We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to downtown; great river view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 42 Natchez B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The inn is an authentically restored Victorian cottage in a lovely garden setting on a bluff high above the Mississippi River. Most of the rooms in the house have a view of the river and its constant parade of barge traffic. Good linens. Small, quiet and convenient to places of interest. Neil Varnell, the innkeeper, is a genial, knowledgeable, slightly quirky but delightful host. Be prepared - the player piano awakens you at 8:30 am with its lively tunes. The breakfast was excellent and was served on fine Victorian china. There are chairs for reading - a must for many B&B aficionados.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have private bathrooms but not ensuite. The Master Bedroom downstairs has an ensu...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

Outstanding service, very interested owner, and beautifully decorated.
Breakfast on the front porch on the bluffs overlooking the Mississippi can't be matched.
And the player piano is great to wake up to.

Room Tip: Three rooms, all great. The two upstairs give great views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiriqui_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We came to Natchez to experience the river and the history. A very kind lady at the Visitor's Center recommended Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast for a B & B with a view. It is absolutely fantastic. You can sit on the porch (upstairs or downstairs) and enjoy. The property is beautiful and Neil is a wonderful host. It is in a quiet neighborhood and with only 3 guest rooms, there won't be any crowds. The rooms are charming and have all the amenities you would need. Breakfast is on the front porch with the beautiful view. We want to go back to Natchez and this is the place I want to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoosier16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We spent two nights at the Bluff Top, enjoyably. The proprietor is an interesting guy, and the house is very comfortable for guests. Upstairs, two spacious bedrooms open from a central space with rattan furniture (from his grandmother's porch) and a balcony that overlooks the Mississippi. In back there is a pretty flower garden. Ask about the player piano - good story there - and about Natchez in recent decades. We had renovated an old house too, so we appreciated the work that had been done. The Blufftop is a pleasant walk from downtown, even with temperatures close to 100. We'll be back if we ever return to Natchez, not so likely for Coloradans. Furnishings are period but not frilly or delicate seeming, which is a reason we picked this place. Just enough, not too much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We just returned from a long Memorial Day Weekend in Natchez and had the pleasure of staying with Neil at the Bluff Top B and B. What an enjoyable several days in a very relaxing place, with a beautiful setting overlooking the Mighty Mississippi. Downtown is a short walk away and Neil is a wonderful host with such a love and knowledge of the area. His home has been lovingly restored and his breakfasts are fantastic. It truly was like staying with an old friend. After 25 years in the hotel business and numerous stays in bed and breakfasts I can honestly say Neil understands service and the Bluff Top B and B is one of the most enjoyable places we have ever stayed in.

For a dinner suggestion, we highly recommend the 1818 Restaurant at the Monmouth Plantation was an incredible dining event. We had the chef's tasting dinner with wine pairings and it was truly a meal to remember. Being a tasting it was very flavorable and did not leave you full. Interacting with the Chef was a special treat and being in the original plantation dining room for dinner is something we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedwardsfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My parents recommended the Bluff Top to me after they made a visit last spring. They said Neal's flowers were unbelievable, and they had really enjoyed their stay. My family had visited Natchez a few times in years past, so we were not unfamiliar with the B&B style, which is very popular in Natchez.

My husband and I visited for two nights in the days leading up to Christmas. We were looking to get in the Christmas spirit after a sad time of loss in our family. Neal (the owner) is really wonderful--he made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in the door. The house was decorated for Christmas, and we enjoyed cocoa while sitting on the balcony during both nights. We were greeted both mornings to a southern breakfast with festive Christmas music. On the second night we were the only visitors (it was December 23rd), and we persuaded Neal to join us in conversation at breakfast. He is an exceptionally nice man.

This bed and breakfast is wonderful for people who are looking for a small collection of visitors (three rooms total). It is a very peaceful spot, and none of the bedrooms share walls (so there is no neighbor noises keeping anyone up at night). There are plenty of fun shared spaces, and the second story balcony is fantastic. The house literally sits on the bluff with the Mississippi River in full, glorious view.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABDierks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The owner of this bed and breakfast could not have been nicer. However, the old, hard mattress and old hard pillows in our bedroom made a good night's sleep difficult.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.2 km away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
211 reviews
0.7 km away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
633 reviews
2.0 km away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 42 in Natchez
491 reviews
1.2 km away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 42 in Natchez
46 reviews
0.6 km away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 42 in Natchez
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast

Address: 205 Clifton Avenue, Natchez, MS 39120-2307
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $111 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bluff Top b&b
Bluff Top Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing