We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tanglewood Cottage

Tanglewood Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tanglewood Cottage
Tanglewood Cottage Tanglewood Cottage garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Tanglewood Cottage
Tanglewood Cottage
Tanglewood Cottage garden
Tanglewood Cottage garden with Nursery Farm in the background
Nursery Farmhouse
Tanglewood Lounge
Tanglewood Lounge
Tanglewod Lounge
Tanglewood Double Bedroom
Tanglewood Twin Bedroom
Forest Avenue
Nearest Beach - Mundesley 3 miles
Felbrigg Hall - nearby NT property
Felbrigg Hall - nearby NT property
Horsey Windpump
See the seals on Horsey beach
Spectacular even in a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cromer, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindylou1...
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for a weekend in April. I was so looking forward to it but the cottage was not as we had expected.

The owners were pleasant, but we were told on arrival that the previous guests had complained of problems with the hot water. We were told to just not use the water on full power and in the event of an issue reset it on the boiler. They said a part had been ordered that may be fitted later that day or the following day. We had constant problems and it was really not good that you couldn’t go and have a shower without the other person standing by the boiler to reset! The part never got fitted and we had even felt obliged to get up and out early on the Saturday in case the plumber arrived!

Moreover there was a leak in the bathroom that was impossible to tell where it came from as there was no obvious trail, but it’s horrible if you nip to the loo in the night and get wet feet!

Heating was set to come on at 5am!!! Only way to change that was turn heating off completely which meant cottage was really cold in the morning - who wants to wake at 5 on holiday!

Parking is extremely tight.

Double bedroom is very small, we used the other twin bed too - think 4 adults would be too squashed here and certainly can’t imagine having 6 using sofa bed.

We were surprised that there was not a single plastic cup or plate for children - our child was not a toddler so that was fine, but if you have young children there is literally nothing dining wise for them to use - the contrast with our holiday cottage last year in terms of utensils (and welcome pack - loaf cake and milk) was quite strong.

Beds were comfy.

I left a note but disappointingly had no contact from owners. I think a ‘sorry you had so many issues with the hot water’ would have been polite! We had called them round on the Friday (first) night so it’s not as if they didn’t know we had issues!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay more. We did have an issue with the boiler, that was explained, and the engineer arrived very promptly and ordered the required part. I am very sorry, but we did not realise he had not returned and completed the work. It took a few minutes to once we were aware. We have found no leaks in the bathroom and can only think it was condensation dripping from the cold cistern after you had a shower. The heating came on at 5am as the timer was set for that time - guests can re-programme the timer to suit themselves, set it to manual, or contact us and we would have happily done it for you. No one has had issues with parking at the property before, and there is enough parking for 10 additional vehicles to the rear of the other holiday cottages if they do. I totally agree, the double bedroom is small, and I am surprised that in the 11 years of renting it out, you are the first to mention it. We frequently have parties of 4 and more stay in the property and many return again and again. With regards to catering for young children, we do provide cots, highchairs on request and could have furnished you with plastic utensils if asked. Guests have our email contact details, landline and mobile number, as well as us living just a few yards away in the main farmhouse, and we prefer to allow them to enjoy their breaks without us checking up on them. Again, my sincerest apologies that the hot water issue was not dealt with more efficiently.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowley4
towcester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Tanglewood Cottage. The accommodation is clean and spacious with an enclosed garden which is perfect as we have 2 children and a dog.

The owners are really friendly and helpful and tell you all the best places to visit.

There is plenty of outdoor space for the children to play ball games and some woodland for them to explore and to walk the dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed friendly environment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was lovely and warm!
Liked least: No mobile phone signal
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing