We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Cabin. Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cabin. Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in the Mountain Home Log Cabin and it was just what we wanted for a few days at Mt Rainier National Park. Everything was perfect. The cabin was incredibly clean. All the wood surfaces were shining! Fireplace was just the thing to warm the room after a day in the park. We were there in early June and there was still 15 feet of snow up in the high altitudes!

The kitchen was well-equipped and had everything we needed to cook one dinner, prepare lunches, and breakfasts. falling asleep to the sound of rain on the roof was very soothing. Only negative I can think of is that there are no shades or blinds on the upstairs windows. And there is a skylight right above the loft bed so it feels like there's a bright spotlight on your bed in the a.m. You might want to bring an eye mask. Not sure why there aren't shades!

Felt like we were deep in the forest yet still close to the main road. The first morning we woke up opened the front door and were greeted by a deer about 10 feet away. The main entrance into the park was only about 5 min down the road. It was so nice to explore the amazing national park for the day and return back to a lovely picture perfect cabin in the evening. Didn't get a chance to try the hot tub as I'm usually skeeved out by them, but I'm sure this one was as clean as the rest of the cabin.

If you are thinking about booking a cabin near Mt Rainier stop looking and book the Mountain Log Home!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmtravelmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My wife and I had the honor of staying in the Salal cabin at Deep Forest Cabins June 29th and 30th 2011. Janet has thought of everything to make the stay unforgetable. Reading lights strategically placed, to all the amenities of a 5 star resort. Mt. Rainier was great to. A Black Bear crossed the road in front us us. Wow!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jljohnson_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Wonderful job incorporating the cabin into the forest. It was absolutely pristine -- like it had never been stayed in, but obviously, from the glowing reviews in the guest book, it has. Incredibly convenient to the park (Mt. Rainier). Ridiculously beautiful bathroom with spa tub overlooking the woods, plus another spa outside. Indoor and outdoor eating areas, full kitchen, everything was just so lovely. The only thing I wish is that it was a B&B because there are very few places to pick up breakfast supplies. The hosts were charming and you could tell they loved the place and couldn't wait to share it with others. Perfect for couples (lots of honeymooners stay there) or anyone wanting to chillax in the forest. The most comfortable bed on our trip and the best tasting water!

Room Tip: Looked to me like all the cabins were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have just returned from a a relaxing three night stay at Deep Forest Cabins. The Mountain Home cabin is beautifully appointed and very well maintained, set in a private location right next to the entrance to Mount Rainier National Park. We appreciated having a full kitchen and gas grill to prepare meals - and the hot tub to relax in after our hikes. Reservations were easy to arrange via email (on website) and check-in was efficient. The detailed information emailed to us by the owners (location of groceries, etc) greatly helped with our planning. We regretted having to leave for home. This is an absolutely perfect place to stay during your Mount Rainier area visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsweeney458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Of the group of cabins, we stayed at Chanterelle Guest House. Beautiful inside. Quiet. Great view. Great little seating area inside and outside the cabin to enjoy the view while sipping on tea and coffee the owners provide. So close to Mount Rainier National Park. Restaurants nearby. Good, clear email communication with owners. Cell reception is limited which was made clear to us, but owners provide a land line phone on the property (which came in very handy for us as we ended up needing to make a very important call back home). Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at Deep Forest Cabins in the Salal cabin during our recent trip in the Northwest of the US and Canada. We were only there for two days and regretted that we didn't/couldn't stay longer. We fell in love with the cabin and the area. I think it will be the model we use for our dream retirement home. It really had everything you needed and was very comfortable and stylish. We could barely tear ourselves off the deck in the evening when exhaustion finally hit us. It is a great get away but there are still enough elements of civilisation to keep you going. Being a stone's throw from Mt Rainier State Park is another big advantage. The park is stunning as is the whole area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I highly recommend the Deep Forest Cabins. Obviously they are great, because they seem to be continuously sold out. I stayed here three nights before and after my summit of Mt Rainier. The cabin was well appointed, very cozy, spotless, woodsy, private. Hot tub was most appreciated after freezing various bits of anatomy on my mountain.

I never met the hosts, but their note was most welcoming. Whole bean coffee was waiting for us, and the location could not be more convenient to Ashford, Mt Rainer NP, and the various stores and restaurants in the area. I would be most happy to while away some time at Deep Forest Cabins. In my cursory review of competing places while in Ashford, I liked this place most, and others on our climb related that it seemed as if Deep Forest was the best thing around. Stay here. If you can get a reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for help from the proprietors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
3.6 km away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
3.8 km away
Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant
30.8 km away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
29.1 km away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.2 km away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier

Property: Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier
Address: 33823 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9772
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven handcrafted high quality unique cabins, some located in a beautiful 20 acre forest adjacent to Mt Rainier National Park. All but one have private hot tub, full kitchen, gas fireplaces, and decks, and five or six foot long jetted soaking tubs. These cabins are located at the main entrance to Mt Rainier National Park, open year round to Paradise. A great base for hiking in the summer or snow shoeing in the winter. We welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deep Forest Cabins At Mt. Rainier Hotel Ashford
Deep Forest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing