We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
177
149
63
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
149
63
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds wet bar oatmeal heated floors within walking distance dining table electric fireplace living room continental breakfast pull out sofa adventure park mount rushmore alpine slide king suite donuts mini fridge large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 427 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We were very surprised at the value of this motel. I ordered a "Rustic" room with 2 queen beds, not knowing what to expect. What we got was a Large Suite with a sitting area (couch, chair and TV and fireplace) a large dining area (table for 6 with flower arrangement), a wet bar (bar, bar stools, refrigerator and sink), a separate bed room (2 queens and TV) . This was not what we were expecting. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and accommodating. It was in walking distance of downtown Keystone and located only 2 miles from Mt Rushmore. We couldn't ask for a better place or location for visiting the area.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandpa812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriannaG202, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like, although you ordered a Country Rustic room, you may have been upgraded to a suite, as the way you described your room sounds like one of our Family Suites. However, we are so glad that you loved your accommodation and that you had a great time with us here in Keystone! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Terrible experience. We booked for two nights. I turned the heat on for ten seconds. It smelled like something crawled in the air handler unit, died and caught fire, so we had no heat for the night. The toilet flushed itself once a minute, and the sink was clogged. The front window overlooked the hallway. The back window overlooked the back of the hotel, which looked more like a town dump, with trashed equipment, and broken machines littering the ground. The beds had a distinct lean to one side. My wife kept rolling into me. Room#212 for $189! We called the front desk in the morning to complain. They offered us a $10 discount. We checked out after one night. The reason this is not 0 stars is because the three ladies on the front desk were VERY nice, professional, friendly, and sweet. They were the only bright spot in our "Rushmore Express" experience. My advice; pay a little more and go to the Holiday Inn Express. We did. It's worth it. The "Rushmore Express" is NOT worth it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 456FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianna G, Public Relations Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Hi there,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will make sure to talk to our maintenance crew about the heating unit in your room. Because we are finishing up the summer, most of our heating units have not been used for several months, so it sounds like we need to go through and run our heating units and get them ready for fall!

We are sorry that we could not offer you more than a $10 dollar discount. Due to the issues with your room, we did make sure not to charge you the 48 hour cancellation fee that is customary for early cancellations during a holiday weekend, and so because of that, we were unable to give an additional discount greater than $10.

It sounds like you had a great experience with our staff, though, which is great! We love our staff, and we pride ourselves on having (who we think to be) the best and most accommodating staff in the area! We hope that if you come back to the Black Hills, you have a great vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Size of suites worked well for our family of five. Room was clean and pool was nice. A little more thought could go into the breakfast. Close to Mt Rushmore but a little bit of a drive to Custer State Park.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank djmiller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianna G, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thank you so much for your review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love being able to accommodate large families in our spacious suites so we are glad you guys had a great time! Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

A trip to remember in late November. We had a very nice suite for a peaceful getaway for two for several nights. We have stayed here in the past as a family, enjoying it then and wanted to check it out this time. So glad we did! Some day we will return.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank MES42812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianna G, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thank you so much for not only staying with us, but coming back and staying with us again! We love seeing familiar faces! We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

My family stayed six nights here while on vacation to the Black Hills. This was a perfectly situated hotel with ample parking for guests and very attentive staff. We had zero issues or complaints during our stay. The hotel’s close proximity to downtown Keystone made it possible for us to park our vehicle and walk downtown for ice cream, dinner, or shopping each night. We had a country rustic room with a door to the outside, so we were able to walk out our door each morning and see the beauty of the Keystone area. And...zip lining was right across the way from us! We are already planning a return trip to the Black Hills next year and hopefully we will be able to stay at Rushmore Express again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tanyaleick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianna G, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We love being able to help make our guest's vacations the best they can be, and we are so glad that we were able to be a part of yours! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews