We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove
Ranked #4 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just back from a 3 nights stay in the Grove and we enjoyed it very much. Our room was nice and light with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also very nice and cleaned to the highest standards. Our bed was made and our bathroom cleaned every day! Breakfast was very good, fairly typical English cooked breakfast, cereals, fruits...etc.
The Grove is set in beautiful surroundings - green and quiet. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a great B&B in Cromer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    108
    35
    17
    5
See reviews for
153
215
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom cottage in late Feb 2012. It was in need of a good clean. The Guest House was in the middle of refurbishment so it, the pool and wi-fi were all unavailable for use. We wouldn't have minded it we'd been informed beforehand but we weren't. The staff made no mention of anything either and weren't particularly informative. The location however is good. We therefore can't rate the Grove on what they say would normally be available but on what was actually provided hence our rating as poor and our inability to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jforener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
We're very sorry that you didn't feel our service met your expectations, in particular that the cottage wasn't cleaned to our normal standards. The guest house is, as always, closed over the winter months to allow us to upgrade it - at the time of your stay we were refurbishing the dining room and hallways - and it will open for the new holiday season on 23rd March. However, this should not have affected your stay in our self-catering cottages, and the indoor swimming pool has not been closed at any time. As explained in your welcome pack, the key is always available from the main building. We are sorry you missed out on this and will remind our staff to make this extra clear to guests in future.
Best wishes, Liz Graveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for a three night break in The Coach House. The welcome we received when we arrived was lovely and we were made to feel at home straight away.

We were extremely impressed by the quality of the cottage. It had everything you could want and was furnished very well with a leather sofa, flat screen tv and a wonderfully comfortable bed. It was all spotlessly clean, the kitchen was very well equipped and everything had been thought of. There were even ice cubes in the freezer.

Usually self catering places are a bit basic but The Coach House was fabulous. We'd seen it on the website but the pictures didnt really do it justice.

We felt as if we could live there for ever it felt so much like home!

Our trip was in January and although a bit cold and windy outside, the cottage was well heated and kept cozy and warm by the storage heaters.

We had such a relaxing time, left to our own devices but knowing that if we wanted anything we just had to ring the main guest house.

We will definately return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This B&B is old fashioned in the best way. It felt like going back in time, with the old buliding decorated in a comfortable country house style. Owner Richard was very welcoming and the young staff serving breakfast were very sweet and helful. High standards of cleanliness. Public rooms especially well decorated and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable; bathroom en suite, heating adjustable. We only stayed one night due to work committments but would definitely like to stay another time for longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futatoro21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

What a little gem to find in Cromer! Once you've pulled into the driveway its like driving into another world. The first view of the hotel is beautiful with its grounds reaching to woodland which in turn leads you to the coastal path. All the staff were incredible friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room - no. 7 - was "compact and bijou." Everything we needed was there and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Our friends stayed in room 11 which was slightly larger than ours and further up and back in the building. Their's was very peaceful whereas ours was very close to the main staircase so had quite alot of passing traffic. However, this was not a problem. Breakfast has a very limited time, being 8.15 - 8.45. However, on this occasion that was fine with us as we managed to be early risers for this particular weekend! We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night and the food is good homely fayre. Rather like eating at your mum and dad's house! Could have done with some background music maybe as we were the only diners in there and it felt very quiet!

Had a fantastic time even though we forgot our swimwear so didn't get to try the swimming pool. Would definitely recommend to families and older parties. Not so appropriate for younger groups.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just returned from a break at this guesthouse and had a lovely time. The rooms are clean and the family room was spacious. The reception was warm and welcoming and there was plenty of space to relax. The only thing which let it down was the coffee (a bit weak but soon rectified when we asked for it to be stronger) and the main evening meal was a bit disappointing although the soup and crumble were delicious. Wine is good and reasonably priced although not a huge choice which is as expected for the size of the establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here during the week and it was a good base to visit places such as Sheringham, Holt and Wells-next-the-Sea as well as several National Trust properties. The B&B is lovely and comfortable, a nice welcome from our host and the offer of tea/coffee was a nice touch. We had room 3, a spacious double with en-suite; clean, simple decor and tasteful furnishings. My only criticism of the room was that people kept banging the door out in the corridor; however we did raise this with management before we left.

I found breakfast adequate if a little slow. The lady serving us explained she was on her own one particular day but it did seem to be a long, drawn out process (my partners breakfast arriving 5 minutes before my own). The second day we kept it simple with cereal and toast (check out is 10am but we had only just finished breakfast by that time the previous day, despite being down for 8.15).

The location of the B&B is great, a 5 minute stroll through the woods at the back of the property take you out onto the cliffs, turn left to head into Cromer or right for the lighthouse.

Cromer is tiny, with a few nice shops and a good base but not somewhere I’d personally visit again I’d heard beforehand that good Restaurants were sparse (although we were recommended the Red Lion which did have a good menu) we be did manage to find two little gems not too far out. Firstly The Bank in Sheringham, a Nepalese restaurant that had the yummiest food I’d ever tasted, good attentive service and we even met the Chef. The Second was the Hunny Bell in Hunworth, great local ales, nice atmosphere and delicious food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.3 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
681 reviews
1.5 km away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.9 km away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.5 km away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
333 reviews
2.5 km away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove

Property: The Grove
Address: 95 Overstrand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a Georgian family-run guest house, self-catering cottages and restaurant situated in four acres of gardens on the Norfolk coast. Set back from the road and with plenty of parking as well as a heated indoor swimming pool, we are ten minutes' walk from Cromer town centre and just a few minutes through woodland from the cliffs and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Hotel Cromer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing