We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Powder House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We enjoyed our visit to Powder House Lodge. It is located only 4 miles from Mt. Rushmore. The cabins are rustic and small, but the bathrooms have been updated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and there was a desk with a chair and a rocker in the room, which we like in order to watch TV. The wireless internet reception was great. Nearby Keystone was good for shopping and eating. We did eat at the restaurant on the premises and found the food good and reasonably priced. Our only complaint was the hot water had a lot of iron in it, which is understandable but not desirable. We did get an explanation when we questioned the staff, but filling a tub with orange tinted water was not great. The cabin was quiet in spite of being on the major highway to Mt. Rushmore. We would return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    83
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
93
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Calhoun NE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Rustic cabins very clean, quiet and comfortable. Food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Comfy bed, great location, good restaurant food and very reasonably priced for where we were. Keystone rolls up its' sidewalks at 9pm, so don't expect a cup of coffee or desert after dinner hours. It was close to Rushmore and Crazy Horse and the staff was helpful with all our questions and made sure we made it back for the evening show at Mt. Rushmore, which was fabulous! Very touching and informative. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillyinsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were recommended here by others (including fellow Tripadvisors - thanks!) and were not disappointed. Reception staff were very helpful, and enabled us (with the help of his iphone Weather app!) to ensure that we got to the evening presentation at Mt Rushmore that day, rather than the next .... when it poured with rain.

We didn't like our allocated cabin, as it was too near the main road for our liking. For a small upgrade fee, we moved up the hill, and sat on the rocking swing on the porch and watched the world (and wildlife) go by. The cabins were roomy, clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely so, and we slept comfortably in our eyrie, in peace and quiet.

Our friends had advised us to forego breakfast there and eat at The Keystone Inn in the town, which we did - much cheaper and excellent food. It's a good base for Mt Rushmore, and we also took the steam train to Hills City, which was good fun on a sunny day. On our rainy day, we also visited the Mammoth sinkhole museum and the Wind Cave in Custer State Park. Beautiful part of the world, and much to see. Powder House Lodge was a good place to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We came upon Powder House Lodge on our recent vacation through South Dakota and Wyoming. We were wanting to stay close to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Crazy Horse to do sight seeing during the day. Powder House Lodge was the perfect location to see all these wonderful places and come back to a beautiful , kinda rustic and homey, clean room for the night. Upon arrival we got the pleasure of seeing 3 deer right outside our door! We would definitely stay there again if we get back to the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We booked the honeymoon suite for 3 nights and overall we had a very pleasant stay. The room had a kitchenette and was the highest of our hill with a small terrace with hot tub and hanging rocking chair. Nothing more relaxing than spending half an hour in the hot tub before going to sleep. There is a modern tv in the room (king bed) and WIFI is available and free of charge!
Breakfast is not included but available in their resto down the hill (where you can have dinner as well) ... Mt Rushmore is only a couple of miles away.
We paid a 182$ a night which isn't exactly cheap.
Staff was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patmanzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is a great place to stay! Very clean, very affordable, very convenient!! The restaraunt has great food and a nice deck area if you want to sit outside. Our cabin was fabulous for the two of us, but could easily sleep 8! It's only a few miles from Mt. Rushmore. And it's perfect for the motorcycle enthusiast!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.5 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.6 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.8 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
2.0 km away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Property: Powder House Lodge
Address: 24125 Highway 16a, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing