We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca M
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A perfect tranquil weekend away! A very warm welcome and the most beautiful chalet. We had everything we needed and the view was incredible. A truly unforgettable weekend that was loved so much we have booked our return already. We were welcomed with a delicious homemade cake and had he pleasure of meeting the wonderful owners who helped us with tips and guidance when venturing out. Would highly recommend to anyone.
The picture doesn’t do the view from the front room window justice at all!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Thank you for your glowing review Rebecca. Even in the depths of winter the cabin and location/ river seems to work it's magic. We are so pleased you made the most of your stay and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilo352
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Retreat😀”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A very warm welcome from Marian & Brian, lovely location right on the river!! the accommodation has everything, clean, cozy and comfortable. A welcome bottle of wine and delicious homemade apple pie!! Lovely part of Wales for the family to spend quality time together. Grab yourself some great food from the village butchers, light the BBQ and sit and relax around the firepit on the jetty, roasting marshmallows and enjoying a large glass of your favourite!! The kids loved exploring the river, dinghy, pool table and table tennis. Pack your walking boots and have a ramble up to the amazing Pistyll Waterfall (biggest in Wales) We will be back. Thanks again Marian & Brian, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend lovely to meet you both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of your stay at Riverside Retreat. Incredibly helpful for future guests to understand what we offer. We hope you do return one day for more fun and relaxation in beautiful surroundings. David Beckham was at the Waterfall on Friday 16 th September filming and has commented , " ridiculously beautiful, in the press. But you discovered it first!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for highlighting so many positive points of your stay.We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities we offer and found your stay restful.We hope you may visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HollyRon2...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW! Fantastic, "Fairy Glen" away from it all, in a great area of Wales”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you need to get away from it all, this is perfect. The chalet is lovely, with decking right by the river, so you can sit there at night listening to the river. There are woods on the other side and two small bridges to get over there. The owners garden is beautiful and you can use the outdoor seating and gazebo. There is a polytunnel building with table tennis, bar football, snooker, bikes for kids, wet suits and a dingy to go into the river (tethered). So this is a great place for walkers, families, couples, anyone!

We did a great local walk, Cadair Berwyn, 6 miles, absolutely amazing views and worth doing. Also Pistyll Waterfall (fantastic) is just a mile or so down the road, by Cadair Berwyn walk. The waterfall is amazing.

The Plough pub and the chip shop in Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant do very nice food, so all in all a great place.

The owners are so nice and accommodating, lending us hats, wet suits, and we were welcomed by homemade scones and a bottle of wine - Perfect ~ you have to stay here!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble to let future guests know of your experiences whilst staying at Riverside Retreat. It is good for them to know of some of the walks from the cabin and the beautiful scenery you experienced. We took on board your suggestion of picking you up from a linear walk and will be happy to do just that within a10 mile radius if you return. We would be happy to do this for future guests subject to availability. At the end of a long walk, make for the nearest pub then give us a ring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Three night stay in a cosy chalet with the river right in front of decking area which has lighting on the water and seating area. Fire pit for of an evening to keep warm. Chalet was equipped with all that we needed. Brian the owner couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful which made us feel relaxed from the moment we arrived. Watching the abundance of wildlife was excellent we seen spotted fly catchers, yellow and grey wagtails, a dipper, buzzards and a great spotted woodpecker. Walking around the owners garden was breath taking with its numerous seating areas in idyllic places. Enjoyed the games room, table tennis and pool plus a dingy which was so much fun. We had the opportunity to fish if we wanted too also. Outside the chalet was an array of garden furniture including a very comfortable rattan bed which was a great touch. Outstanding location, we will return soon,

James and Caroline

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you for your detailed review and we are so pleased you want to return one day. Thank you for highlighting some of the numerous bird life that enjoy our garden as this will encourage nature lovers to experience a beautiful tranquill location.We are still keeping watch for the return of the two otters which we saw 3 months ago, swimming up stream by the cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivnista
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Swallows, Amazon's and all things green”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is my 3rd visit here and I have to leave another sparkling review as this place is so idyllic. We stayed 4 nights this time and it felt like a week, so relaxed were we.
We go gadget free so had cards, dominoes, colouring and a guitar to keep us entertained. We ventured out once to the waterfall but we're reluctant to leave the bubbling lull of the river again.
Equipped with absolutely everything you could need, even outdoor blankets, torches, firewood, cushions, beach towels etc it makes packing much simpler
Marion and Brian feel like relatives now and our 8yr old follows them around the garden 'helping'
We are always sad to leave but then always fast to rebook as we don't ever want to miss out in our little haven.
Thank you both, we miss you already!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you feel what we feel everyday every time you come to stay. Thanks for letting us know about all the birds you observed as well. We'll keep in touch re their young hatchlings. The amount of wild life is becoming more diverse as the habitat extends to the woods beyond the cabin. Will keep an otter watch and will report when we see them again. Hopefully with their young next time. Look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaz H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Just got back from our weekend stay at the Riverside Retreat. This was our second visit. So relaxing, so close to nature and so much fun, Brian and Marian were once again wonderful hosts, passing on tips and stories of local interest. We did some amazing walks along Waterfall Road to Pistell Rhaedr ( the nearby waterfall) and made our way to the hidden lake. What a joy!

Back at the cabin we couldn't get enough of watching yellow breasted wagtails cavorting over the river , catching insects and just showing off! There were blue tits nesting in a box off the side of the cabin, swifts nesting in the garage, robins and
even a woodpecker and birds of prey soaring above us. Brian kindly lent us his binoculars and a bird book to help with identifications. It was also great keeping warm on the jetty with the woodburner to take the edge off the chillier evenings.
G and T's also help!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you both for sharing your review. We are always delighted when our guests appreciate the wildlife which lives in our valley. We now have to add a flycatcher to the list of birds and a night heron which is very unusual.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing