We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
101
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew orleansgreat conversationalistbluff overlookingdelicious breakfasthostantiqueshospitalitymsretreat
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 107 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Only a 3 room bed and breakfast but no room for complaining anywhere. Sits on bluff above the Mississippi river with a spectacular view. Furnishings are unbelievable and must be viewed in all rooms. Breakfast is delicious and morning coffee is even delivered outside your room before breakfast. Durrell, the host, is an amazing man, excellent cook, and full of stories, historical facts and suggestions for attractions and restaurants in Natchez.

Room Tip: Upstairs rroms have direct access to outdoor balcony for river viewing.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenntucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Two couples, one experienced with B&B and one having their first stay at a B&B while celebrating their 39th anniversary. All four of us immediately felt like we had arrived at a family member's home. We were greeted warmly and given the opportunity to freshen up and received a complete tour of the house. It sits on a hillside overlooking the Mississippi River, as you would guess by the name. After spending a couple of days touring the city of Natchez and viewing the river from many angles, we decided we had the best view around from our second floor balcony. We spent a couple of hours enjoying the view while waiting for a rain shower to depart. It was just cool enough to sit outside and we enjoyed the conversation, beautiful scenic view and wine provided by our host. He made recommendations for dinner, which we accepted and then he made reservations for us. We dined at Cotton Alley one night and Roux 61 the other. Food was very good at both locations. The biggest problem we had was the breakfast each morning. It was simply delicious and we all ate too much to be hungry at lunch time. We were treated each morning with coffee at our door and then around 8 AM went downstairs for the wonderful breakfast that awaited us. Omelet, bacon, biscuits, asparagus with Hollandaise sauce, fresh fruit, grits and beautiful music in the background all the while our host shared wonderful stories of Natchez and the South. One could have just spent the morning with him if sight seeing were not on your mind. Strongly recommend staying here and we know we all plan to do so again.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

This is the most fantastic B&B I've stayed in. Durrell, the owner, has a terrific personality. You won't beat the furnishings anywhere. The view of the Mississippi River can't be beat especially when sitting on the porch with a glass or two of wine, provided by Durrell, watching the sun go down and the lights on the bridge come on. Durrell makes the best breakfast I've ever eaten. His grits and biscuits are to die for. This B&B is the best value out there. Staying here is a real treat and Southern hospitality at its best.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank JacquelineMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Odds are if you are a tourist, you come to Natchez, Mississippi, in search of history. Natchez is not the easiest place to get to in Mississippi, stuck away in a somewhat remote corner of the state along the mighty Mississippi River, just north of New Orleans where the River exits to the Gulf. History seeps from the sidewalks in this beautiful town. Natchez has many historic claims including being originally Natchez Indian territory, then part of France, then Spain, before becoming part of the United States and then Mississippi. You'll find structures here relating to each of these eras due to the strong historic preservation ethic alive in this town. Every historic preservation effort in the state of Mississippi traces its roots back to Natchez. My late wife was inspired by the beauty of Natchez and the history here to work a lifetime in Corinth to preserve it's historic past.

Recently, I was privileged to spend a night in this lovely bed and breakfast. This Edwardian era home built around 1910 has been lovingly restored and furnished immaculately with antiques and period furnishings. If you are looking for accommodations that are shiny and new, this is not the place for you. Expect some squeaks in the floor and offsets in the floor in some places where modern additions have been made to accommodate things like indoor plumbing. Stairs to the upstairs bedrooms are somewhat narrow and steep. The magnificent view upstairs is the only compensation if you are fit enough for climbing stairs.

What you can expect here is a gracious host, an absolutely breathtaking view from the front and upstairs porches, a sumptuous truly Southern style breakfast, fine china and silverware, and an ambiance that will give you a sense of a bygone era. You will, in short, be transported back in time which for some of us is a good thing.

If you are lucky enough to enjoy a visit here, I think you will eagerly look forward to returning.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Milton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights at Riverside with my wife at this lovely home on the bluff. I wish we could have stayed longer. The accommodations were excellent the host, Durrell was attentive and paid the utmost attention to every detail to ensure that our stay was better-than-expected. I would recommend this property to anyone who is going to stay in the city of Natchez. Breakfast foods were the best I've ever had at any bed and breakfast too.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tim-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews