We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powder House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
K Bar S Lodge(Keystone)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$203
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Keystone)
US$129
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$217
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosevelt Inn(Keystone)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Keystone)
US$107
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
167
97
21
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
97
21
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribhoneymoon cabinnice cabinblack hillsstuffed quailfront porchbreakfast and dinnermt rushmorewooded settingoff the highwayking bedhot tubmini fridgeparking areacoffee makerlog cabinwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 300 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Rustic cabins very clean, quiet and comfortable. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Comfy bed, great location, good restaurant food and very reasonably priced for where we were. Keystone rolls up its' sidewalks at 9pm, so don't expect a cup of coffee or desert after dinner hours. It was close to Rushmore and Crazy Horse and the staff was helpful with all our questions and made sure we made it back for the evening show at Mt. Rushmore, which was fabulous! Very touching and informative. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillyinsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were recommended here by others (including fellow Tripadvisors - thanks!) and were not disappointed. Reception staff were very helpful, and enabled us (with the help of his iphone Weather app!) to ensure that we got to the evening presentation at Mt Rushmore that day, rather than the next .... when it poured with rain.

We didn't like our allocated cabin, as it was too near the main road for our liking. For a small upgrade fee, we moved up the hill, and sat on the rocking swing on the porch and watched the world (and wildlife) go by. The cabins were roomy, clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely so, and we slept comfortably in our eyrie, in peace and quiet.

Our friends had advised us to forego breakfast there and eat at The Keystone Inn in the town, which we did - much cheaper and excellent food. It's a good base for Mt Rushmore, and we also took the steam train to Hills City, which was good fun on a sunny day. On our rainy day, we also visited the Mammoth sinkhole museum and the Wind Cave in Custer State Park. Beautiful part of the world, and much to see. Powder House Lodge was a good place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We came upon Powder House Lodge on our recent vacation through South Dakota and Wyoming. We were wanting to stay close to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Crazy Horse to do sight seeing during the day. Powder House Lodge was the perfect location to see all these wonderful places and come back to a beautiful , kinda rustic and homey, clean room for the night. Upon arrival we got the pleasure of seeing 3 deer right outside our door! We would definitely stay there again if we get back to the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We booked the honeymoon suite for 3 nights and overall we had a very pleasant stay. The room had a kitchenette and was the highest of our hill with a small terrace with hot tub and hanging rocking chair. Nothing more relaxing than spending half an hour in the hot tub before going to sleep. There is a modern tv in the room (king bed) and WIFI is available and free of charge!
Breakfast is not included but available in their resto down the hill (where you can have dinner as well) ... Mt Rushmore is only a couple of miles away.
We paid a 182$ a night which isn't exactly cheap.
Staff was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patmanzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews