We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
101
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new orleans great conversationalist bluff overlooking host antiques ms
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2015

As everyone else says, Durrell is a friendly and informative host. He even knew opera singers when I told him I sang opera. Not many people are into the "opera world". He had interesting stories to tell. We would have loved coffee on the porch, but was not offered any beverage other than water. Early the next morning there was a problem with the water and it was cut off for a while when we were trying to dress. He called some people he knew and it was fixed in a timely manner. Maybe we have weird taste, but the breakfast was a huge disappointment. He had a HARD cheese omelet, mushy hot fruit dish, grits with cheese (okay) and a piece of ham that looked like from a canned ham. Two asparagus spears with cheese sauce was laying across the plate, but it looked unpalatable. We could not eat the breakfast as the other couple at our table could not either. Coffee had an instant taste. Maybe the water problem threw him off. I don't know, but was extremely disappointed as we were quoted $130 for the two rooms downstairs and then he asked for $145 when we were leaving. It was okay, but probably would not go there again, but try a different B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccansler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

We spent a wonderful two days in Natchez. The town is full of charm and history, but the highlight was spending time with the owner, Durrell. What a wonderful man to visit with. Our only regret was that we had to leave and proceed on with our trip. It is highly recommended that you get a the chance to stay with him and enjoy what he has to offer.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Saftmattrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2015

Not long after my wife and I met we stayed here for a long weekend. Durrell met us and greeted us with a decanter of wine. Stated no one was staying next door so we had our choice of two of connected rooms. PLENTY of space. Beautiful place...impeccably decorated. I join the chorus on what others have said about his story telling, advice and generally being the perfect host. Not to mention his place is perfectly perched on top of the bluff. He has a huge wonderful courtyard over looking the gentle bend in the river from atop the bluff! Exit the courtyard to the left and your walking distance to the river front area of Natchez. Restaurants, lounges, the Casino. Wonderful location, wonderful home, wonderful host. You cant ask for more! We stayed there in Aug. of 2007 and have agreed when back in Natchez we wiil, if fortunate enough, stay with Durrell once again.

Room Tip: Only saw two rooms and they were both GORGEOUS!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ReneRichard494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

Just returned home from trip, including our fourth overnight stay at Durrell Epperson's Riverside Bed and Breakfast. All the great comments by reviewers are absolutely true. I would not even consider staying anywhere else when here. Wonderful place and gracious host/owner!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank BrendaC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2015

How can we ever thank Durrell enough for opening his lovely home to us? Although the weather was cool, we were toasty warm in our stunning two-room suite on the bottom floor. The canopy beds and lavish decor made us feel as though we were visiting an opulent relative. Durrell was a charming host with his stories from the deep south. He is a walking history book full of tantalizing tales about the famous and infamous people he met during his long career. If asked, Durrell will tell you where he purchased each piece of his massive collection of finery and the stories behind them.

Breakfast was a sumptuous feast with a large variety of items and beverages. Everything was served in a comfortable manner on a beautifully laid table.

When you sit on the front porch, you can enjoy the sounds of the fountain or enjoy the cool breeze and morning fog coming from the river below. The small flower garden is lovely and a perfect addition to the stately home.

The upstairs sitting room is a perfect place to relax or play the piano. You can step out onto the balcony for a stunning view!

Please do not miss the opportunity to meet Durrell and enjoy his hospitality. Since our visit, we have discussed several times about how soon we want to return to this "home away from home".

Thank you for such lovely memories, Durrell!
Jim, Michelle, and Madison

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and unique. It would be fun to rent out the entire house with your family and/or friends.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_boyBranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews