We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful coach house, will go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #1 of 42 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My sister and I stayed in the 2 bedroom 1 ba carriage house next to the main house. It was wonderfully comfortable and furnished with marvelous antiques. We had 2 porches overlooking the grounds and main house. I heard many birds singing I had not heard before. The proprietor is an excellent pianist and cook, and sitting in his house or looking around is fascinating; his great-grandfather built the home. Joe is a welcoming and fascinating person and knows the town well. The price was very reasonable and it and Natchez made a fantastic stop on our road trip north from New Orleans. The people and sights there are great. This coach house is a good way to introduce someone to the bed and breakfast experience. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: Staying in the main house looks marvelous too. My sister is shy so we stayed in the coach house. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

It was such a pleasure to be able to stay at Mr. Stone's beautifully curated family home. The evening music program was superb, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast served on authentic Limonges porcelain was delicious. Mr. Stone has an extensive collection of antique maps and lithographs, and the home has so many wonderful antiques. Best of all, Mr. Stone can tell you in depth about all of them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I was in Natchez for the very first time with my wife on our honeymoon. We took a last minute road-trip and did not have reservations, however that was no problem as we were able to not only get a room, but it was the best room in the home-the Master Suite! It was absolutely beautiful! The room was furnished with antiques, with a charming and tasteful period decor. The most impressive piece in the room was the Master Canopy Bed-goregous! The first night we enjoyed a private piano concert, given and performed by our host and owner, Joe Stone. He is a magnificent pianist! We felt like we were in a concert hall. The acoustics were fantastic in the main parlor. The entire home is just the most beautiful place to spend your stay in Natchez. Mr. Stone will also fix you the most delicious breakfast every morning of your stay. Everything is home-made and extremely appetizing! Not only is Mr. Stone a fantastic cook and musical talent, he is also a historian with a vast knowledge of local lore. His home has been passed down in his family for generations and he has many stories that will keep you entertained and historically educated. I truly cannot say enough great things about our experience at Stone House. I know that my wife and I will be back to stay with Mr. Stone again someday-hopefully, real soon so we can repeat what was a very enchanting stay while in Natchez!

Room Tip: Try to get the Master Bedroom if possible-absolutely beautiful and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We wanted to go to Natchez, Mississippi for the Spring Pilgrimage to see the lovely antebellum homes and experience the laid back pace of the sunny, south. Of course, we wanted to stay in a Bed and Breakfast in one of the homes to get a real feel for the way of life in the Civil War era. The Stone House was our selection and we were not disappointed. The place was immaculate with a veranda for sipping wine and cool drinks. From the small cottage behind the home with two bedrooms and a bath, to the huge master bedroom with a four poster bed and a bath, it was southern living at its best. A delicious breakfast is served at a table for 8 on Limoges china each morning. The innkeeper, Joe Stone is a direct descendent of the original Stones and the house is packed with history. Joe entertained us with story after story. Joe is not only a wonderful historian and host; he is a classically trained pianist who performed a wonderful classical music program for us in the Stone House parlor on the baby grand piano! Another perk was the AMAZING collection of maps and botanicals Joe has amassed. From his collection, (of which most were for sale) he pulled out maps from the 1500s, Civil War maps, botanicals from the 1800s and the list goes on. We spent one afternoon searching thorough these and many more. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayliewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Joe Stone is a gracious, informative host and a talented musician. His family home has been authentically restored with period antiques and family heirlooms. We stayed in the main house which was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The Stone House Musicale B and B provides historic charm, delicious breakfast and a gracious host. On top of that, we were treated to a private piano concert that was amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary1964364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Joseph Stone provides a wonderful mix of historic home, gracious hosting, delicious breakfast and amazing piano concert. Our stay on April 3 and 4 was very enjoyable. Our visit luckily coincided with the Spring Pilgrimage and open house tour of antebellum houses in Natchez. Being a native, Joseph was able to provide valuable insight into the background of many of the homes. He also had a fascinating background for his family and his home which he has meticuously restored. His piano concert, provided the first evening, was fantastic. He provides a program with background of all the music he is playing and provides a good bottle of wine for his guests' enjoyment. A home cooked breakfast of excellent quiche and baked goods is served for guests providing a chance to exchange information about daily adventures. We would definitely recommend the J. N. Stone House Musicale B&B for any stay on a trip through Natchez. BIlly and Terry, Washington, DC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the cottage to the rear of the house, which was lovely and gave you a little more privacy. The cottage but in particular the main house is beautiful and Joe has done a fantastic job of restoring his family home. He is a great host, a fantastic cook and of course an amazing musician.
We stayed with children and it probably wasn't the best choice of accommodation but they youngest managed not to break anything.
Well worth a visit and make sure you listen to the recital in the evening. Beautiful experience and Joe informs you about each piece before he plays it.
Only ever so slight downside was another couple was staying there at the same time and they needed to be up early for trips, so wanted breakfast early. Therefore we had to fit in with them, which you can understand Joe doesn't want to be cooking twice but on holiday you sometimes want to take it easy.
Natchez was lovely but not much to do apart from the houses, which unfortunately the children were not too interested in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTorrington5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.4 km away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#3 of 17 in Natchez
214 reviews
0.9 km away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
646 reviews
1.4 km away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 42 in Natchez
357 reviews
0.2 km away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 42 in Natchez
49 reviews
0.8 km away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 42 in Natchez
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $184 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing