We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little cottage worth roaring about”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Idris Bach

Take a seat on the upper terrace of the garden, gaze out and enjoy the wonderful view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat on the upper terrace of the garden, gaze out and enjoy the wonderful view.
The Lounge. Roomy with plenty of entertainment facilities. KItchen / Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Take a seat on the upper terrace of the garden, gaze out and enjoy the wonderful view.
The Lounge. Roomy with plenty of entertainment facilities.
KItchen / Diner
Incredible comfortable kingsize bed with Egyptian cotton sheet and goose down duvet.
Snuggle up with your partner on the cuddle chair in the lounge or keep it for yourself.
Idris Bach and The View.
Lounge
Garden and summerhouse.
Stable door to access garden from dining area.
Estuary beach - approximately 10-15mins walk from Idris Bach.
Bedroom
Lower terrace of the garden.
View from the Kitchen / Diner.
Front of cottage and view.
View
Railway station a few minutes walk up the road.
Bathroom with walk-in shower.
Close-up view from garden.
Estuary
Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penrhyndeudraeth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsFrogTr...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little cottage worth roaring about”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were in dire need of a holiday. Idris Bach ticked all the right boxes - comfortable, quiet, friendly, beautiful surroundings, plenty of day trips nearby but also perfect for relaxing 'at home'.

Throw in the Ivor the engine links (The episode with Idris the Dragon is a childhood fav. of mine!) and I was hooked.

Alex provided outstanding directions to the cottage, and when we arrived we found a pint of milk in the fridge, mugs, tea bags, welshcakes, wine and wine glasses set out for us on the dining table. What a perfect start.

The cottage is very comfortable, and we soon felt settled. It is situated on three levels, you come in off the street into the lounge, upstairs and you have the bedroom & Bathroom, downstairs takes you to the kitchen & utility room, and then out in to the garden/patio terraces.

The village itself is very small and quiet - the local pubs weren't our cup of tea - but a quick drive to Porthmadog and there is an excellent brewery with brewery shop which kept us happy. The local butcher is fantastic - seriously some of the best lamb chops we've had - worth noting though that it isn't open on a Monday and closes very early. The local spar stocks all the essentials though and is open late. The Y Ring pub is a lovely walk (2 miles?)and the food is lovely.

Idris Bach is the perfect base from which to explore the locality - plenty of walks from your doorstep, and plenty more a short drive away. Very close by is the station for the steam train to Blenau Ffestiniog -absolutely stunning and great fun. (yes I did do Ivor the Engine impressions "pusssshhhhht-akum pussshhhhhhhht-akum"). There is a little chest / footstool in the lounge which is full of all the tourist informationb/ guides / maps / walking books you could possibly need.

we could very happily have stayed longer than the 6 nights we were there, and will be making a return visit at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelliejea...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most relaxing holiday ever!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We booked a holiday at Idris Bach because we needed a relaxing break from a few stressful things at home, and we weren't disappointed. The cottage was lovely - wonderful views, comfy sofas, a cosy bed and a toasty-hot shower. And the bottle of wine when we arrived was just what we needed after a 12-hour train journey from Scotland! We'd a fair few rainy days while we were there, but we didn't mind staying in and reading because we felt more at home than we do in our own house!

There's a great butcher's in the village, and although the Spar shop is a bit on the pricey side, it's only a few minutes on the bus to the supermarkets in Porthmadog. My husband enjoyed trying the local Purple Moose beer from the brewery shop, but he didn't get through them all so we need to go back ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling at home as soon as we got there.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKSpeller
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional holiday cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Beautifully appointed cottage, all mod cons, incredibly comfortable and cosy. It was genuinely like home from home, with lots of attention to the little domestic details that take the stress out of a self-catering holiday.

There was a pint of milk, two mugs, tea bags and some welsh cakes waiting for us on the kitchen counter when we arrived, so we could have a hot drink straight away. A bunch of flowers and a bottle of wine completed the welcome.

We appreciated having a dishwasher and a washing machine available and the pans and utensils provided were more than sufficient for 'proper' cooking (though Penrhyn also has an excellent chippie, Chinese takeaway and Indian restaurant; we also enjoyed the Brondanw Arms/Y Ring at Garreg, a mile or so up the road).

Fantastically comfortable bed, lovely bathroom. This is a cottage that takes creature comforts very seriously but in a pleasingly understated way. We also liked being able to sit on the terrace in the sun and enjoy the exceptional views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to say. Everything was splendid.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningAJ
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Relaxing. Romantic. Comfortable. Gorgeous view.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

You don't NEED to take day trips out from Idris Bach cottage if you don't want to. Although it is beautifully placed to explore North Wales. Everything is MUCH closer than you think it is from looking at a map. You could drive or catch a cute narrow-gauge steam train. The Ffestiniog railway passes just above the cottage. (Almost literally!) If you're a Prisoner fan there's Portmeirion only two miles away and there are castles and beaches and pubs and ice cream shops to spare within less than a 10 mile radius.
But if all that is too hectic for you why not settle in with a takeaway or cook yourself something with local fare (both easily obtained a short walk away in the village) and sit back and stare at the view from the comfort of the lounge or in the summer house at the bottom of the garden?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the light change on the hills.
Liked least: Parking could be 'creative' depending on time of day.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, roomy, tastefully furnished cottage in interesting and picturesque part of Wales”
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best holiday let we have experienced. It's a roomy cottage in immaculate condition, tastefully furnished and very well equipped. Nothing was missing. Being 'rained in' wouldn't have been a hardship. There were a lot of small touches which made a huge difference - for example, when we arrived there was milk in the fridge, tea and coffee in the kitchen and a bottle of wine on the table.

This part of Wales has lots to offer. Mountains, beaches, wildlife, history, steam railways. In a week's stay we hardly scratched the surface.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$106
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing