We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Roving748...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful retreat!”
Reviewed September 2, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had wonderful time at the Riverside Retreat - it was beautifully quiet and peaceful, and nice to get away from it all on the Bank Holiday weekend. Cabin is fully fitted with all you need - comfy bed, lovely shower, lots of crocs and glasses. Warm scones and wine waiting for us! Hosts were delightful and interesting to talk to, and even offered to pick up us from the pub! The Plough Inn (40 mins walk from the cabin - but a nice walk) served excellent food and wine, at very good prices - so good that we ate there three of the four nights that we stayed. Highly recommended if you really want to get away from it all. Nothing bad to stay about our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for your review. We hope you return to Riverside Retreat one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen c
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Riverside retreat”
Reviewed August 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

From the start Marian and Brian were very welcoming , wine and pavlova a lovely touch (and I make lovely meringues) so very jealous .They where both available for local advice and information everyday ,we were never disappointed in where they suggested,.A wonderful , tranquil place and a lifetime of memories made, ask about the original photos and family history, amazing and very interesting , Marian your dedication to your garden is outstanding and as they say you reap what you sow ....loved our time there and thank you love from Helen and Peter Coakley xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the trouble to respond Helen. You certainly toured around on a daily basis.We are pleased yo7 found the time spent here so enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fearless7...
2 reviews
“Oasis in Wales”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This retreat in Wales has it all, tranquility, beautiful surroundings and a credit to Brian and Marians hard work. This couple have lovingly built this oasis along the river bank and could not have been any more welcoming to us on our first trip here including Marions home made Pavlova on arrival which didnt last very long!!!
The only negative I can say is we never stayed longer.
Thankyou both

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful but perfect description of the location for Riverside Retreat and our home ground.
We are so pleased we made you feel so welcome as we are aware of the stresses in our modern world and are delighted to offer our cabin as a holiday retreat. We hope you’ll be able to return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iulia C
1 review
“Wonderful place in the nature 😍”
Reviewed August 4, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

It was a wonderful mini holiday, Marian and Brian are very warm people who have welcomed us with their open arms and especially with a unique cake along with a bottle of wine !! The whole view around the location is incredibly quiet and full of flowers and butterflies what is impressive for lovers of nature !! The peace that you need after months of everyday running in the big cities, the place to refresh yourself and relax with the sound of the water !! Also incredible place for children are not bored having a special playground created for them !! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed what you discovered in this beautiful tranquil location and so important for future guests to get an idea of what we offer. We hope you can return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison J
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Simply the loveliest short break we've taken. Marion and Brian were the most charming and helpful hosts. I shall remember sitting out on the jetty watching the wildlife and listening to the river as one of the most relaxing evenings I've had. Will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
It will be lovely to see you again and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Riverside Retreat. Thank you for taking the time to let others know your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
octopws
1 review
“A great find!”
Reviewed May 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

It is incredible to see what marian and brian have done to transform this place to what it is today. The cabin was cosy and had everything we needed. So wish we had had a week there but the weekend taster leaves you wanting to go back for more for sure! Thank you both for the warm welcome and such a relaxing wknd. I’ve told so many friends and family to book now!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you Bethan for your glowing review. It was fun having you to stay and we are so pleased you made the most of what we offer and next time you will have the opportunity to explore the surrounding area( if you can bare to leave Riverside Retreat ) as there is so much to see.
We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A perfect tranquil weekend away! A very warm welcome and the most beautiful chalet. We had everything we needed and the view was incredible. A truly unforgettable weekend that was loved so much we have booked our return already. We were welcomed with a delicious homemade cake and had he pleasure of meeting the wonderful owners who helped us with tips and guidance when venturing out. Would highly recommend to anyone.
The picture doesn’t do the view from the front room window justice at all!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Thank you for your glowing review Rebecca. Even in the depths of winter the cabin and location/ river seems to work it's magic. We are so pleased you made the most of your stay and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing