We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm Welcome & Idyllic Setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cdja2015
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome & Idyllic Setting”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very warm welcome and a beautiful setting make this property a perfect "retreat". Marian and Brian are very hospitable and incredibly helpful. The property is well equipped and coped well with a family of 4. Close to the spectacular Llanrhaeadr Waterfall, Lake Vrynwy, Bala, Chester and more, there's also plenty to do. Many Thanks.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for letting us and very importantly others know how much you enjoyed and got the most from your stay at Riverside Retreat. Our plans to improve the accommodation are constant so as to enhance the experience of staying at Riverside Retreat. We hope we see you again one day. Thank you for your custom and review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome retreat in a delightful area with very welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here Aug 8th to 14th with our 13 year old son. We loved it from the word go.
Marian and Brian, our hosts were warm and welcoming and always available if we needed any advice on the very beautiful area. We were blessed with fantastic weather and really enjoyed ourselves. We found the retreat to be well kitted out and very well presented.
We made full use of the outdoor area, fire pit, barbeque and the table tennis and pool table in the polly tunnel.
We were told there was an Ethernet cable but we did not use it. We could give our family Marian and Brian's telephone number if they needed to contact us.
A wonderful retreat in every sense of the word.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility of the setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
We thank you for troubling to write a review for Riverside Retreat and thank you for highlighting some of the additional extras which you enjoyed so much. We are setting plans in motion to enhance holidays at our retreat in the form of a larger covered area to sit and relax under and beat the occasional showers we have in Wales but not to reduce the patio area's ability to be a sun trap.Our aim is for our guests not to feel let down by the temperamental weather here in the UK.We enjoyed meeting you all and hope one day to see you again.Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The welcome from the owners was warm & friendly & the property is certainly ,as described, a "retreat " However I had not realised quite how small it is & that there is no T V or mobile 'phone signal there.In reality , it is ideal for a couple but any further guests have to sleep on a bed-settee which takes up all the sitting area space.However ,if this is no problem then the property is clean ,very well equipped, & with many extras which perhaps one wouldn't expect to find.
The situation is idyllic & you are lulled to sleep by the sound of the river flowing by & birdsong .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The situation of the cottage
Liked least: no television & no radio reception & no mobile 'phone signal
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
We thank you for taking the time to write a review for Riverside Retreat and your positive comments which highlight the type of holiday we offer.However we are surprised at your responses to most categories as we have no recollection of difficulties regarding booking, when you booked a year ago.We were here to hand over the key upon your arrival. Special attention is always paid to cleaning the whole cabin especially the bathroom so we are sorry it did not meet with your approval We are sorry you found the directions to the property tricky as they are exact and no difficulties were mentioned upon your arrival.No TV, Wifi or phone signal at the property are clearly stated in the description but we do provide a cable for lap tops and TV for DVDS. We also encourage use of our land line phone to make contact with relatives and take messages.We are sorry you were disappointed regarding the lack of these facilities which emphasises the importance of reading the details before booking.Yes it is a retreat in every sense and we hope future guests will benefit from your review and our response.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozsarahc
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Everything you'd want for a relaxing holiday away from busy urban life”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved staying at this well-equipped chalet on Brian and Marian's beautiful property in the idyllic Welsh countryside. After a really special welcome, they gave us all the space we needed but were always on hand while working away at their spectacular garden.
Our days were spent visiting the nearby waterfall, walking down into the pretty village, driving out to the stunning Lake Vyrnwy and playing Scrabble on the decking by the stream or table tennis in the games room before watching DVDs at night. We found our holiday truly enriched by the absence of wi-fi!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
We thank you for the trouble you have taken to write this review as it will help future guests to decide if what we offer is right for them. You arrived exhausted and left recharged ready to face your busy lives. It was a pleasure having you to stay and enjoying the tranquility Riverside Retreat offers. We hope you can return one day and visit the many places this part of Wales has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThusharCh...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The place is more enchanting then the pictures lead you to believe.
My husband and I escaped to Wales with our 18 month daughter and we had a wonderful time. It is was safe for her to run around in and Marian provided her with lots of toys and books to keep her entertained.
Brian and Marian really know the area and advised to visit some amazing places which we wouldn't have found on our own.
The place is filled with a very loving energy and I think it comes from the love Brian and Marian put in to the place.
We will definitely go back when my daughter so that she can hold onto to the memories.
Thank you for an amazing time and opening your home to us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Thank you for reviewing Riverside Retreat so warmly and positively. We get so much pleasure when our guests respond the way you have. It was important to us to observe your little one and make some hasty improvements, although very minor, to the fencing at the river edge to give maximum security.We are also so pleased you visited so many different places whilst having Riverside Retreat as your base. You rightly told us the area is truly amazingly beautiful. Thank you both for taking the time to reflect on Trip Advisor and help future guests decide if the cabin is right for them.
We look forward to meeting you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
an0nss
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful cabin in amazing location”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I've not written reviews before but the Riverside Retreat has made me do it - Marian and Brian have created such a wonderful place to stay with the warmest of welcomes and everything considered. The cabin has its own private space with a jetty overlooking the river - a wonderful spot for breakfast - as well as a large patio area on which to relax (gas bbq is a great bonus!). The cabin is in Marion and Brian's most beautiful gardens, which are clearly a labour of love and which we felt very welcome to enjoy. The cabin itself is very well planned out, with everything we could need and all spotlessly clean. There are plenty of lovely walks all around and the setting really couldn't be better if you are wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of life - perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to reiterate what you had told us during your stay and when you were leaving. To get such a review makes us feel we must be doing things right for the type of guests we attract. This makes us happy but not complacent as we continue to strive to improve facilities and make our guests stay memorable, hoping they may return one day.Certainly your review will help further guests determine wether Riverside Retreat is the right holiday for them. The jetty seems to be a great hit and with a retractable awning , sitting out viewing the wildlife and listening / watching the river is a priceless addition.The fire pit and outdoor blankets are also proving invaluable We hope you make a return visit now you know how much we have to offer.
Thank you again, we appreciate your efforts, flattering comments and feel honoured to be the first holiday you have reviewed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazza1306...
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing and warm welcome”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most fabulous break here. Lovely welcome from Brian and Marian especially loved the berry pavlova and bottle of wine on arrival.
The accommodation was exceptionally clean and had everything you could wish for including a washing machine. The children were encouraged to make full use of surroundings and were invited to use the dinghy in the river as well as table tennis, swing ball, billiards and table top football. The children were never bored.
We made full use of BBQ and both hosts gave advice where to visit and where to shop for groceries. We felt like we've know Brian and Marian for years. We will definitely recommend to stay here as you will not be disappointed. We hope to come back again in summer time to see the change in scenery when trees have blossomed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and so glowing. We do appreciate the importance of a successful holiday and we like to do all we can to ensure our guests get the most from their stay at Riverside Retreat and you all certainly did that. It was wonderful for us to see how chilled out you all were. Our memories of you all are the amount of time spent in the river from the moment you arrived and all the towels draped everywhere to dry. Your very successful trip to our local butcher to initiate the new lava rock gas BBQ, but your hike to the top of Snowdon was the most impressive. We look forward to your return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing