We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely part of Norfolk”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thorpegate Cottage

Thorpegate Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thorpegate Cottage
Thorpegate cottage Thorpegate Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Thorpegate Cottage
Thorpegate cottage
Thorpegate Cottage
Thorpegate cottage, enclosed garden
Thorpegate Cottage, garden
Nursery Farmhouse and cottages
Thorpegate Lounge
Thorpegate lounge
Thorpegate dinning area
Thorpegate kitchen
Thorpegate Bedroon
Forest Avenue
Nearest beach is at Mundesley 3 miles
Felbrigg Hall NT Property 3 miles
Felbrigg Hall NT Property 3 miles
See the seals on Horsey beach
Horsey Windpump
Spectacular, even in a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cromer, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phillip D
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely part of Norfolk”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great few days in the Thorpegate Cottage, really well appointed and just right for us and our dogs. Paula and Keith were very helpful and nice. Centrally placed for the woods or the beach if you prefer. The nearby Gunton Arms is a lively and unique venue for eating and drinking. We look forward to returning

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcbloom
Kecskemet, Hungary
1 review
“Fantatic place that we and our children loved”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently stayed for 3 days with my 2 children (10 & 7) and loved the accommodation and setting. The cottage were perfect for a family, a good size and very comfortable. The surroundings of the cottages are lovely and our kids loved the woods at the back and built a den and spent many hours playing there while we relaxed. It felt very safe and was a great location to do a number of trips. Keith and Paula were excellent hosts and were very helpful and made sure our stay was perfect. Thank you both and congratulations on your approaching 10 year anniversary and good luck for the next 10 years. We will definitely be visiting again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: child friendly & great setting
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The woods are a great 'playground' and just ideal for den building. We would love to have you stay with us again, hopefully before the 20 year anniversary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda E
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic Accommodation”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

First of all I should say that the hosts of this cottage were lovely and very helpful in providing useful information, in addition the home made cake on arrival was delicious and tea/milk provided very convenient. However, I would struggle to recommend this property to anyone largely due to it's size and the quality of the facilities it offers. Firstly we seemed cold all the time, even with the heating on the laminate floor was so cold, despite having 2 pairs of thick socks on! Although everything in the cottage was adequate, items such as the cooker were very old and although still working, it took a long time to cook and warm things up. We found the bed rather short and the sofa too small to seat 2 comfortably. The bathroom seemed cold and the shower very basic and although the towels were clean, they were of very small size, That said, the position of the cottage is good and the enclosed front garden for the dog was a great benefit. On the whole we had a good few days break, however, we would not book this cottage again largely due to the lack of comfort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The south facing front garden
Liked least: The sofa and the cold floor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
I am sorry that our accommodation did not meet your expectations we do try to make each holiday experience a good one. It is a shame that you didn't bring your concerns to us while you were staying as we could have addressed some of them for you. I would like to point out that the cottage has full central heating with radiators in the bedroom, lounge and bathroom. The temperature of the radiators can be adjusted by guests, as they require, and they do make the cottage very cosy. We provide rugs on the floor should you find the laminate cool. The bed is a normal double i.e. 4'6" wide and 6' 6" long and has a new memory foam mattress. We provide a hand towel and a bath towel for each guests which are purchased from a specialised hotel linen supplier and are of a standard size. The shower is an electric shower and the bathroom has a double radiator in it so it is disappointing that you found this cold. We note your comments re the cooker and will be addressing this.
Once again we are sorry that you did not find the cottage comfortable enough for you, please note that other guests have enjoyed their stay, find the cottage more that satisfactory, and do return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophsLisa
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely New Years stay at Thorpegate cottage.
Tea, cake & milk left by the owners which was really lovely to come in to.
Cottage was spotless, nice & warm, comfortable bed & sofa and soft towels.

Only downside was the bathroom - although it may not bother some people the shower was only ever luke warm - we have ours quite hot so found this uncomfortable & there's a small leak from one of the pipes so we had to use the bath mat to keep the floor dry from that & used one of the hand towels as a bath mat. Apart from that everything else was great. Kitchen was well equipped & all was easy to use/worked perfectly, along with the TV/DVD player. Loads of storage (and hangers) in the bedroom.

Although attached either side to other cottages we didn't hear a thing from either side & plenty of parking

There's absolutely loads to do, with or without a dog (and children!) and we would absolutely go back to that area of Norfolk.
Great way to start 2016 - thank you Thorpewood Cottages

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
So glad that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your lovely comments. We appreciate you bringing the problems in the bathroom to our attention we were unaware of either issue. We have now fixed the leaking pipe and a plumber has readjusted the shower so hopefully both problems have been addressed. Should you visit Norfolk in the future we would love to have you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PippaM007
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Happy Holidays”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank you to the lovely owners who welcomed us with a home-baked cake and milk ready for a cup of tea - just what I needed after the drive from London. The cottage was spacious, clean, comfortable and welcoming. The private garden meant that our children were safe, although the grass field and private forest area provided hours of safe fun too. It's a short drive to the beautiful town and beach at Cromer. Thorpegate Cottage provided not just a base that we were happy to get back to at the end of a day exploring Norfolk, , but a comfortable and private cottage to spend a quiet day for a bit of R&R. I would wholly recommend to friends, family and anybody else thinking of visiting Norfolk. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peaceful and Secure setting.
Liked least: Not enough time to spend there!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bby61
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this place "off the cuff " & turned into a real gem. Ideal setting & access to everything we needed. Would certainly recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pet friendly location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you can come back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpenSkyRe...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW :-) Great Norfolk gem”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found this little gem by accident, the cottage was Gr8, Crisp Clean and Comfy. The delicious fresh homemade cake and milk. The walks quiet and relaxing. Would Highly Recommend to Family & Friends for a Holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being left alone.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. Delighted to hear you had a wonderful time. Please do come again. Keith and Paula.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing