We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent transformation”
Review of The Duncombe Arms

The Duncombe Arms
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Sandy
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Duncombe Arms in is a family run pub in the picturesque village of Waresley. We have a superb menu ranging from traditional bar snacks to an a la carte menu. We also have a large garden to relax in during the summer. Eat, drink and relax at the Duncombe Arms in Waresley.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant now having been previously and now with new ownership. Before the service was shocking, the place smelt bad, was tired and had no energy whatsoever. It has been transformed and was worth the wait. I would definitely order the monkfish scampi again because it was so delicious but also since most of the menu is quite standard. I tried the risotto and I think it should come off the menu or be revamped if possible. Looking forward to returning on a Sunday.

1  Thank kittyontour2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley D, other at The Duncombe Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Kittyontour2016,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duncombe Arms. We are pleased that you found a dramatic difference since we took over this beautiful village pub.

It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the Monkfish Scampi but we are sorry to hear that the risotto did not meet our high standards on this occasion. We are pleased to inform you that we do change our menus seasonally to keep in touch with fresh seasonal produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Keep an eye out on our social media pages for our latest offers and deals!

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2017

Went for special offer today. Food served was good quality but very small portions! Service very slow and Jamie needs to be trained in Customer Service. Unfortunately will not be returning. Could be a lovely old pub with the right staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank cgeorgemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley D, other at The Duncombe Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear cgeorgemac,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Duncombe Arms.

We are sorry that on this occasion you did not receive the high level of service that we pride ourselves upon.

We are not generally known for small portions so we are sorry that in this instance, the portion sizes were inadequate. In most cases, if you would like an extra slice of roast, more bread or additional gravy, within reason this can be accommodated without an addition to your bill.

In response to your personal and public criticism about a member of our staff, his level of customer service has been rated as second to none. We have received many compliments about not only his professionalism but also about all our members of staff and their etiquette.

We are always grateful for feedback but we really do not feel we could have a better team than we do. We are a family-run pub and all our staff are taken on personally by us, not only because they share our ethos and etiquette for hard work and top customer service but because they are all lovely people who at the same time are trained not to tolerate personal abuse and public shaming.

We are sorry that you didn’t feel this way about the Duncombe Arms but in this instance, we don’t feel we could have done more.

Many thanks,

The Duncombe Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Great meal and excellent service, would recommend. Locally provides a great alternative to other options in area, well worth a try.

1  Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley D, other at The Duncombe Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Leigh S,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review of the Duncombe Arms. I am pleased to see that you would recommend us to others and enjoyed a “great meal alongside excellent service” during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Keep an eye out on our social media pages for our latest offers and deals!

Many thanks,

The Duncombe Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Dinner for four of us -- nice welcome, good menu, well cooked food, very enjoyable evening, so we'll be back. Nice to see this pub under new ownership.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IanTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley D, other at The Duncombe Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear IanTheTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your “successful” review of the Duncombe Arms.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed “well cooked food” during your time with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Keep an eye out on our social media pages for our latest offers and deals!

Many thanks,

The Duncombe Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

We have been to this pub in its many guises over the years...some successful,some not so. Came to try out the food with the new owners and really enjoyed it.
We had a lovely meal; the service was quick and super pleasant. Young staff but all professional and friendly. The menu was interesting and we could have had basic bar food or more al a carte.
I had the salmon starter which was lovely and fresh with juicy chunks of fish. Slow cooked pork belly to follow with heritage carrots, delicious. We did order chips and onion rings which probably was a bridge too far.
I was quite shocked by some of the negative reviews on this site. These new owners are obviously really trying with their new venture and deserve supporting. We live reasonably locally and will definitely return and bring friends along.
Our country pubs are disappearing at an alarming rate. I am happy to support this one.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CambridgeMaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley D, other at The Duncombe Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear CambridgeMaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on the Duncombe Arms and we are very grateful for your support.

We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience during your visit especially the juicy salmon starter!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Keep an eye out on our social media pages for our latest offers and deals!

Many thanks,

The Duncombe Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duncombe Arms also viewed

Sandy, Bedfordshire
Potton, Bedfordshire
 
Potton, Bedfordshire
Eltisley, Cambridgeshire
 
Northill, Bedfordshire
Potton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Duncombe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing