We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use To Be The Best Chinese Many Years Ago But Far From It Now”
Review of Golden Chef

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Chef
Ranked #20 of 28 Restaurants in Sandy
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Use To Be The Best Chinese Many Years Ago But Far From It Now. Food is nothing special and tastes of black salt in every meal which I can't stand. I try to stay away from here as I am always disappointed, either poor quality or bones etc. in the food. Also the lady is very friendly and chatty, but be careful because she short changes you (even on phone orders) especially when she knows you've been drinking. I sussed her out straight away first time ages ago and pulled her up on it, "Oh so sorry" she says, trying to skive a tenner! This has happened more than once!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Ordered a takeaway as usual takeaway China express was closed as was a Monday Egg fried Rice was awful and over cooked, Chow mein was awful cooked with old oil never again will I use this takeaway

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank gerri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Food was ok but avoid the chicken n black bean sauce defo not the best. Chicken was mainly fat pieces rather than chicken. Bbq spare ribs were dry.
We have had takeaway from here before and has been nice but this evening's was very disappointing

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Matchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Can not fault the service, quality of food and personality of those running this establishment.

Always remembered even if it has been some time. Always happy to see you.

Food is great with a wide selection, always hot and just on point. We have friends now who travel from other towns just to have this Chinese takeaway.

Recommended to pick up as very prompt. Order over the phone and they'll tell you a time it will be ready for; its always been ready on arrival.

Highly recommended!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LiveForToday2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Sometimes we have had nice food but a lot of times been rubbish greasy or just not much in e.g. special rice nearly only rice , wrong dishes sent and not any help of getting correct one , not using it anymore

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank brightasadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Chef also viewed

Sandy, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Golden Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing