We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic house for get togethers”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Granary - Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Granary - Front View
Dining room Large vaulted kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Granary - Front View
Dining room
Large vaulted kitchen/diner
Kitchen with large fridge freezer, microwave and washing machine, fully fitted
Lounge - 50' TV, Blue Ray DVD, Leather seating for 12, woodburner
Lounge with two 4 seater leather sofas, various leather chairs
Lounge
Lounge
Games Room with 3/4 size snooker table, dart board, 'rings' and many more games.
games room also has separate TV and sofa.
Sun Room with lovely views of the Church opposite
Sunroom
1st floor King room
King 1st floor
1st Floor - Family room with Superking Bed, Bunks room, ensuite and cot
1st Floor - Family room with Superking Bed, Bunks room, ensuite and cot
Bunks room (linked to Superking Room)
Bathroom 2, links to the bunk room and family room.
!st floor twin room
Shower room 1st floor
King 2nd floor has ensuite bathroom
2nd Floor ensuite to King room
Twin 2nd Floor
2nd floor ensuite to twin room
Kitchen
Shower room, 1st floor
Lounge
Kitchen
Garden with seating for 12
Hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cromer, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane B
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic house for get togethers”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

As a group of friends who enjoy our weekends away, this was definitely one of the best houses we have stayed in. A lot of thought has gone into the house- the kitchen is fully equipped, lovely bedrooms with good quality bedding and nearly all have en suites. The games room was a big hit with the men and boys. The local pub was being redecorated, so we went to The Vernon Arms at Southrepps, lovely pub and gorgeous food. Fiona was so helpful with our booking arrangements. We will definitely book this house again, just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely big settees
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Granary and for your positive comments about our home. It is good to know that the house and facilities are appreciated and I look forward to hearing from you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon G
Doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic house for a large family”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

There were 6 adults and 4 children in our family group, children ranging from 8 months to 15 years. Everyone of us thoroughly loved the house and all the space. Bedrooms were perfect, lots of bathrooms! sun lounge a lovely area and the rooms downstairs were so spacious. The property was immaculate and contained everything you could think of for domestic use and the games collection was massive. As you are a car ride away from most things in an evening, the variety of games for family entertainment were very welcome. The area along the cost is picturesque and was very autumnal at the time of year that we visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Granary. I am glad your family enjoyed the Games Room. We try to cater for all ages. I am also glad you enjoyed the sunroom, I love the view and 'feel' in that room too. We recently invested in nice deep mattress toppers for the single beds too, including the bunks, for that added bit of luxury. Thanks again, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iantowey
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spacious, well equipped property, ideal for large family gathering.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Three generations of our family had an excellent weeks stay at The Granary. The property is extremely spacious with good sized rooms and a large dining area. The games room was a big hit and all the bedrooms were comfortable with good bathroom facilities. The local pub provided good 'pubby' food and there was a midweek quiz. It is very popular so booking is recommended. Easy walk to Overstrand and lots of good local walks, our favourite was from Sherringham Hall taking in the coastal path. Overall an excellent base for large groups wishing to explore this part of Norfolk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Granary. I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that you also had a good time at The Foundry. We have been receiving really good feedback about the food there, which is good news for us and great for our guests. We recently purchased nice deep mattress toppers for the single beds too, so the 'comfy' beds will hopefully be even more comfortable. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin D
Hull, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb accommodation for a large group”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family (now 4 married couples and 6 children) thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Granary in August in 2010 and 2012. Fiona is very helpful and efficient in confirming bookings and answering any questions. The property is not only exactly as described but also immaculate on arrival, thanks to excellent local 'housekeeping'. Whilst washing has usually dried quickly on the rotary line in August, the availability of a tumble drier would be a very welcome 'fall back'. Overstrand Beach is only 1.5 miles walk away via a very quiet lane with suberb views from the top of the hill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge lounge, the pool table and the upstairs sun lounge.
Liked least: The bare wooden floors: carpets would be more 'cosy' (but less practical).
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2012
Glad to hear your second stay was as good as your first. I will pass on your complements to Jo & Jez from VW Property Services, I would be lost without them and Jo is 7 months pregnant and still whizzing round! Thank you for your kind comments, it is always nice to hear when we get things right. I will see if we can find room for a tumble drier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david b
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent property in lovely area”
Reviewed May 30, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I would definately recommend the Granary for a short or long break .it is a lovely house with lots to do inside we loved the games room and had lots of fun trying on the wigs and hats in the dressing up box .The village is very nice and peaceful perfect for relaxing both for adults and children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the games room
Liked least: the garden
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2012
Thank you for recommending The Granary and for your great comments about the games room and dressing up box. We add new bits and pieces on a fairly regular basis so that return guests have new things to look forward to. We look forward to seeing you and your family / friends again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal for large family get together”
Reviewed March 31, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and husband stayed with my two children there other halves and three grandchildren. We also had my mum and dad sister and brother inlaw. The house was plenty big enough for us all, the games room was a big hit, also the children aged 2 loved the dressing up box. The house was imaculate. We enjoyed walking around Cromer and loved the fish and chip supper from Mary Janes. We had a belated christmas dinner on Sunday with ample seating for everyone. Will certainly use it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact all the family could be together
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at The Granary. I am very glad you all had a good time and enjoyed all that the house and the area has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgnetma
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Home for family gathering/celebrations”
Reviewed March 13, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

All the family - young & old - greeted their entrance into the house with oohs/aaahs/wows - great start! So warm. welcoming and cosy - in spite of being very roomy enough
to accommodate a large group - it felt so homely. Big kitchen/diner to seat 12 - superb lounge of 30 ft with big comfy sofas and chairs to seat all - woodburning stove all set and with logs to use - sadly we did not! Fun in the games room had by all as well - what a bonus - bedrooms were all very nicely decorated and really comfortable as well. Just loved this house. Very lovely gesture for our arrival for my husband's 70th - banners/cava/ballons/cake and a birthday card - super surprise for all of us. HIghly recommed this as a place to stay for a gathering - only downside - we had to leave after 3 days! Good local pub within short walking distance - lovely food and not expensive. Go stay you will love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing - only that we had to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. i am so glad you all had a good time and that, as seasoned travellers, the Granary met your expectations. I am pleased to hear the beds were comfortable as I think it so important to have a comfy bed and had replaced 2 mattresses before your stay and have replaced another 2 afterwards. The Foundary Arms will be delighted to hear their good reputation is spreading far and wide too. Thanks again Fiona
PS Glad to see you sorted out problem with your computer, it must be catching, mine has become a nightmare of late too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing