We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with fantastic Thai restaurant in Cromer”

Bann Thai Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A little gem of a Thai restaurant - simple but delicious thai food with friendly staff
Reviewed April 4, 2018

To find an Authentic Thai restaurant in Cromer was really pleasing. Visited last night on recommendation from a family friend we were not disappointed at all. This is a small, family run restaurant. Excellent Thai food options and very good service.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexgreg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Owner at Bann Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thanks Alex for your review and Iampleased your friends recommendation was borne out with excellent food and service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 567 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

I booked this restaurant for me and my husband after looking at reviews on TripAdvisor and because we love Thai food. This came up as the 3rd best restaurant in cromer - I am sorry to say we were disappointed. Although the food was 'not bad' we were really looking forward to something special, but the starters tasted greasy, the butterfly prawns had no taste and I ordered the beef massaman which I left most of as the beef came as great big chunks which we were dry and the sauce really thick and off putting - sorry guys this just did not live up to what we were expecting and as we had travelled from Essex for a 2 night stay and this was one of the restaurants we choose to dine at it really was disappointing.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Owner at Bann Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks Louise for taking the time to review us and I am sorry to hear you were a bit disappointed with your meal and that although it was't bad it wasn't quite as special as you were expecting.

We are a family run restaurant and pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and like most reputable establishments if there is a problem we like to know straight away so that we have the opportunity to correct any issues.

It is always difficult to respond to any particular criticism about the quality of the food unless we are told at the time of the problem and as far as I am aware you didn't mention that you were not happy with the dishes to the waiting staff at the time which, had you have done so, we would have more than happily cooked you a fresh dish.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your break in Cromer and when you are next here I hope you will revisit us and let us give you an extra special experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had a delicious meal here over the Easter break. Staff were warm and friendly. Authentic food with lots of choice. would recommend 100%.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Wardy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Owner at Bann Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks Wardy4 for your review and i am pleased you found every aspect of your visit so satisfying.. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

This restaurant has lots of positive reviews and it is very nice, the staff are excellent and well organised. However as regular visitors to Thai restaurants the food here was relatively mild, we like a bit more of a spice hit, especially after recently returning from a trip to Thailand. In addition the variety of (Thai) vegetables reflected the location i.e. a long way from importers.

However all said, we came away satisfied the experience was still positive.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Owner at Bann Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thanks Paul H for your constructive review which as always we really appreciate as without your sort of comments we cannot try to improve further. As you point out we do not always have access to all the wide range of vegetables that you would experience in Thailand. We are always able to make the dishes more spicy if the customer wishes - just ask when ordering for Thai Thai style or less so for the not so adventurous.
I am pleased that you were still impressed with the service and overall experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Booked a table even though we were eating early on a Friday evening and the first room of the restaurant was already full.
Good choice on the menu with all the old Thai favourites on it. Food was lovely and couldn’t fault the quantity of beef or chicken in both the main dishes. Noodles were great with a lovely hit of chilli.
The three members of staff were all very friendly and attentive. The room is fairly small so if you have a larger group eating at the same time, as we did, expect to hear everything. Brought back memories of our much missed Thai restaurant back home.
Well worth a visit but suggest booking as bound to be popular with holiday makers.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank nigel654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Owner at Bann Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thanks for your review and glad you found the dishes full of meat and plenty of flavour. I appreciate your comment about the noise and as you rightly say it is a challenge with the size of restaurant and size of the party. However we are embarking on a fairly major refurbishment in the next couple of months and hope to address some of the issues that have been raised with us over the past year as our popularity has increased. I will pass your comments onto the staff who will appreciate them and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bann Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bann Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing