiday friends. However, they did struggle at times. They are employed by Broadway, an external company (therefore not the hotel). They were a brand new team so they are still finding their feet. They were improving as our stay went on. They found it difficult to get people to participate at times, but they were genuinely making an effort. They need to be aware that in an all-inclusive, people may be reluctant to pay extra for activities ;-). In England, bingo is a couple of pound, not 20 Lira! WE LOVE YOU SANCHEZ!!!
Don't book excursions with the reps or in the UK. Go into Icmeler / Marmaris and book direct with the locals, you'll get a much better price.
For excellent photos, see Sinan, the resident camerman. "ALREET". I tried to teach him some Wolverhampton slang but he struggled with "OWAMYA".
We made some fantastic holiday friends during our stay with both staff and families and we're really missing you already as we look outside to yet more rain! Due to the small nature of the hotel, it is easy to get to know people, but you can still have your privacy. I must say hello on here to loads of people:- Steve, Sue and Rachel, Ed & his wife, Christa and David, Mark and Gemma, Brian, Louise and Matthew, Adrian, Eileen, Conn and Cora (I've got a great pic of Cora with the grasshopper if you want it guys, let me know). There were many more but we can't name all of you on here.
This holiday was everything that Ellen and I both wanted and more. Thank you!!!
P.S: For good Jewellery, see Ernie in Zeus, the fastest goldsmith in Icmeler :D

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback. Its good to have guests to suggest ways of improvements which as always we be taken on board. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We initially booked into Club Julian in Marmaris based on trip advisor reviews. I cannot understand how Club Julian gets so many great reviews and am a little suspicious that after a poor review 4 or 5 good reviews immediately appear above the poor review. Our experience at Club Julian was one of relief to just get out of the place. Having arrived at Club Julian at midnight we slept, ate breakfast, got harrassed to use the spa, covered our ears to block out the extremely loud music by the pool and got on the first minibus to the Forest Suites sister hotel. That said the management team were very helpful in transferring us to the Julian Forest Suites.

So onto the Julian Forest and what a very different experience.

Location

The hotel is set 2.5 km away from the main resort of Icmeler in the mountains but has excellent transport into the result with local minibuses outside the hotel. Not perfect for all guests but it was ideal for us.

Rooms

The hotel is very accomodating for couples and families alike. The suites are excellent, being modern and cleanwith plenty of storage space. The only quibble is that the room service was a little hit and miss in that our suite did not appear to be cleaned every day. The aircon was very good and welcome.

Service and food

The service was of a high standard at the bar and in the restaurant. All lunch-times and evening meals were cooked to order off the menus and the food was always hot and of good quality when it arrived. The front desk were also always happy and eager to help with a smile.

The pool areas

A previous review complained about children running wild. In our experience this was not the case at all. The vast majority of parents spent a lot of time in each others company and kept an eye out for each others children, whether it was in the pools or around the playground. (As for the main pool being full of lilos, there were at most 4 or 5 with all but one being used by adults.)

There were always sunbeds available anddue to the small size of the hotel faces of fellow guests quickly became familiar and hence conversations easily started.

Entertainment

No evening entertainment except the minidisco? I was staggered by this comment from a previous reviewer and even questioned whether the review was posted for the correct hotel. There was entertainment every nightwith the exception of the European Cup semi-finals and final. There were dancers, acrobats, a Turkish themed night and a bandon another night.

As for the minidisco, yes the same four songs are played each evening and as a father to 3 and 4 year old boys I understand the need for the repetition. Indeed our 3 year old was like one of Pavlovs dogs, in that as soon as the music started he would stand up in his chair and beg to go and dance.

Negatives

The wasps. A lot has been written about the wasps and they may be a problem for some people. We were not too bothered by them despite the fact that I was stung in the pool by one.

Summary

We had an amazing family holiday, met some lovely people from all over the UK and some from Turkey too. The management and staff were a credit to the hotel and a big thank you to all of them from our family. What a relaxing and friendly place they make the hotel.

Would we return to/recommend the hotel? The world has a lot to offer and there are so many other places to visit. However we are already considering returning next year and have recommended the hotel to friends who have book for the end of August.

Room Tip: Unpack the cases, find a sunbed, relax and enjoy the hotel and maybetake the Dolmus down to Icmeler or Marmaris. If you don't fancy a day on a boat trip whynot take a water taxi for a half hour trip.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feed back. Glad to hear you were happy during your stay and as many of our returning guests we hope that you will be returning too. For booking or enquires please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have just arrived back from the Julian Forest, pros and cons are as follows:
PRO’S
• Staff are absolutely amazing, they are so helpful. The Restaurant manger Omar is extremely helpful and attentive; he would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel in London. The waiters underneath him are also very helpful and attentive.
• Food is excellent, anything you want, brilliant
• All inclusive does not stop once you check out, it stops when you leave the hotel, even if it is 11pm or midnight, i have never found that in any other hotel
• Dalaman Airport is a total joke, talk about take the pee out of their captive audience, a weeny bottle of water was £2, slice of pizza £5. Omar arranged for us to take a sandwich lunch with us to the airport, he gave so much we had to leave some behind. I have never received such caring service, ever!
• The suite we were in was fabulous, living room, bedroom and bathroom really spacious
• We decided to go all inclusive on the 2nd day, all they asked for was £22 per week.
• The Hotel Manager Denis, was also very nice and very helpful

Lovely hotel and lovely staff.

CONS
• There is no evening entertainment AT ALL, it is all catered around children and goes on until 10pm. (I forgot! BINGO at 9.30)
• The dining room is also the entertainment area, very annoying when you want to have a nice dinner and all you can here is children’s entertainment, same old songs every night! And children running wild, screaming, shouting, running in between tables with parents that just sit there and ignore the chaos their children are causing other guests.
• The pool is full of Lilo’s and as the week progressed it was getting worse, there is a children’s pool, with slide, but apparently it is only open for a couple of hours a day, so we had a few hours peace!
• The management told me it was a family hotel, OK, I accept that, but there should be somewhere where ADULTS can go and have their breakfast/lunch/dinner or even a drink, in peace. I love kids, but for God’s sake, that was a nightmare. It was akin to staying at Butlins. You really need to go out in the evening because the bar is also in the restaurant as is the entertainment stage, one night a two year old was standing on the bar, and the mother?? She was busy ordering her lager – you see where I’m coming from?
• Some of these people obviously expect other adults to keep an eye on their kids, 18 month old wandering aimlessly around the dining room, he only had to wander down by the pool and drown, it’s really was a real eye opener as far as parenting was concerned.
• The sister hotel Julian Club kept sending their guests down to the Julian Forest, offering them a ‘free upgrade’, consequently, it was getting more and more crowded with more and more children
• It really was impossible to enjoy a meal
• The entertainment team are complete rubbish, i have never seen such a useless load of people in my life. They were irritating and rude, one of them said to another guest ‘I hate it here’, I would suggest a training course for the lot of them, better still sack them all and start again.
If this hotel was Adults only, it would definitely rate a 5 star, it is in an idyllic spot, but with all the screaming kids around I would rate it a 3 star

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eiei c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comment it was very interesting to read and very helpful to us as we will take all points on board for future improvements. If you have any further concerns or queries please feel free to contact at any time.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Julian Forest for a week for our first wedding anniversary and although we do not usually like to return to the same place twice we will definately consider going back to Julian Forest.
We upgraded to all inclusive and had fabulous food - you have to try the bright green 'Bartenders favourite' cocktails.
We cannot fault Julian Forest - the staff were all lovely and the room was spotlessly clean. We came back to our room to find a display of flowers on our bed to celebrate our anniversary which we thought was a really nice touch.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced holiday and a place to relax you will not be disappointed here.
I didn't count how many wasps there were as I was enjoying my holiday, there were a few but it was not an issue and it certainly did not send us up to our room to eat.
Thanks to all the staff who did all they could to make our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are quieter away from the pool
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank g0ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for you comment. We are happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and really hope you will be with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2012

As independent bookers, we initially on trip advisors guidance booked into Club Julian Marmaris. I will not go into detail here but we quickly over to their sister hotel in Icelemer.
Location: up in the hills, the beautiful mountainous backdrop is idilic. Around ten mins by bus from the Seafront, shops and Marina. most restaurants etc will pick up from here for free if you ring them and reception are happy to help.

Rooms: we had a 2 bed, 2 bath suite on the top floor overlooking the pool. Immaculate, clean with 2 balconies and good aircon in all bedrooms. Minor complaint is that the beds are v hard and choice of tv poor ( we would have liked cbeebies as we have a couple of small kids and needed an hour early pm to get out of the sun). Also they needed to change the beds more often, sheets changed x1 in 10 days and top sheet not at all.

Service: unbeatable in all areas. The staff in bar and restaurant very good, friendly and efficient.

Kids club: the kids loved the kids club carer Emma and I found her to be interested and keen to get all the children involved. as a surestart volunteer I was fairly disappointed at the quality of the activities. ( they mainly consisted of drawing and painting and Some lame games) the evening ones are £3.50 per child and I stayed as my two boys are quite young and it was inappropriate. Very noisy and lacked structure. Needless to say though the boys thought an evening of running about and eating sweets was awesome!

Food: great food, by offering a menu choice,you knew all food was cooked freshly to order and came outing hot. ( I am not sure though if the Re not moving to a buffet style fairly soon, which I think will be a shame) plenty of choice although the kids menu could have done with having a few more choices ( and a few less chips!)

Drinks: good choice on the all inclusive option, great service once again.

Overall: we had a marvellous experience at this hotel and would highly recommend it to families and couples who do not want a loud hotel, rather a quieter more laid back Hotel with focus on relaxation and good value. We are not ones to rebook but are definitely considering come back again next year.

Service: excellent on all accounts.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the pool is great but you can hear the bar/disco, which quietens down around midnight.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HockeyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for you in put. Im happy to see that you enjoyed the majority of your holiday and we would be more than happy for you to join us again next year. We have taken on board all of your points and will be using them to improve on anything we may have failed to do so on so far. If you have any further concerns please contact at any time.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews