We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous grounds, great location, beautiful house!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grove
Ranked #5 of 29 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous grounds, great location, beautiful house!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed at the Grove for just one night in May 2012 with my boyfriend. We were delighted with it. The staff were all very friendly. The room was fine - everything you need and nicely decorated. Very homely. The grounds are really lovely and it was great being able to walk through the woodland straight onto the sea front.
We ate at the restaurant the night before and had a lovely meal - eton mess definitely recommended! The wine list was small but there was something each of us enjoyed. At £20 for a three course meal I thought it was great value.
Breakfast in the morning was fine (although the 8.30 - 8.45 window a bit narrow we thought - a bit early for us!). The homemade jam was a particular treat.

When we stayed I think we were the only young couple there - there was a family and a few elderly couples there at breakfast. I think this place is suitable for people of all ages really. IT was charming.

All in all a great experience and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    105
    33
    17
    5
See reviews for
146
210
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a lovely Saturday night stay, warm welcome, gorgeous room perfect for a family with delightful views over the lovely grounds, delicious dinner - better than most pretentious high priced restaurants. Girls loved swimming pool and games room. Our travelling companion also thoroughtly enjoyed her stay. The whole ambience of the place is lovely, such a beautiful house. We'll stay longer next time! PS the driveway is fine we managed to get two sportsbikes up it after torrential rain with no problem ;-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tulip1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Grove normally B & B and self catering has started offering lunches and evening meals in the main house.
The dining room is comfortable warm and was refurbished recently to a high standard.
We tried both lunch & evening meals ...both superb. The menu was varied and interesting, reasonably priced and cooked to order. Gary (front of house) charming and helpful. A good wine list at decent prices.
Cromer needs this restaurant, we visit Cromer regularly and have been looking for a place to eat like this. Good luck to everyone involved.

Room Tip: We have stayed 3 times in 3 different self catering cottages. all good but 'The Barn' is bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maisiepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

If they ever needed a new location Faulty Towers this would fit the bill. The drive is full of potholes, the entrance hall had broken flag stones and needed to be cleaned. The receptionist could have done with a bath and the breakfast waitress had tattoos all over
her neck.
The breakfast took almost an hour to serve and was cold. The kitchen may have come out of the Ark, it just would not pass an inspection. How do I know ,well I had to return my cold Kippers.
This guest house has been in the same family for three generations. Its a pity this generation does not understand standards or training. I paid my bill in full,this report is unbiased by cost.

Room Tip: Stay in another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed for just one night. Had a family room which was fine although very cold when we first arrived. Shower was a bit weak which is always disappointing. Swimming pool was an added attraction but a bit small for a decent swim. Lovely house with beautiful gardens. The breakfast was very average, no menus provided and very inexperienced staff serving. Sausages and bacon were obviously pre cooked and were only served warm. No real morning welcome when you arrive for breakfast. A bit bland and old fashioned probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for 1 week and found this an ideal base for exploring a very interesting area with lots of beautiful scenery and interesting things to explore whatever the weather.
Set in generous grounds, close to the sea but away from the bustle of the town, The Grove is in a peaceful location. The house itself is elegant with many original features and the decor is comfortable and tasteful. As well as the large comfortable lounge, there are two other relaxing seating areas in the house. We found breakfast good and dinner excellent. We could choose from 7 or 8 starters, mains and deserts each evening and we were delighted with all the meals. We would definitely stay there again, it is a place we felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in the stable with two small children. The stable was comfortable and pleasant - good value for money. The pool was great - warm and open long hours. Lovely walk to the beach through the forest - not too long so our children could manage it. The owners are friendly and helpful. We will be going back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DonnaCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.3 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.9 km away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.4 km away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.5 km away
Sandcliff Guest House
2.5 km away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove

Property: The Grove
Address: 95 Overstrand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a Georgian family-run guest house, self-catering cottages and restaurant situated in four acres of gardens on the Norfolk coast. Set back from the road and with plenty of parking as well as a heated indoor swimming pool, we are ten minutes' walk from Cromer town centre and just a few minutes through woodland from the cliffs and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Hotel Cromer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing